We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the breakfast but not the ghosts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bullis House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bullis House Inn
Ranked #15 of 40 San Antonio B&B and Inns
New
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the breakfast but not the ghosts!”
Reviewed June 27, 2006

When I first saw the house, I thought it was amazing. But as I approched the front door, I immediately felt the presence of the spirits ! It was around midnight when I arrived and the interior was a bit dark. I tiptoed and climbed quietly up the stairs into our room hoping not to disturbed the spirits in the house. Our Victorian style room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The fireplace was not completely renovated. I did not sleep well on my first night and the rest of my stay. As a matter of fact, I did not get a good sleep at all! It's not that the house was uncomfortable but I guess it's the spirits were keeping me awake! If you are super sensitive to spirits and bothered by it, I suggest that you don't go but...if you're intention is to enjoy the nice hospitality and hang out with the spirits..I suggest you go ahead and plan your reservation! The swimming pool was great! The sausage omellette breakfast and the flavored cinnamon coffee were very tasty! It's worth the $65.00 a night!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

My family and I would not return to the Bullis House Inn. The house has not been upkept. Tiles are missing on the walls, behind every nook and cranny is an unexpected surprise where some renovation was not finished. This could be a wonderful house, but has been neglected. Breakfast consisted of cereal, muffins and old, hard waffles. There was no air conditioning in the bathrooms so it was very muggy and smelly. The fiberglass shower stall has been repainted several times and paint was chipping off everywhere. We shared one full bathroom with 1 or 2 families. The other full bath has a tub only.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2004

The Bullis Inn may not be right on the Riverwalk, but it's well worth the 10 minute drive from it. The house is beautiful and well restored to what it must have looked like in the early 1900's. The staff, especially the Manager, Mike Tease, was friendly, warm, and helpful. My room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. It's located in a quiet neighborhood away from the freeway and city noise. I was happily greeted by Mike the next morning. I stayed longer than I planned, due to the great stories Mike had to tell me on the history of the Bullis House...I enjoyed everyone of them...I wish I could have stayed longer. San Antonio was my 3rd stop on a cross-country drive from Florida to California. The Bullis House Inn was my favorite place of all the places I stayed at during my trip. If you're ever in San Antonio, this place is a must to stay! I'll definitely be staying there again, next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank workerb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 13, 2003

It was a home warming experience the kind you dont get from your every day hotel or inn. This is the first breakfast inn i've experienced and it was the ulltimate awakening and daymaking of my stay in San Antonio.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 13, 2002

The week-end of March 9, 2002, our family rented the Bullis Inn for a wedding week-end. The house was decorated abundantly with flowers. A very nice wake-up call on the wedding day was a player piano. An urgent call for a VCR brought one promptly. As thing will happen, we had some miss-communications with the catering company (separate company from the Bullis House). The management of the Bullis readily helped smooth matters out. We made many requests of them, but they never made use feel like we imposed on them. A very friendly place to stay - and get them to tell you the ghost stories & house history - it is educational and entertaining. Thank-you Mr. Cox! I want to come back soon.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#128 of 354 in San Antonio
40 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
1,360 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#164 of 354 in San Antonio
45 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullis House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullis House Inn

Property: Bullis House Inn
Address: 621 Pierce Ave, P.O. Box 8059, San Antonio, TX 78208-1425
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bullis House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing