We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$268
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
$176
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$153
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
$149
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$242
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
$153
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
173
122
75
79
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
122
75
79
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflessuper targetbreakfast roomextended stayfresh towelslarge roomenjoyed my stayfree breakfastmicrowavecerealfreewaydryertexasclerkhousekeeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 529 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The hotel room was clean but with a reservation for 4 people the first day we had three towels and washcloths, the second day they only placed two towels in room and the third day we did not have cleaning service at all. We were very disappointed that after a long day, we came into our room with our dirty towels still on the floor, trash cans overflowing and our beds unmade. With no sympathy from management or reason our room was not cleaned, we would most likely will not stay here again. On a positive note, The room was very large and the pool area is nice and upkept very well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationtime67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We found the hotel friendly, very accomodating to our requests, great value for the price. The bed was a little firm but for someone without any problems it would be fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbunny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I've never had an issue staying at a HOJO, until now! The room they gave us was dirty. The floor had not been vacuumed, the microwave had napkins and food particulates in it, someone left their cooler in there, the linens were stained, the dresser was broken and scratched up, there were cobwebs on the ceiling, the phone was disgustingly dirty with button missing, the sink area was dirty, the bathroom floor and toilet were dirty, and the towel hanger was broken off the door.

We booked and paid online for a special rate. We booked a non-smoking room, and they gave us a smoking room. The lady at the front desk tried to tell us the room was non-smoking and that the last guest must have smoked in there. However, there were two matching glass ashtrays in the room! There was supposed to be wireless internet, and there was none!

When the attendant came to clean the room, the "manager" entered our room without acknowledging who he was and my sister went off on him. He looked like he just walked in off the street--no name tag, no uniform, nothing--and just had an utter disregard for me and my family. Needless to say, we made them give us a refund after the incident, and then they tried to rush us out of the room so they could give it to someone else!!!

We will be reporting the incident and location to the Better Business Bureau ASAP. Please spare yourself and do not stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHOally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

we really enjoyed staying at this facility.....it is within 10 minutes' drive of the San Antonio airport, the Riverwak and the Alamo ...and only 80 miles to the state capitol in Austin... a trip to Austin will make a nice side trip if you plan to visit San Antonio....
the hotel is clean and quiet, comfortable, very spacious rooms, wonderful staff, very helpful folks..there were a few minor issues in our room when we arrived, such as a lamp was not working, so they brought in a new one....and the room safe was locked when we arrived, but a call to the desk produced resolution in mere minutes...the lobby is decorated very attractively..the free breakfast was wonderful.....the room had everything you could ask for....microwave, refrigerator, iron and full size ironing board, hair dryer, desk and chair, two pillow couch for relaxing, of course television with plenty of stations to choose from....the housekeeping service was excellent...room was spotlessly cleaned each day.....the staff even provided complimentary toiletries for the item or two we had forgotten to pack...they really think of everything to make your stay accommodating...they even print out your boarding passes for you....what more could you want???? The price charged is more than fair....your hard-earned dollars are well spent at this facility.....you will be very close to all the major attractions in San Antonio...centrally located facility....if you want to shop, there is a mall right across the street..this is very convenient if you want to buy some food items to keep in the fridge in your room during your stay,,,don't hesitate to book your stay at this facility if your travels take you to San Antonio, TX....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa022109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Crappy room, too much late nite partying, breakfast is only crappy waffles, cereal, or toast. two days in a row milk waqs spoiled.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
Thank phred0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews