We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel and Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #82 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel and Great Restaurant”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My partner and I did a weekend trip with another couple to San Antoinio and what a lovely experience at this hotel. The rooms remind me of the rooms we get in Europe...small and cozy but nicely appointed with great pillows and mattress. We stayed in room 36 on the 3rd floor which has a terrace for all the guests. We enjoyed the terrace every morning for our wonderful Cuban coffee from Ocho, the restaurant and bar, as well as in the evenings after dinner. The location is perfect! It is directly across the street from an entrance to the Riverwalk. It is a nice leisurely stroll to the main area of the riverwalk where all of the restaurants and clubs and other hotels are located. It was so nice to get back to the nice quite area of this hotel after being around all of the folks on the touristy part of the riverwalk. The food and drinks at Ocho are outstanding. Our waiter for both nights was Reynaldo and he was fabulous. I had the best Bloody Mary that I have ever had anywhere in the states or Europe. Reynaldo told me that they make their own bloody mary mix and you can certainly tell it. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    89
    24
    21
    6
See reviews for
25
187
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Don't get room 34. The smallest I have ever stayed in. Comfy bed and pillows but you need to be a contortionist to manoeuvre around the tiny room.

Taxi booked for the airport by the hotel in the morning never showed. Quaint place but I'm sure there are more affordable, nicer places.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryanepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a lovely building with good helpfull staff, good bed but some noise through the windows, location is right on the river walk but out of the centre, we found it a nice walk in and out and not too far.
All food is pretty spicy even the breakfast fruit had cayenne pepper on it.
My only real gripe is that unknown to us there was a big festival on the river and the hotel had sold seats in the conservatory to non residents meaning we could not get a seat overlooking the river and struggled to get a seat anywhere to have food and drink before we went out into town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank junnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Just awesome - a trip in time, beautiful attention to detail - so much fun. I had no idea San Antonio could feel so exotic - it's truly a beautifully designed experience from the moment you walk in the door - including the exceptional Ocho restaurant setting on the river. Service spectacular - totally lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This renovated commercial bulding turned hotel dates from the early 1900s but the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hardwood floors and wood paneling give the hotel an old-time feel. Some rooms have access to outdoor porches that are great for relaxing. The hotel is on the Riverwalk but away from the multitudes and it has its own self-park lot. The only drawback is poor lighting in the rooms. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar had interesting drinks and nibbles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We checked in and from that moment LOVELY !!!!!!!

Everyone was a complete pleasure and WILL ALWAYS shoot for this place. It was completely clean, friendly, gorgeous, & out going.

If.you are in the area for a night or more you have to spead it here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John - Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in a queen suite on the top floor. The room was excellent and a little funky in the decor. We found this hotel to be much more enjoyable than staying in one of the conventional hotels in the River Walk area. It is a nice quiet walk along the river walk to the tourist areas. The restaurant and bar are very nice. The food in the Ocho restaurant is unique and very good. The restaurant is small and the staff provide very good individual service. Any time we go to San Antonio, we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Property: Hotel Havana
Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing