We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service at the Hilton Garden Inn in San Antonio.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport
Ranked #96 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor customer service at the Hilton Garden Inn in San Antonio.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in San Antonio near the airport (Room # 430) on June 29, 2012 and I was satisfied with my room but NOT satisfied with the check-in process and the hotel manager. I arrived at the hotel at 4:00 PM on Friday, June 29, 2012 and I had to wait in line to check-in on a pre-paid reservation. There were two customers in front of me and I thought the wait would be short. I was wrong. I did not time how long it took for me to check-in and receive my room access card, but I know it took much longer than any other hotel that I stayed in San Antonio the previous week.

The customers before me had their complainants resolved and they both received a breakfast voucher for a free breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant. I received nothing but a traditional “I am sorry you had to wait” response from the hotel manager. When I arrived there was only one employee checking in customers at the front counter. I am not sure why it was taking this employee so long, but she should of sensed that other customers were waiting for quite a while and to call for back up assistance. When she finally got back up assistance from the hotel manager, the manager seemed bothered to be at the front counter and was not very friendly. She only offered a mere “I am sorry you had to wait” response when I complained that I had to wait longer than I needed to on a pre-paid reservation. I had already paid in advance for my room, but I had to wait for more than twenty minutes to get my room access card so that I could put my bags in my room.

In addition, when I returned to the hotel after my evening activities around 10:30 PM, I was unable to get inside my room because the room access card did not work. I was given two cards when I checked in, and only took one of the cards when I left the hotel. When I returned at 10:30 PM, my card did not work. I had to take the elevator back down to the first floor and explain my problem to the employee at the front counter.

I did not have these problems at the other hotel (Hyatt Place – Airport South) in San Antonio that I stayed at the previous week. I experienced too many "little issues" at the Hilton Garden Inn. I doubt I will ever stay at another Hilton Garden Inn based on my experience at this hotel on June 29, 2012 (Room # 430).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
I am very sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport. I can assure you that this is not the way we typically do business. Please contact me at the hotel if you would like me to further assist you. Thank you, Rene Vasquez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    148
    66
    44
    32
See reviews for
143
94
45
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed one night for business. Jessica had my check in information ready when I arrived at midnight. It literally took me 30 seconds to check in and be on my way to my room and bed. She was great and very helpful after my late flight into SAT. I stil remember her greeting me 50 feet away from the front desk. Thank you very much.

After a short but comfortable nights rest, I arose at 5:30am to go for a run outside. Jessica was still there and still had a smile on her face. I asked if she knew a good route to run 4 miles around the hotel and she quickly grabbed a map and traced out a route for me. The run was great thanks to Jessica's recomendation.

When I returned to the hotel, Jessica offered me a towel and advised breakfast was being served which I took her advice and had a wonderful breakfast for $10.00.

After breakfast, I showered for work and left the hotel I returned around noon and asked if I could stay until 6pm for a fee. The new front desk staff advised Jessica had already set this up and I would be billed accordingly. The best part of the late checkout was coming back from my work and going up to my room and having my key still work. I cant tell you how many times at other hotels this happens to me where I return from work, go my room and my key doesnt work. Its a small thing but I really enjoyed my entire stay at the Hilton Garden Inn SAT.

I travel 50 nights a year for business. If someone complains about this hotel, dont believe a word they say. It just isnt true or they just really are miserable individuals or the are just ignorant. I am betting ignorant. Thank you for a wonderful stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport. We really appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were moving form San Diego to San antonio, we stayed to the HHonor hotels the whole way. When showing up in San antonio, I searched the area close to our home and Huron garden inn popped up. We got there at 3am and went up to our room. First thing we noticed was it was super hot in the room. We turned the air down and laid down. We both woke in a sweat! We contacted the GM and was given a free night. We stayed and then stayed again. Turns out the free night wasn't free!!! This many not matter to some people but I am in the US Navy and am about to start school. I am not rich. I live comfortable and would see
Paying if it was worth it. So be careful!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mj1182009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
I have read your comments and apologize for your experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn. We take all of our guest comments very seriously and it is critical to our success that we use them as a training tool. We will review your comments with our entire staff to help prevent these issues from happening again. Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback, and please accept my apology on behalf of our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just spent two nights at this property and had a wonderful experience. Neah at front desk is AWESOME! She is professional, helpful & friendly -- we really enjoyed talking with her. Check-in was quick & easy.

Our room was super clean & bed was very comfortable -- the jacuzzi tub was a nice surprise and such a treat. Great flat screen tv -- plus the air conditioner worked great on the hot San Antonio days (Our only room issue was with the lock -- each time we came back to our room we had to have the key reset.)

Jimmy and his staff in the breakfast area are so much fun -- we enjoyed waking up each day to their sunny smiles & exceptional service plus breakfast was super fast and really good.

Parking was free and we had no trouble finding a parking spot. (The pool is indoor and on the small side -- but very clean) Exercise room was nice & clean. Property outside was well maintained & welcoming.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will return on our next trip to San Antonio!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbvas881, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you so much for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to have you back the next time you are in San Antonio! --Heather Phipps, Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I've become accustomed to H Garden Inns setting a pretty nice standard in "value" hotels. This site is pretty dog-eared. Appears to be short-staffed (front desk staff cheerful and do what they can, but stretched in too many directions to, for example, recommend a local Mexi restaurant to get some recommendations for local massage). First floor carpeting dog-eared and torn, indoor pool so fetid that there were not even any children splashing around. Gym has two treadmills and an elliptical - no bikes. Rather disappointing - again, versus HIlton Garden Inns in cities like Charlottesville, VA, Columbus, OH or Portland, Maine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbvas881, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us due to the facilities. We are looking forward to our renovation scheduled for this year, and we would love to invite you back to see the changes. --Rene Vasquez, General Manger, Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I just completed my stay at this hotel for several nights. I was a little worried about the noise level since it was so close to the airport. But, it was the complete opposite. It was peaceful and due to the proximity to the airport, the free shuttle was quick and easy too. The room was spacious, clean and well maintained. From the shuttle driver to the gals at the front desk, I received nothing but warm smiles and great hospitality. I look forward to coming back and experiencing the San Antonio love from this great group of folks and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bflo_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbvas881, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport. I'm glad you enjoyed the accomodations, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Have stayed here several times and they never disappoint me. Staff is very helpful, check-in and out are fast. They are responsive to requests and shuttle service is generally quick to arrive. Breakfast selections are plentiful and good tasting. Property, inside and out, are well maintained. Quiet at night

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbvas881, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for staying at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Loop
Hilton San Antonio Airport
Hilton San Antonio Airport
#73 of 358 in San Antonio
709 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport
Address: 12828 San Pedro Ave, San Pedro Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78216-2045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#46 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport hotel located just five minutes from San Antonio Airport via complimentary shuttle service. Set in area attractions including San Antonio River Walk, the Alamo, and North Star Mall.Situated near a variety of businesses, this hotel boasts 1,100 sq. ft. of meeting space. Host a meeting or event for up to 65 guests and enjoy professional planning advice. Work in the 24-hour business center and make use of complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel.Savor delicious American specialties at Great American Grill or unwind with an evening drink in the inviting Lobby Lounge. Snack on treats from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience store. Re-energize with an invigorating workout in the modern fitness center or plunge into the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing