We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #175 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed here while taking our kids to Fiesta Texas this week. We were very pleasantly surprised! We got the room for an awesome price, the rooms were very large, pool was great, staff was SUPER friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! My kids loved the waffels in the morning. It's a great hotel for Familes. We have already recommended it to friends and family and will be coming back next time we visit San Antonio!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasmom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 497 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

Right from the start it was a great experience. I made reservations online and right away had to call and change my checkout dates and the next day changed my checkin date. Pam(she was at the front desk) was great she handled everything and got me the days I needed. Thanks.The next person Edward was at the desk the day I checked in 1:00am. I got somewhat lost getting to the hotel (this was before gps was purchased a nessesity in San Antonio),Edward stayed with me over a halfhour and greeted us like good friends. Everybody there made our stay great, Cynthia handled the waffle bar which was great, Kevin and Gary in maintenance. Even the people I didn't get names on very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms were great and spacious, the pool was always in good shape even though it was abused by everyone considering the 102 and 103 degree wheather. Was my first time to Texas and they made it Great ,Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

This is a former Comfort Suites.
Some of the facilities could use updating,but overall decent place for the price.
Continental breakfast could use some more options,like fruit for instance.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The location is a little out of the way,but it was relatively quiet neighborhood.
Nice courtyard with a pool in the middle.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriCountryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I would agree with previous reviewer that location is difficult to find initially but worth the effort.
The property's owner has remodeled a former competitor's facility to create this one.
The large room was clean with comfortable beds and new carpeting. The bathroom had obviously been updated. There was no safe in our room but our friends had one in their room. Some of the furniture is quite dated but clean and functional.
(The car was not broken into although we left our golf clubs in there nightly for 5 nights.)
Breakfast was as expected from other reviews...with the waffles being a favorite. The breakfast room as well as the spacious lobby afforded views of the pool courtyard with it's nice landscaping.
The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. They were eager to help in any way..recommending restaurants and always printing out the maps to them for us.
The internet service was"down" in the internet room when we went to print our boarding passes, but they were happy to do that for us at the front desk.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamamamaDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

The rooms are very spacious, clean, nice decoration and very familiar. The breakfast is OK, not a lot of options but it's still good. They have friendly staff and nice location. It's a good option for staying.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lailil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

The room was big and somewhat clean BUT it had a very bad urine odor and there were roaches (small and large).  The worst part of our stay was that our vehicle was broken into.  Whether you stay at this hotel or any other other,  please be sure to take all of your valuables in the room with you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fleaflea821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

The hotel was a bit difficult to get to due to construction in the area, but once we arrived the lady at the front desk very graciously advised us on how to navigate out the back of the hotel which made it much simpler and provided access to everything you need nearby.

The rooms are much larger than your average lower end hotel room, had a microwave and refrigerator which were in great shape. The beds were comfortable with great pillows.

The hotel has outside corridors with and indoor feel, everything felt very secure.

We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank andreastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#153 of 358 in San Antonio
71 reviews
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing