We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not very nice.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bullis House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bullis House Inn
Ranked #15 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very nice.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I assumed I would be staying in the beautiful white house that you see in the photos. However, I booked a hostel room and found out that my room was in a multi-room shack next to the house (possibly the slave quarters?). The rooms were surprisingly comfortable thanks to the air conditioners. There is a pool. The bathtub was rusted out.
I only stayed two nights, but got insect bites around my ankles that only itched at night. I looked it up on google and it looked like bedbugs. They went away on their own but I had those bites for four days and may have spread them to the next hotel that I stayed at.
If you do stay here, make sure you stay in the house and don't let the lady at the front desk talk you into staying next door.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the white house and not the muli-room shack next door. Insect repellent?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinstonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you want to be freaked out by the lady who runs it, if you want to be followed, harrassed and taunted by the 'friendly' neighbourhood boys while on your way to the shops, if you want to be told that the hotel is fully booked but not see a single person around the place the whole time you're there, or if you dont want to listen to the cab drivers who tell you not to go to this area, then yeh come here!!!

word of advice. stay away.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank simone h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I was happily surprised by the nice room I got. I did not expect it for the low price. The Inn is a beautiful historic building and the furniture matches it.

There is also a computer with internet and a printer to use for free in the common area, which was really convenient for printing out bus tickets and boarding passes.

There are not many bathrooms but they were clean and I never had to wait to use one.

A negative is the location, it's quite far from down town by bus, because the bus takes a round about way. But the bus stop is close by and the neighbourhood felt safe even if a little rundown.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

On July 21 I stay three nights and thought it was great. The breakfast, staff and Inn was wonderful.
I will definately be back next year.
Robert

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southern46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

The house is beautiful - if you love architecture as I do, it is worth the stay just to wander through it. Built in 1904-ish - 10,000 square feet, high ceilings, etc. My huge room was well appointed and clean.

The problems I had were that the other guests were not considerate. They made a lot of noise on the upstairs landing at midnight for so long that I finally had to ask them to quiet down, which they did, but it took me a couple of hours to get back to sleep.

Along with that, all guests had to share a bathroom. The other guests were drying clothes (including boxer shorts) and towels - taking up every rack and spare space in the bathroom. They also took up all the shelves inside the shower. It was the owner's responsibility to take note of this when/if cleaning the bathroom and ask them to take their things to their rooms.

The price is a good value. The neighborhood is a run down, but I didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lido2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernCountrygal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

What a great place to stay if your looking to stay as a large family group in a home setting. Awesome old mansion that is being restored, sure it has some minor defects. But for those of us with older houses we sure know how it is. Hostess built a fire in the fireplaces in the morning to enjoy with the wonderful homemade breakfast she made. Coffee was out and ready in the morning. Felt like home, come down the stairs in the morning to the smell of breakfast cooking. Sit on the huge front porch, and we got to sing and relax in the evening. Got to know the other guest, and alot of the local history. We enjoyed walking in the area, and local folks were so friendly also. Thanks Bullis house, if we were ever to go back to San Antonio, we know we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernCountrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

My sister and I stayed in late September and arrived very late.
The hostess waited up for us and had the air conditioning on in the room and the ice bucket full. It was so great especially after being from California and not being use to this hot climate.We felt so welcomed.
We hope someday to come back and bring our families.

Karolyn and Peggy Williams

  • Liked — The hostess, food and Inn.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sister101California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#146 of 353 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 353 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#180 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullis House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullis House Inn

Property: Bullis House Inn
Address: 621 Pierce St., P.O. Box 8059, San Antonio, TX 78208
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bullis House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing