We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall...ok stay but would think twice about staying again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #150 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Spring, tx
1 review
“Overall...ok stay but would think twice about staying again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

The hotel room was clean but with a reservation for 4 people the first day we had three towels and washcloths, the second day they only placed two towels in room and the third day we did not have cleaning service at all. We were very disappointed that after a long day, we came into our room with our dirty towels still on the floor, trash cans overflowing and our beds unmade. With no sympathy from management or reason our room was not cleaned, we would most likely will not stay here again. On a positive note, The room was very large and the pool area is nice and upkept very well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationtime67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    106
    62
    65
    61
See reviews for
239
72
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

We found the hotel friendly, very accomodating to our requests, great value for the price. The bed was a little firm but for someone without any problems it would be fine.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbunny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

I've never had an issue staying at a HOJO, until now! The room they gave us was dirty. The floor had not been vacuumed, the microwave had napkins and food particulates in it, someone left their cooler in there, the linens were stained, the dresser was broken and scratched up, there were cobwebs on the ceiling, the phone was disgustingly dirty with button missing, the sink area was dirty, the bathroom floor and toilet were dirty, and the towel hanger was broken off the door.

We booked and paid online for a special rate. We booked a non-smoking room, and they gave us a smoking room. The lady at the front desk tried to tell us the room was non-smoking and that the last guest must have smoked in there. However, there were two matching glass ashtrays in the room! There was supposed to be wireless internet, and there was none!

When the attendant came to clean the room, the "manager" entered our room without acknowledging who he was and my sister went off on him. He looked like he just walked in off the street--no name tag, no uniform, nothing--and just had an utter disregard for me and my family. Needless to say, we made them give us a refund after the incident, and then they tried to rush us out of the room so they could give it to someone else!!!

We will be reporting the incident and location to the Better Business Bureau ASAP. Please spare yourself and do not stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHOally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

we really enjoyed staying at this facility.....it is within 10 minutes' drive of the San Antonio airport, the Riverwak and the Alamo ...and only 80 miles to the state capitol in Austin... a trip to Austin will make a nice side trip if you plan to visit San Antonio....
the hotel is clean and quiet, comfortable, very spacious rooms, wonderful staff, very helpful folks..there were a few minor issues in our room when we arrived, such as a lamp was not working, so they brought in a new one....and the room safe was locked when we arrived, but a call to the desk produced resolution in mere minutes...the lobby is decorated very attractively..the free breakfast was wonderful.....the room had everything you could ask for....microwave, refrigerator, iron and full size ironing board, hair dryer, desk and chair, two pillow couch for relaxing, of course television with plenty of stations to choose from....the housekeeping service was excellent...room was spotlessly cleaned each day.....the staff even provided complimentary toiletries for the item or two we had forgotten to pack...they really think of everything to make your stay accommodating...they even print out your boarding passes for you....what more could you want???? The price charged is more than fair....your hard-earned dollars are well spent at this facility.....you will be very close to all the major attractions in San Antonio...centrally located facility....if you want to shop, there is a mall right across the street..this is very convenient if you want to buy some food items to keep in the fridge in your room during your stay,,,don't hesitate to book your stay at this facility if your travels take you to San Antonio, TX....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa022109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Crappy room, too much late nite partying, breakfast is only crappy waffles, cereal, or toast. two days in a row milk waqs spoiled.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank phred0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, MS
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This hotel was okay. The room was pretty clean. My husband and I selected this hotel because we were traveling with pets. There is nothing fancy about this place. We did sleep very well though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Walking into this hotel there's a large circular staircase that gives the impression that it may have seen better days. It seems like its been stripped down to the bare essentials, but still seems clean and reasonably well kept.

Pros:
+ The inner courtyard and pool was well lit and maintained. I didn't go in myself but seemed like there were several families enjoying it.
+ Free breakfast in the morning. Simple (the standard belgian waffle, toast, cereal, fruit) but nice.
+ Clean (no mildew) bathtub and bathroom.
+ Free wi-fi.
+ Refrigerator and microwave, in-room safe (didn't use though)
+ Room had a seating area with a sofa and in general seemed larger than normal.
+ Laundry area, although I didn't use it.
+ Convenient access to I-10 and I-410.

Cons:
- The doors to the rooms were directly to the outside (facing the inner courtyard.) The photo of the hotel suggests an inner corridor.
- The fitness room was out of order.

Other notes:
* Room noise - being right next to I-10 you do get some noise although not as bad as I expected. I still was glad I had my ear plugs though.
* There was a business center, but I didn't look inside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goblazers78749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#188 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#142 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Northwest Side
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
Days Inn San Antonio Northwest
#146 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W. Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing