We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The 2 bdrm condo are great, but not the 1 bdrm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sierra Royale

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Royale
Ranked #311 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
A TripAdvisor Member
“The 2 bdrm condo are great, but not the 1 bdrm”
Reviewed June 25, 2003

We had reserved a 1 bdrm and when we arrived there were none so they upgraded us for free to a 2 bdrm 2 1/2 bath 2 story unit with a fold out couch. It was great. They are apartments w/ full kitchens stocked with all cooking/eating suplies, bars, W/D, and decent furnitures. The A/C worked great. Maid service was great (they even did our dishes) The mattress sagged a little and one of the balconies was unsafe, but for $75night and room for 6, we were thrilled. THe kids loved having thier own bedroom and bathroom and the washer and dryer were so nice to have.
We recomend it to everyone going to SA for a family vacation.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 27, 2003

THis hotel is horrible there was no air conditioning, the shower had mildu and the door was broken, the balcony had cracks, the springs on the futons were broken and so much more. Take My Advice and Do Not Stay Here!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2003

Talk about a rip off!! The beds were saggy. The a/c was nonexistent. A musty ordor was present. The only good thing was that room was spcious, but who want to stay in musty, smelly uncomfortable box!!! False adverstisement

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2002

I have been staying at the Sierra Royale once a year for two weeks since 1997. What was once the best place in San Antonio to stay 5 years ago is now a hotel on the verge of being condemned. The carpets are worn, the furniture old. The beds sag horribly. The bathrooms are moldy and dirty. The curtains are broken. The drywall in my bedroom was soaking wet due to a roof leak, it actually was soft to the touch and would bend when you pressed against it. Instead of fixing the wall, there remedy was to put a plant next th the bed where a nightstand would be to cover the area. Unfortunately, the plant hung halfway over the bed. The A/C leaked freon and had to be refilled 3 times during my stay (environment?).
I make reservations 1 year before I stay there. I confirm them at 6months, 1 month, and 1 week before arrival. Everything was fine until check-in when they could not find my reservation!
I hear improvements are comming. It's needed!!

Helpful?
8 Thank breakskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2002

My husband and I think this is the best place we have ever stayed in. Roomy, private, and very economical. No complaints about the condition of the property. We had a 2 story, 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 half bath unit. Since this was a combination business/pleasure trip, one bedroom was utilized as a temporary office. We checked to see if the owners had properties in other cities, but no such luck. We enjoyed our stay so much, we're planning on spending the Christmas holidays here.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2002

We had seven leaks in our ceiling (and we were on the bottom floor), and this was the second room they put us in. At least 5 other families we knew of had leaks, with no place to move them. The carpet actually had worn holes in it. The toilet seat was broken, the tiles in the tub were coming off, moldy, or just plain ugly. Great idea using an old apartment complex, but it needs MAJOR overhauling before being used.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 31, 2002

Absolutely no other place to stay in SA. Huge 2 br and 2.5
bath condo with a price that can't be beat.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Quality Inn Medical Center
Quality Inn Medical Center
#285 of 354 in San Antonio
29 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#189 of 354 in San Antonio
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Northwest Side
Red Roof Inn San Antonio West Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Royale

Property: Sierra Royale
Address: 6300 Rue Marielyne St, San Antonio, TX 78238-1647
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sierra Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Royale San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing