We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The desk clerks went out of their way to help. The first...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #150 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    106
    62
    65
    61
See reviews for
239
72
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wylie
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This property is older, but clean and has a lovely Atrium around the swimming pool. Employees were friendly and helpful. Good location near two major freeways.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jolley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for being our guest at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Central. We appreciate the positive feedback about our hotel in your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. Also we would like you to know that we are currently upgrading each room to give you the best guest experience every time you visit.

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We tavel to the USA twice a year and Howard Johnson is usually our first choice, I can say yet again we were not disappointed. Check in & out was easy(friendy staff). This is a very pleasant hotel, with indoor facing rooms, overlooking a very nice swimming pool and small garden area. The breakfast room was well stocked and clean & tidy. The reception lobby is very nice, with comfy sofas a chandelier and lots of room to move luggage around. The room was very big, with air con AND a ceiling fan. Very easy to get access to the I10 and the 410 and get around. There is a Super Target, Dave & Busters, eateries all close by. All in all this was a very enjoyable stay and we would not hesitate to choose again if every back in San Antonio Tx or recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for being our guest at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Central. We appreciate the positive feedback about our hotel in your review. THAT WAS THE BEST OVERALL REVIEW WE HAVE EVER RECEIVED! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. We are always looking for ways to improve to provide a quality stay for our guests satisfaction. Thanks again for the great review.

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscadine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stay here with my job when I am in San Antonio. I always look forward to my stay here. The staff is great and the rooms are always clean and they are very nice. I would bring my family here if we are ever here on vacation .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for being a returning guest to the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Central. We appreciate the positive feedback about our hotel in your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. We are always looking for ways to improve so we can provide our guests with the most comfortable and pleasant experience while on vacation. Thanks Again for staying!

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#188 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#142 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Northwest Side
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
#146 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W. Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing