We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #60 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family and I were on a 6 day texas vacation. We decided to stay at this location, due to its proximity to the river walk and other attractions. We purchased a room with a balcony. Upon checking it , we noticed the room was small for a double queen room. The balcony of the hotel was small and barely fits three people on it. There is no chairs to sit on the balcony so it is pretty much useless. They have no room service. There is also a barista down stairs that claims they serve starbucks. but it tastes nothing like it. The walls were paper thin and you can hear everything. The last night of our stay. The room next to us sounded like it was rented out to a family of baboons. The whole night after midnight, I heard a door slamming, babies crying, and people shouting. It woke us all up. I figured a call downstairs would resolve the problem, so I called down. They said it would be taken care of. 30 min later after the call. The banging and door slamming continued all night , by this time it was well past 2 am. Waking up my wife , the in and out slamming. I called down again, the front desk explained that they took care of the problem and although it still persisted , they would send someone up. So an hour goes by and finally the banging slowed down. Finally We began to fall back asleep , when all the sudden at 430 AM. I heard what I thought was a horse or some sort of animal being choked and killed in the room next to us. This sound went on for about 30 minutes through the paper thin walls, when I finally realized it was some person puking and making a horse choking sound as they puked. Finally at 5:00 am the sound stop. I did not get one ounce of sleep. In the morning I complained to the front desk and demanded I wanted a refund for the room. The manager said she we would give me points on my card. WTF, I do not want points. I wanted a refund, because I will never stay at a marriot again. NEVER STAY HERE EVER! By the way, may bathtub is bigger than their swimming pool

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmyp2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the actions of other guests in the hotel and apologize that we were not able to neutralize the situation quickly. I have already met with our security staff to review this incident and make certain that our procedures are followed to take care of complaints of noise in a more proactive manner. I do admit that our hotel is very unique for a Courtyard as we are right on the edge of the action and do not own our own parking lot. This is very typical for urban hotels and San Antonio is no different. Our parking rates are comparable to most other hotels in the urban core/Riverwalk area of San Antonio. Thank you staying with us and I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced.

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 548 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a great time in San Antonio and alot of that had alot to do with picking a nice hotel in a great location right on the Riverwalk where all the action is. The rooms were very small as stated by others but to be honest, I was rarely in my room so it was adequate for out needs. The service we received at the front desk and when PICKING UP our car with the valet was awesome.

We did experience (2) issues. When we requested bedding for our pull-out "chair", they told us it would be delivered in 10 minutes. After 25 minutes we called and they said it was on the way. After another 20+ minutes, it finally arrived....so 45 minutes in all. Secondly, the valet service when DROPPING OFF the car was terrible. This is mostly due to the limited space they had to work with but the valet's didn't appear in any hurry to get the cars moving and there was a line of cars backed up on the street and trying to get in. I know it's hot in Texas but the valets in Vegas RUN to get your car so these guys couple have made more of an effort to get teh cars parked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate that you chose to stay with us while in San Antonio. The title of your review states one of our great advantages. I will continue to act on any and all service challenges/failures experienced by our guests and will continue to train on a sense of urgency for delivering guest request items as well as the sense of urgency for the valet service. We are challenged by the amount of space that we have for dropping off and picking up cars and we try to make up for that with adequate staffing and hustle. I have addressed the issue with our valet management and hope to not have this happen in the future. Thank you again for staying as well as contributing to Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This Courtyard is right on the Riverwalk close to most of the activity (but yes, opposite the Rivercenter and the Convention Center as other reviews have mentioned). The "upgraded" room with a Riverwalk view is a VERY small room. Only a few rooms on each floor face the Riverwalk and as you are winding your way around the other rooms to get to these three rooms at the end of the hallway, you realize the non-upgraded rooms have to be much larger. On Saturday morning, at 6:00 a.m., the wait to get your vehicle from valet was over 30 minutes. Surprisingly, when we checked out on Sunday, the wait was only 10-15 minutes. It should be noted that the parking garage for the valet is down the street and not close by, so make sure you call for your car well in advance if you are in a hurry. We had to be somewhere at 7:00 on Saturday morning! While the fitness center was fine, the pool has to be the smallest ever--but it is outside as opposed to most Courtyards with the oppressive indoor pools. And while everyone must be cutting back, the size of the nice Paul Mitchell shampoos were a joke. Oh, JWM, you disappoint me. **sigh** Overall, much like McDonald's, Courtyards continue to be exactly the same when you walk in and you get that familiar feeling of being "home". Just work on the valet services and give extra shampoo! PS--forgot to add that you do need your room key to go anywhere on the elevator. One of ours was perpetually not working and I waited a long time on Saturday for a new key to be delivered in order to go workout. They did promptly bring me a blow dryer.

Room Tip: If you want the Riverwalk view, be prepared to be in a smaller room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blythecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Courtyard Riverwalk. Our urban location does give us some challenges that we hope are made up by our attention to the guest and location. Our hotel is an urban hotel, with a real urban feel. Our frontage footprint on St. Mary’s Street is 50 feet wide by 17 stories tall. On a main artery in San Antonio, the front of the hotel faces the Riverwalk and St. Mary’s Church, while the back is directly on the San Antonio River. This really gives some better views (in my opinion) of the river from the St. Mary’s side as opposed to the river side. It is by all means a unique hotel and many of our guests appreciate this uniqueness. Small pools and valet only parking are hopefully made up for by a caring staff and a location on the San Antonio River that is exceptional. Please request extra shampoo during your visit and I will forward your perspective to our Courtyard brand team regarding the size of the amenities. I apologize for the key issue. Thank you so much for staying with us and I will use your critique as a training tool for giving better guest service in the future.

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is what you would expect from most Courtyard Marriotts. The staff was friendly and the rooms were great. The best thing about this hotel is the direct access to the riverwalk. We had a room with a very nice room. Request a room on a high floor facing the river if possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2trvl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with the Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and were glad to see that you enjoyed our friendly staff, and great views at our Riverwalk location. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit to San Antonio!

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for a convention. We didn't realize that we'd be walking .8 miles one way to the convention center! That's our mistake though. Checking in was no problem, the front desk staff are all extremely nice and went above and beyond. Our room was nice, but small. I slept like a baby, as the bed was super comfy. Our room had a view of the pool and a wall. The pool is probably the smallest pool I have ever seen at a hotel. Tiny! I probably would not choose to stay here again just based on the proximity to everything. It's a little far from the more exciting places on the Riverwalk. However, if you don't mind the hike and won't be using the pool, this would be fine.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Cheryl_in_Texarkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. Being an urban hotel with a compact pool area, I do understand your comments regarding the size of our pool. Thank you for staying with us, and we truly hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel . After checking out I went to the airport where I realized that I left my phone charger in the room. I called the hotel and "Nicolas" said he would check the room and get back to me. About 30 minutes later, I had a return phone call. Nicolas had my charger and said he would send it to my home at no charge. Two days later a fedex parcel arrived at my home with my charger. And at no charge to me!

This hotel is not a "luxury Marriott", but it is on the Riverwalk with access to its varied restaurants and nightlife. The staff is friendly and obviously very responsive to customer needs as based on my experience. Rooms are not huge, but are clean and well furnished with all the amenities. I would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxTraveler832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you kind comments regarding your stay, particularly with regards to our staff’s dedication and the quality of our guest rooms. I look forward to sharing your feedback with Nicholas. Please come back to see us when you next visit San Antonio as we truly look forward to an opportunity to take care of your needs once again.

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Sorry but I was not impressed with this hotel. If you get a room with the city view, there are city lights that will shine in your room even tho the room has blinds, they are not the darkening type. Our room was lit all night long, room 1113. They need darkening drapes on this side of the hotel. The balcony is painfully small. I wouldn't call it a balcony even, more like a bumpout. The pool is the smallest pool I have ever seen with a Marriott hotel, and there is no breakfast, which was disappointing also. Also, the couch is very narrow and the rooms are very small. The bed was very comfortable though. I'm giving it an average rating because of the room darkening issue. BTW, do not be fooled by Google maps as it pinpoints this hotel as having a roof top pool. It doesn't. The pool is on the third floor. The roof top pool on Google maps belongs to the Drury Inn next door. Don't book this hotel for the pool. You will be disappointed

Room Tip: try to get a room with a river view. we were told none were available when we checked in but I didn...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciera1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie S, General Manager at Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk. I am very disappointed that our property was unable to meet your expectations. Please know that a solution for the drapery issue you mentioned in your specific room is underway and will be resolved soon. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. I would certainly welcome an opportunity to speak with you if you would like to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Kellie Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,115 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 207 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#47 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#86 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $170 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk hotel is centrally located next to shopping and dining on the historic San Antonio Riverwalk. The spacious guest rooms in our San Antonio hotel offer sweeping views of the city and are only minutes from popular attractions, including the Alamo, Majestic Theatre, the Alamodome and Hemisfair Park. Unique among hotels near the San Antonio Riverwalk, our state-of-the art lobby offers inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Enjoy the amenities of our San Antonio, TX Riverwalk hotel, from catching up on work in our business center to relaxing in our pool or staying in shape in our fitness center. It's a new stay at the Courtyard Riverwalk hotel by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing