We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Staybridge Suites in San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Ranked #106 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“My Favorite Staybridge Suites in San Antonio”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

This is my first choice for an extended visit to San Antonio. You can definitely save money if you are traveling alone or with a family. The free breakfast buffet is so extensive that you won’t leave hungry. They also have a few “to go” bags that includes a breakfast sandwich if you do not have time to sit down and enjoy your breakfast. The weekday social includes unlimited beer, wine, soda, and enough food that again, you can save money. When I was there, the social included a salad, potato salad, and mini corndogs.

The rooms are huge and very clean. Unless you book the studio, you will have the ability to watch TV in one room and sleep in another. The rooms also include a DVD player so you can rent a movie or even check one out for free downstairs in the lobby.

The kitchen includes a full-size fridge, two burners, a sink, and a dishwasher. Again, you can save money by cooking in your room or you can even use the outdoor grills near the pool/tennis/basketball court if you want—the propane is included.

The laundry room was a huge plus... Free, brand new high efficiency front-loader washers and dryers.

The fitness room included brand new gym equipment and I’m a cardio nut so I was happy.

Although this is not located near the airport or downtown, this is my preferred extended stay hotel in San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    52
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
85
24
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

San Antonio has several adoption agencies, and lots of out-of-towners visit for that purpose. We were in town for about two weeks. The Staybridge Suites NW Collonade was perfect for us. We booked the king suite with the outer room, and there was plenty of space for us - two parents and a newborn. We ate out and cooked in about equally and the kitchenette was adequate for our needs. They offer breakfast every morning, and the housekeeping staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is quiet but convenient to highways, hospitals, shopping, etc. Our only complaint is the noisy dishwasher - definitely not a deal breaker. Oh yes - they even offer a special rate for adoptive parents. It was a really good experience.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Noisy dishwasher, not a big deal
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunca8032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Admittedly my experiences with Holiday Inn are several years in the past, but I was not expecting such a charmingly organized suite. We got the smaller one, but it had everything we needed and several extra thoughtful touches as well, such as an extra empty beverage container in the refrigerator, dishwashing supplies, extra removable hangers. The towels were soft and fluffy, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was great, and included hot eggs and bacon, real oatmeal, lots of fruit. For mid-week stays, the staff holds "sundowners", mixers for the guests. On Thanksgiving day they served several types of pie.
This hotel is also pet friendly.
It goes without saying it was clean and quiet.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowdybugtico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside Cty
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Booked this hotel based on location and were pleasantly surprised! Only overnighted but can highly recommend it for families and business travelers. We had a standard room but it was large with a small kitchen set up with appropriate utensils. Hotel offered complimentary mid week evening meals but not for our weekend night. However, the schedule was on the standard-sized refrigerator and it looked varied and good. This would be a great place for a long term stay. Complimentary, hot breakfast buffet was extensive with scrambled eggs, meat, boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal, waffles, pastries, juices, yogurt and all day coffee and tea. Newspapers daily. Small snack store on site but expensive. Did not use pool or gym room.

  • Liked — Hotel amenities
  • Disliked — tricky to find at first, set back off main street
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I stayed 4 days at the Staybridge Inn while I was looking for an apt. This hotel is very close to the San Antonio Medical Center yet not inside the heavy traffic area. The motel is along I-10 West and near a grocery and many different places to eat. It was a little difficult to find, but easy enough if you remember it is behind the very tall OMNI Hotel.

I hotwired this for $69 a night. I was pleasantly surprised that on Tues, Wed and Thurs, the hotel provides a "supper" reception. The first night was grilled hamburgers and hotdogs with all the fixings and some side salads. The next night there was chicken fingers and several sides. Included are softdrinks, wine and beer.

The breakfasts were really good too. They are included with the room. There are several kinds of cereals, hot sausage or bacon and they served omelets one day and scrambled eggs another day. Of course, a variety of breads to toast as well a juices and coffee.

They have a small store that has snack food, microwave food and drinks that is open 24/7.

They have a large variety of coffees available at all times. The room was very clean and the staff was very pleasant. In my room, there was an internet connection (and a desk with an office chair) as well as a small studio kitchen. The only thing I did not like was the location of the TV. Although the TV pulls out of the cabinet so it can be seen from the sofa and the bed, it is awkward at best. The nice thing was, the TV had a DVD player and I was able to catch up on the Netflix movies I had brought along.

The pool appeared to be very clean. I did not use it. There was also a small exercise room. I would have liked a Jacuzzi and that was really the only thing missing.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — no hot tub
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leander
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Upon arriving at Staybridge Suites I noticed quite a few men hanging around the front entrance. Quite a few business vehicles (such as construction companies), a dirty curtain in one of the lower front windows. Frankly, my sister and I were hesitant about going in! We had, however, booked our stay w/Priceline and wouldn't be able to get a refund. So, in we go.

The young woman at the front desk was really very nice; and we were checked in quickly. Our room was OK; but we had just stayed at the Doubletree and expected more for the $15 extra that Staybridge charged.

The room had a dirty feeling. Frumpy sofa, rumpled bed, a bit of dirt on the bathroom floor, badly in need of paint. We were given a handicap room (though we didn't need it) and had a trouble w/water getting out of the walk-in shower. Actually a LOT of water came out which we mopped up w/towels.

The bed was comfortable and the linens felt like a good quality. There were 2 tv's with lots of channels.

Not all was bad; but I would not return nor recommend it to others.

  • Liked — There was a FANTASTIC complimentary breakfast and they provide early evening food on T-T nights.
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannybrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We just returned from a trip to San Antonio and stayed 6 nights at this hotel. When we arrived from the Amtrak station ( 6 hours late!) the staff was welcoming and efficient. We stayed in a two bedroom, 3 bed suite which included 2 bathroms, 3 TVs and a full kitchen. We have 4 kids and there was plently of room to spread out. The suite was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. In the morning, they serve free hot breakfast which includes eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, cereals, yogurt and a variety of coffees. There was a staff member on duty every day and she was excellent in keeping all the selections full and the eating areas clean. The pool and patio area are beautiful with flowers and a small fountain, there is even a large electric grill for guest to use. I would definitely recommend this hotel for familes, the customer service was excellent and the cleaniness was very good.

  • Liked — large suites
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
Hyatt Place San Antonio Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW near Six Flags Fiesta Texas
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Northwest Side
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center

Property: Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Address: 4320 Spectrum One, San Antonio, TX 78230-3198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#69 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Northwest Medical Center offers guests a pleasant atmosphere, accessible location, and many of the same comforts of home. Our 3-story, interior corridor hotel is ideally located next door to the San Antonio Medical Center, at Interstate 10 West/Wurzbach, which provides easy access to the South Texas Medical Center, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Shops at La Cantera, and a quick drive to our famous Alamo, and River Walk. We are also only located 12 miles (20 minutes) from the San Antonio International Airport (SAT) and located conveniently to top companies like USAA, UTSA, Aviat Netowrks and Toyota. Also, conveniently located to Methodist Hopital, UT Health Science Center and University Hospital as well Christus Health to name a few. We have studio, 1 bedroom, and 2 bedroom suites, each with full kitchens that are sure to meet the needs of any traveler, whether it be for a night, a week or longer. Pets are also welcome at a minimal fee. During your stay, we invite you to take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center and free laundry services. A refreshing outdoor pool, sports court and BBQ pavilion are also provided for your recreation. For some extra curricular fun we are just minutes from Top Golf and the RIM Shopping Center. Each morning, be sure to visit our hotel s complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and in the evening, join us in our community great room for complimentary beverages and hors d'oeuvres Tuesday - Thursday. We also have wireless Internet throughout the hotel, free of charge. As you plan your trip, we encourage you to explore our excellent rates and make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Nw-Colonnade Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing