We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #82 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed overnight at this wonderful boutique hotel. It was so well located that we were able to walk down the River Walk to the King William District, La Villita and all points in between. This made the walk cool and inviting.
The room (King Suite) was large, yet cozy.The bathroom was well stocked with amenities.
Each floor had a wonderful balcony that looked out over the city. The main bar had a lovely patio with the most comfortable outdoor chairs I have ever used. The drinks were excellent.
The underground bar was cozy and private, perfect for a night cap.
The wait staff was friendly and informative.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: The only room I was able to see was the King Suite. It was quiet and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    89
    24
    21
    6
See reviews for
25
187
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a last minute booking we made for our 3 night stay in San Antonio and what a great place we found.

We had a great room at the front of the hotel with lots of windows that opened on to a balcony type area with seating, where we enjoyed our breakfast (from Starbucks). The room was a great size with a great comfy bed, the only let down was the A/C in the room it never got that cold, however we didn't complain about it. The staff were so helpful and friendly, we had a fair few questions about the local area and they were straight on the computer printing maps etc.. off.

This is a great little hotel with a really different feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at Hotel Havana. Great service, very cool decor, comfortable/clean beds, awesome bar at Ocho, and delicious/relaxing breakfast overlooking the riverwalk. Easy ten minute walk along the river to dinner. Also ten minute walk to Alamo. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houstonpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has everything that you need - great location on the Riverwalk, clean and spacious rooms, good service. But this hotel has more than that. It has history, charm and character. Each room is different, the bar in the basement is lit all in red candles and the restaurant has a view of the Riverwalk. The only reason that I'm not giving this 5 stars is because of our ground floor room. It wasn't too loud, but it lacked a little bit of privacy. Ask for something on the 2nd floor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I could not be more underwhelmed... City Wi-Fi overrides hotels "free Wi-F", dirty, unresponsive staff. Spruced up "bum apartments" that are overpriced. Go to a real hotel and spend less money!!!! Pay to self park, no closets (in our King Suite), bad in every way. Worst hotel experience of my life. Have traveled extensively and this place could be in the slums of Calcutta.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Love this place. I wanted something quant and romantic and got just that. The food was good, drinks were great. Loved the atmosphere. Staff was friendly, room was cozy. Definitely will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fry212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Havana because we generally enjoy the charm of historic and boutique hotels. We also wanted to stay within walking distance of the River Walk without being in the throngs of tourists and noise. The location of Hotel Havana was perfect for this; it was only a 10 minute walk to the central part of the River Walk. We found our stay to be between average and very good.

We stayed in a king suite on the 2nd floor that had a less-than-memorable view of the TV station building and satellite across the street but we weren't bothered by road or construction noise that some recent reviews have complained about. The decor of the room was great and we had plenty of space. The room had some unique features such as the SMEG refrigerator with a fully stocked mini-bar, fresh flowers, warm lighting and retro furniture. The staff at the hotel was very welcoming, polite and didn't hesitate to assist us with any questions we had during our stay. We enjoyed breakfast at Ocho each morning and the food was fantastic although service was slow. They seemed under-staffed. The plantain griddle cakes were amazing, however.

On the negative side, our room wasn't as clean as we had hoped, particularly the bathroom. The floor wasn't very clean and there were hairs in the tub and on the floor. While there wasn't much noise coming from outside the hotel, we were disturbed by guests in nearby rooms in the middle of the night and unfortunately had to call down to the front desk at 3:00 a.m. to ask for intervention. We could also readily hear guests above us walking on the hardwood floors. The walls are thin.

We have stayed at many boutique hotels over the years and would characterize this one as a little on the rustic side which may not be for everyone. There are certain things you need to tolerate, especially in an older building . . . noise, low shower head, toilet that takes forever to flush, no closet, dim lighting, creaky floors, etc. This is not a luxury hotel. As an FYI, we did find a hair dryer in the dresser drawer near the bed and it only took a call to the front desk to secure an iron/ironing board.

The hotel does have a parking lot and they charge $17/day which is probably in line with what other hotels in the area charge. If in San Antonio again, we definitely would consider Hotel Havana again if the price was right and fully understanding some of the more "rustic charm" of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Property: Hotel Havana
Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing