We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Off the beaten Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #82 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Off the beaten Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great place to stay in San Antonio. Staff is very friendly and helpful, Ocho Restaurant and Bar are fantastic. Rooms are very comfortable. Felt very safe although close-by Travis Park is a bit sketchy. Perfect location on Riverwalk - far enough away from masses but completely walkable either north to Pearl Brewery or south to King William district. Love the basket of focus on local minibar items, just wished they restocked it. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    82
    22
    21
    6
See reviews for
22
173
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our niece lives in San Antonio so we visit once or twice a year. We often have lunch or dinner on River Walk but we'd never stayed there. This visit we decided to treat ourselves and spend the night downtown. The Hotel Havana was described as being on the National Historic Register and only had 27 rooms on the "quiet" end of River Walk. We decided that sounded perfect and it was. They have an attached parking lot so parking was easy. It's a bit of a walk to the restaurants and shops but not too far and very pleasant. (Maybe 20 minutes?)

The room was comfortable with a desk and table. I was disappointed I got a black refrigerator, but what can you do? The bed was super comfy. I particularly loved the makeup remover packets ... I know that's weird, but they were soft and not all perfume-y.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and have no qualms about recommending it. I'd probably not eat in the restaurant, Ocho, but that's a whole other review.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarynSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have been wanting to stay at this hotel for the past 2 years now, and finally made it happen. This hotel highly exceeded our expectations. All the staff were extremely friendly, and were always willing to help with questions. The breakfast was outstanding in the OCHO Lounge. The banana bread and homemade tortillas were the best I have ever had in my life. My husband is a chef, so when we go out to eat he is a huge food critic, and he LOVED the food! The only thing I would recommend, is if you are looking for a quieter room, I would request one on the top floor, as this is an old hotel and the hard would floors tend to squeak. Other than that, we had a fabulous stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellajoliphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just spent valentines at Havana .. It was perfect! Staff is very helpful, rooms are so neat, and the chef Toby is very helpful and will work with you on any food allergies.. We will definitely be back ..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rapsbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Built in 1914 with 27 rooms, this hotel is lovingly up kept and a delightful place to stay. Woodwork looks original, the lobby decor is a sophisticated red which gives it a warm feel. The four poster bed is intricately carved. The bed was a little too high off the ground for my 5'0" stature.

The small restaurant "Ocho" is on the river and has a colorful unique decor. The food was very good although I didn't particularly like the Havana chili powder on my fresh fruit.


The location was perfect for us. It is right on the San Antonio River Walk. It is quiet since the location is not right on the restaurant dense portion. It's a 15 minute walk to the restaurants. The Hotel Havana is north from the River Walk which was a good starting point for our walk north up to Pearl Brewery. San Antonio has done an amazing job with the art and construction.
We were very happy and felt smart that we stayed here instead of the fancy chain hotels in the noisy restaurant quarters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The owner has captured all the latin charm of Old San Antonio with a Cuban accent. Newly renovated to pay homage to its history. It is a small hotel, 3 stories plus a fantastic basement bar. We stayed in room 33 at the top. It was quiet and very clean. Wood floors, parlor, closet, bath with tub, pink refrigerator, very comfortable bed with soft pillows and linen bedspread. Riverwalk entrance just across the street. It has a pretty restaurant bar, OCHO, which overlooks the River Walk. The basement Havan Bar is the most romantic you can imagine--dark, candles, couches, velvet drapes, small tables. Hector the bartender is a superb mixologist. Parking onsite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We always travel with our Labrador Retriever and search for fun for her too! On a recent trip to San Antonio, we discovered the Hotel Havana which is located on a quiet part of the Riverwalk. This location affords the opportunity to explore the less traveled and hectic tourist part of the Riverwalk and is a great chance to give your pet some exercise on the wonderful paved walks along the San Antonio River, while still being close enough to the "Night Life" of the Heart of the Riverwalk via walking or catching Rio Taxi. The hotel is Retro to the late 1950's and funky but immaculately clean with all you need including your own refrigerator with special and unusual treats for your convenience (not complimentary). Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the restaurant, Ocho, connected and located overlooking the River, offers wonderful meals in an historic atmosphere! We look forward to returning soon - our Girl loved the experience and we did too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,603 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#37 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Property: Hotel Havana
Address: 1015 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing