We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #88 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We came to SA just for the hotel experience and it did not disappoint. Similar to Liz Lambert's other properties, HH is fun, hip and funky. From some of the other reviews, it seems some rooms are better than others. We had room 37 and had windows on three walls. The bar and restaurant were both fabulous. Will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeMarie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    95
    27
    21
    7
See reviews for
27
197
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you love the funky creativity, old-world ambiance of a fun boutique hotel with excellent and discreet service, check out Hotel Havana. It is located on the northern section of the San Antonio Riverwalk--near the busy restaurants, bars and shops but just far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The lobby is classic, dark-stained wood with high ceilings. The atmosphere is Cuba-retro-elegance, and we were told many of the antiques are from Cuba. Rooms contain stocked retro-refrigerators with curved edges in 50s colors. The staff and service are wonderful, and you get the feel off being in a private hotel off the beaten path. The restaurant Ocho has a smaller menu, but the food is all excellent; the décor is retro-hip; and when they open one wall of windows, you can eat overlooking the San Antonio River. The bar downstairs is candlelit; the drinks are excellent and the bartender is super friendly. My husband and I went here for an anniversary even though we live in San Antonio, and I go to Ocho to eat whenever I can. Try the Cuban Sandwich with a mojito, and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a smaller room and it didn't have much of a window. You might want to ask about views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraSA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley C, Director Of Operations at Hotel Havana, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad that you spent your anniversary with us and took the time to write this great review regarding your experience. I have passed your comments to the staff throughout the hotel and restaurant. We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel Havana on the River Walk was the perfect place for a romantic weekend trip. Cool, comfortable, charming. The restaurant "Ocho" was amazing. Breakfast was out of this world! It was also great for drinks and dessert. Get a table overlooking the River Walk. This place is on the quieter part of the River Walk, but still a convenient location. I will recommend Hotel Havana to anyone and I will absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I went to Hotel Havana for our 1 year anniversary and we couldn't have been more pleased. I am a clean freak and normally don't like the look or feel of hotels, but this was clean, had loads of charm, and the staff was incredibly helpful. From the tall ceilings, to the hard wood floors, to the historic building, Hotel Havana was a charming retreat. Ocho had amazing food and the location was right on a quiet, beautiful part of the river walk. It was about a 10 min. walk from all of the restaurants on the river walk. I couldn't recommend this place more and I look forward to coming back for a visit!

Room Tip: We had room facing the east, which allowed a lot of light during the day. If you want a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We made our trip to visit family and see the sites of San Antonio. After checking rates we decided to try the Hotel Havana again. We had stayed there when it was first open about 3 years ago. We knew some things had changed, like the addition of an eating place in the atrium.
Our rates were really low, we knew it was a bit of a walk to the actual hubub of the river. Funny thing is we got the same exact room that we got 3 years ago. We had hoped to see another side of this quaint place. We parked our car and carried our own bags up to the room. Got settled in. We were not surprised to find no closets, as we remembered this from our last stay. The room is decorated in Cuban style, down to the dark plantation shutters on the windows.
These shutters caused a problem that we did not encounter on our last stay. We had stayed there in the spring. A much cooler time of year. This time, after 2 evenings of a very hot room, we discovered the dark shutters attract the very hot Texas sun at sun down and heated up the room. So much so we thought the A/C was broken. We did tell the front desk and they did get someone there to look at it even though it was about 8:30 at night. We stayed in the bar until about 10:30 waiting for our room to cool.(Story on that latter) The second night the room started to heat up around 5:30, we were getting ready to go for dinner so we gave the front desk a heads up. They sent someone again to check it out. This time they offered us a drink voucher, which we took, but never used. By the 3rd night we discovered that if we opened the shutters a bit they would not heat up and the room would stay cooler thus the A/C worked fine. I told the front desk about this at check out, they looked at me like I was crazy.
There was also one day we had to wait an hour before we got hot water??
We had breakfast at Ocho one morning. It was great. Not really overpriced for being in a hotel. The night we spent in the bar we never got any service from the bartender until we asked for it. He was busy talking to a very loud group of men.
And the pump on one of the shower products never worked, Even when I took the pump out hoping they would replace it with a new one they did not.
So what did I really think of this 2nd stay. I believe I would rather pay the extra and stay in a full service hotel closer to the action on the river. I would rather have some one offering to open the door, carry my luggage, and pay attention to my requests or complaints. This place is good for a girls weekend, maybe a 2 night stay. But other than that.....
I would have thought maybe they might give us another room when the thermostat registered over 80 degrees two nights in a row. But we got 2 drinks.

Room Tip: If going in the summer don't get a room with windows on the west. Also know that the beds are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeytrashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

First impressions can be lasting impressions, and my first impressions weren't great. Fortunately, other things improved our opinion of our stay at Hotel Havana.

I found no information about parking on the website, so I sent an email asking about nearby parking options. Didn't receive a reply 24 hours later, so I called. No answer. Let the phone ring a VERY long time. Called back later and reached someone who was apparently distracted but did answer my question, "Parking is available in a lot next to the hotel for $17 a day." Conversation over. I'm sure there are other options, but they weren't offered, so we used the lot next door and it was very convenient.

All 27 rooms are uniquely decorated we are told, so I expected that our studio would not be exactly like the photos, layout, and descriptions on the web; however, #34 was disappointing and frustrating.

The photos and layout of the studio rooms on the website show a chair and a small refrigerator, and our room had neither. It also shows a tub, though ours had a shower only. Written descriptions on the web and our booking receipt stated there is an iPod docking station (no) and a desk (no). Oddest of all was that the photo shows a dresser, but we had no dresser or, in fact, ANYWHERE to put clothes or damp towels other than a single wall-hung swivel coat rack that already held the two robes they provide with the rooms. Seriously.

There were two tiny bedside tables that had only a few inches of free space to put ANY personal items (book? glasses?) as the rest was taken up by phone, lamps, clock, and ice bucket & tray with drinking glasses and corkscrew. That left the floor for our clothes and the bed frame to dry our towels. No place to sit except on the bed. A couple of showers in the open, curtainless shower left the bath mat soaking wet and, again, no place to hang it. Really, someone on the staff should try to spend a weekend in that room. They'll quickly discover how unworkable the situation is, especially for two people!

On the bright side, some reviewers complained about noise and poor sleeping conditions, yet we found our room—on the third floor in the back away from the street—to be nice and quiet and the bed very comfortable. The room had no windows, which probably contributed to the quietness, but the slanted ceiling above the bed had two skylights that provided some outside light along with privacy.

Another highlight of the room was that the AC was as cold as we wanted it on the recent hot humid weekend. The "Red Flower" toiletries were lovely, as were the robes. And per other descriptions on the website, our room had a large flat-screen TV, wireless internet, and hair dryer (hunt around if you don't see it; ours was tucked discretely in a muslim bag below the mini-bar snack bowl, of course). The room and bathroom were very clean except for the ice bucket lid, upon which I could've written my name in the dust.

Some reviews mention getting access to a nearby gym, but no one mentioned that to us during our stay. Maybe it's no longer an amenity. I also saw some people were offered free or discounted parking. Perhaps not with a studio rental. Ice must be obtained from the desk staff, so plan accordingly.

The hotel has three lovely terraces (one on the third floor overlooking the street with a glimpse of the Riverwalk) and two on the second floor (street side and back). The ground floor also had a porch with seating at the entrance. We saw only two other couples on the terraces during our stay—both enjoying lounging in the hotel robes. Great places for lingering over glasses of wine/beer (if you have a fridge!) or coffee and tea and the newspaper. Speaking of which, we appreciated the complementary coffee and local and NYTimes newspapers provided in the lobby. Would be very nice if they offered black tea, as well, so tea-drinking caffeine addicts don't have to roll out of bed and go straight to a restaurant.

There is a B-cycle rental station at the hotel, which would be really handy for those limiting their travel to around the Riverwalk and downtown. I highly recommend biking instead of dealing with a car and parking.

Other highlights include the staff, who except for the person who answered my pre-arrival phone call, were ALL helpful, enthusiastic, and professional. The OCHO restaurant was also wonderful. Great décor, food/drink, and staff.

We found the hotel's location to be perfect for us. The northern portion of the Riverwalk is peaceful and there are interesting dining (La Gloria) and entertainment options (museums) within a reasonable walk from the hotel along the new Museum Reach part of the Riverwalk, in addition to other dining choices even closer just downstream (Acenar).

Despite this uneven review, there's a lot of charm to the Hotel Havana and we will consider it the next time we stay in San Antonio. We hope the care and attention to detail evidenced by some aspects of this hotel will be applied to all of the rooms next time we visit. In the meantime, we caution you to chose one of the more expensive rooms unless you're a single person with no luggage and no need to shower/hang up towels.

Room Tip: 34 was quiet, but had other challenges. Perhaps other rooms at the back of the hotel and on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, passing through town. Our room was simple, but tastefully decorated. I liked the wood floors and the bed that was super high off the ground. Bathroom was clean.

What knocks this rating down to a three is that this hotel just doesn't offer some pretty obvious amenities without having to ask. The front desk attendant has to fetch ice for you, for example, and there was no mini fridge in the room. Most hotels have a little booklet with information about services, check out times, etc. Our room just had no info whatsoever and we had to keep calling down to the front desk to ask basic questions. It seemed more like an inn than a real hotel in some ways.

Three good things: nice sitting areas on the balconies outside and the guy at the front desk at checkout was very friendly. The location is convenient to the riverwalk and most of the typical touristy stuff.

That said, I'm not sure I could justify the price we paid versus a chain hotel. Generally, we prefer to stay in unique places, but since we were traveling through and not spending a ton of time in the hotel itself, the charm wasn't really worth 50+ extra bucks to me.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pourtant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
1,695 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#28 of 357 in San Antonio
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Property: Hotel Havana
Address: 1015 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing