We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #150 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

The rooms are very spacious, clean, nice decoration and very familiar. The breakfast is OK, not a lot of options but it's still good. They have friendly staff and nice location. It's a good option for staying.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lailil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    106
    62
    65
    61
See reviews for
239
72
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

The room was big and somewhat clean BUT it had a very bad urine odor and there were roaches (small and large).  The worst part of our stay was that our vehicle was broken into.  Whether you stay at this hotel or any other other,  please be sure to take all of your valuables in the room with you.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleaflea821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clute, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

The hotel was a bit difficult to get to due to construction in the area, but once we arrived the lady at the front desk very graciously advised us on how to navigate out the back of the hotel which made it much simpler and provided access to everything you need nearby.

The rooms are much larger than your average lower end hotel room, had a microwave and refrigerator which were in great shape. The beds were comfortable with great pillows.

The hotel has outside corridors with and indoor feel, everything felt very secure.

We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andreastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

Great hotel, very clean, nice friendly staff.

  • Liked — large clean rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jefallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND,TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

Had a great experience. The rooms are roomy and the pool was clean and the hot tub was warm, did not work, but, it was nice and relaxing anyway. We were 10 minutes away from just about everything. Lots of construciton, but, it was in a neighborhood area and Wal-Mart was three streets down from the hotel. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was good and kept the room very, very clean. The beds need to be replaced, but, overall, was a good experience. Breakfast was good. Good set up. Enough to get you on your way. The entry is very, very nice. Next time you book, book this place since all you will do is go to the downtown area. Don't forget to ask for Janica. Outstanding employee!!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TEXASGIRL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2006

Really bad location in the middle of new interchange contruction at the intersection of I10 and I410. The hotel locks the back gate forcing you onto a one way access road in front of the hotel, and an exploration of the neighborhood. It is difficult to get to and from the hotel even though it shows a good location on a map.

The hotel apparently caters to tourists and Katrina evacuees, I didn't see anyone that appeared to be in San Antonio on business while there for 5 days. The continental breakfast was average, bagels, pastries, and waffles. The hostess was helpful and personable. The front desk was useless the couple of times I needed assistance regardless of who was on duty.

The place is heavily wired for WiFi, I didn't have a PC with me so I didn't try it. However I did use the PC in the Business Center to check mail and it was very slow so I suspect WiFi will be slower yet. At least it is free.

Our room was clean, but worn. The carpet was clean with many holes, but needed shampooing badly. Walking across in stocking feet left your socks black. We had a refridgerator, but no knob to turn it on (thank God for multitools)! The closet door was just missing?! There were stains on the wall from the air conditioning unit apparently there for some time.

This is a hotel in decline, I assume maintenance is being deferred until the next remodel.

PS We were shown a smoking room by mistake, man they reek, don't they ever open a window?!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juanvaldez001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed three nights but we had some problems. The room was clean and was made up well. The lobby staff was nice and helpful but not too competent. On our second night there, we were awakened at 11:30pm by someone trying to come into our room. They had unlocked the door and if it had not been for the top latch, they would have entered. The desk clerk had given our room to someone else and had thought that we were in a different room. When we talked to the front desk about this on two separate occasions, they did not even say "sorry". The inner courtyard and pool was nice but the side entrances to the motel were broken causing us to feel a little insecure. One looked like it worked but pushing on the door opened it without a card key. The other door's lock was broken and hanging down. The sleeper sofa in the room was old and not too comfortable to sit on and it didn't look too clean. The motel manager was nice to our group and let us use a room for our meeting that was cooler than the lobby since the lobby was hot. The breakfast was good, especially the service. There is a lot of construction on Interstate 10 just in front of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan_Barker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#188 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#142 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Northwest Side
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
#146 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W. Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing