We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #169 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Generally Adequate”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a weekend trip. We checked in around midnight and left in the morning. Our needs were basic: a place to sleep and clean up, and this was generally met. Though located next to the highway, our room was all the way in the back and there was no disturbance from the highway or the pool. On the negative side, the shower head was leaking in different directions and wet the bathroom floor despite my efforts to contain it. There was a sign at breakfast to "please not take food outside the eating area," which I thought was unnecessarily stingy, especially given how basic the food was. What if my partner was sleeping in and I wanted to take some food back to the room for him?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yupiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    112
    70
    70
    68
See reviews for
257
81
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were greeted and served by Laura who made sure all was in order for our weekend stay. The room was clean, spacious, and pleasant to stay in. Even though there were dance and cheerleading groups on premises the place was very quiet to stay at. We enjoyed the breakfast they had to offer. Will definitely be coming back to this site.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for being our guest at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your stay. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. Thanks again!

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson Suites Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
2107381100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I just want to start by sayin that it was a great experience to stay at this hotel..the hospitality was excellent. David the employee at this hotel was a great person through him we reserve bunch of room. At the time of arrival he was present, which made the checking quick they had our room ready. The breakfast was good and staff very friendly

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bob2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for being our Guest at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your stay. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. Thanks again!

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson Suites Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
2107381100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

although we had a good experience with this hotel if we are ever in the San Antonio area again we would not stay here because of its location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Geust,
We are not happy to hear that. We hope that you would reconsider since we do value every guest. Though we cannot move our location, maybe we can compensate - let us know what would be fair. Thank you for staying.

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
2107381100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The staying at this hotel cost me $260.00 and for those $260.00 I got a room that smell like sewer, a burned carpet, a few roaches, dusty and sticky furniture, and a horrible attitude from the front desk person. Also the hotel is in horrible condition, is old and outdated, people take their dogs in and wile there is nothing wrong with a pet friendly hotel there were guest with dogs and this guess let their dog pee in the hall way, I informed two different font desk people about this and no one did anything about it I left and the hallway smell horrible and the stain was there. When I address my situation about the poor hygiene and the sewer smell in my room, the front desk clerk say she was going to take care of it, I was on vacation so I just ask her to call and let me know what we needed to do, I never got a call, when I got back to my room that night nothing was taken care, i spoke to a different person in the front desk and she tell me they were planing to move me to another room but I came back super late (I am sorry if I did not come back, I did not know I had to plan my vacation around your inconveniences). When I check out and the firs front desk agent (I know the name but I will not disclose it) whenever I was addressing my issues to the manager she interrupted when I say nobody call me the day before to informed me the situation of my room, her answer was, "like I say, I got really busy yesterday". I just couldn't believe the poor professionalism and the deplorable conditions of the facilities, bottom line this hotel was not worth $89 a night. I do not recommended this hotel to anyone. I also have pictures that I will love to post but the website is not allowing me post them, I guess is a good thing for the hotel, so they people wont see how nasty it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
Northwest Side
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
#126 of 355 in San Antonio
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing