We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #81 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We had a Great stay at this boutique hotel. We had room #30 which was split level with a unique bathroom/ shower. The room was quite clean and beautifully furnished with an eclectic mix of vintage furniture. My only problem was with the valet attendant who was less than enthusiastic to be parking cars. However, don't let this small problem discourage you from booking here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boblovesnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    83
    22
    21
    6
See reviews for
22
173
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Very friendly staff; comfortable rooms; and an excellent cafe right next to the riverwalk. It was everything we needed during Fiesta. Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Overall, really liked it and give it a thumbs up. It's not on the "touristy" part of the river or in the "touristy" part of downtown. If you don't mind doing some walking, it is possible to get there by walking. Parking spaces are very small, glad I was parking my Corolla, not my Silverado. Parking is $17...I hate finding things like that out...after you are checking in. I do like the old wood inside...it's a neat place. Couldn't get any coffee until 6:00am, a million food and drink items for sale in the fridge and on the table...but no coffee pot...almost a star deduction there! We had a Living Social coupon that included breakfast...hope I don't get the server in trouble... she was awesome...but she said that the Living Social diner's tips went to the hotel...you gotta be kidding me! Come on Havana...take care of your employees better than that!!! What incentive does that give your employee to take care of me, as a Living Social customer, thankfully she was great!!!!. I slipped her some cash...my tip is for the SERVER...not for you to make up some of the discount you gave me on the room. Beautiful old hotel that beats your cookie cutter hotels of today. Give 'em a try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
275 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Characterful property nicely restored. Large well appointed rooms with comfy beds. Parking on site.
Minor blip on check in when our room hadn't been changed and made up, but we were immediately moved to an upgrade room at no cost. When we mentioned on check-out our car-parkign was also waived. If something goes wrong, this was an obkewct lesson in how to impress the customer with the response.
Across the road from entrancee to riverwalk path but away from the busiest section so was quiet at night but quite clost to the action.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed here during Fiesta and really enjoyed my stay. Everyone was helpful. It is not on the busy part of the river but that is what makes it so great. Easy to walk to everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtneylovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at the Havana for an evening. Great time - arrived and sat on one of three communal balconies - and was able to order drinks from bar that were delivered to us.

After drinks sat went to Ocho - hotel restaurant and bar located on the North San Antonio river walk. Quiet but happening atmosphere - with great food.

Breakfast was even better with bar stools overlooking river.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Pros: Independently owned, interesting old building, good location, tasty food, awesome bars, great staff, interesting mini bar in the room, patio (not connected to the room) for eating/drinking room service, unique toiletry products, cute & simple decor, comfortable bed

Cons: $17/day parking, no hair dryer/iron in room that we could find, robes & towels weren't soft, pricey room rates

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,606 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#36 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Property: Hotel Havana
Address: 1015 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing