We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay - well worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #166 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We tavel to the USA twice a year and Howard Johnson is usually our first choice, I can say yet again we were not disappointed. Check in & out was easy(friendy staff). This is a very pleasant hotel, with indoor facing rooms, overlooking a very nice swimming pool and small garden area. The breakfast room was well stocked and clean & tidy. The reception lobby is very nice, with comfy sofas a chandelier and lots of room to move luggage around. The room was very big, with air con AND a ceiling fan. Very easy to get access to the I10 and the 410 and get around. There is a Super Target, Dave & Busters, eateries all close by. All in all this was a very enjoyable stay and we would not hesitate to choose again if every back in San Antonio Tx or recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for being our guest at the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Central. We appreciate the positive feedback about our hotel in your review. THAT WAS THE BEST OVERALL REVIEW WE HAVE EVER RECEIVED! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. We are always looking for ways to improve to provide a quality stay for our guests satisfaction. Thanks again for the great review.

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 513 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stay here with my job when I am in San Antonio. I always look forward to my stay here. The staff is great and the rooms are always clean and they are very nice. I would bring my family here if we are ever here on vacation .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for being a returning guest to the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Central. We appreciate the positive feedback about our hotel in your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. We are always looking for ways to improve so we can provide our guests with the most comfortable and pleasant experience while on vacation. Thanks Again for staying!

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Every time my family comes to San Antonio, we stay at this hotel. The staff is very nice and friendly. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the pool, breakfast room, gym and front lobby are well kept and organized. Always bring my pet, and there have never been any problems. The breakfast is ok. Also, it is well located, about 15 mins from both Six Flags and the Alamo. Basically, this hotel is quality at a low price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alvaro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for being a returning guest to the Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Central. We appreciate the positive feedback about our hotel in your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. Also we would like you to know that we are currently upgrading each room to give you the best guest experience everytime you visit.

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had family come in from out of town, wasn't looking into spending a lot of money for a hotel. So we booked Howard Johnson which was really cheap and it was worth staying there. Not comparing to a high value hotel but would recommend location if trying to save some money. Rooms were very large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a good review! We really appreciate it.
We love to hear back from Happy guest who enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Antonio. We will be more than happy to accommodate you to a complimentary upgraded room type. Thanks again for review!

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Howard Johnson Central San Antonio
6901 W Interstate 10
San Antonio, Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Room was really big, really smelly, and not very clean. Breakfast is basically tiny prepackaged cinnamon rolls and oatmeal packets. Fitness center was at least 90 degrees and only the bike sort of worked. Interior courtyard and pool area looked nice. Too many other hotels in the area for about the same price - stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitcharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I was not happy to hear your review of our hotel. Although you are entitled to your own opinion, I would like to formally apologize for the bad impression you had gotten from our hotel. I would like for you to reconsider staying at our hotel on your next trip to San Antonio. Our hotel is undergoing many upgrades, I hope we can change your idea about our hotel. Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve. Have a Good Day!

Sarah Stefano
Howard Johnson Suites Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
210-738-1100
hojosalessa@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Northwest Side
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
#210 of 357 in San Antonio
36 reviews
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
#126 of 357 in San Antonio
437 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio So...
#215 of 357 in San Antonio
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing