We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin La Cantera - not a fabulous resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Be warned...La Cantera is frequently compared to the Hyatt Hill Country, but it is not of the same caliber. The pool area, albeit nicely landscaped, is a series of 5 small pools with a 6th "adult only" pool. Consequently, it is PACKED with kids - and does not have enough lounge chairs to accommodate everyone. It also has one slide (which my kids did enjoy) that at times has a long line.

The rooms - most have VERY small balconies, without any type of chair (so if you want to enjoy any of the hill country views they advertise, you will be standing.) The bathrooms are also older/on the small side (nothing special.) The "heavenly beds" are nice (and are the only upside to the rooms.)

The food - extremely limited and disappointing menu at Brannon's (i.e. the family restaurant) and by the pool. I am not exaggerating - there are 4 or 5 entree choices, that's it. Brannon's does have a kids' buffet, with chicken strips, mac n' cheese, etc. which my kids enjoyed...but how many times can you eat a chicken caesar wrap (one of the few adult offerings!)

The service - we called for help with our bags the morning that we were checking out, and were told the wait was an hour (so we lugged them all down to the lobby ourselves.) We also had problems with our room reservation (even though we booked through the hotel directly) when we checked in.

If you go....the shuttle to Fiesta Texas is quick/very convenient. Also, be sure to request a room on the "3300" hallway, overlooking the pool (these rooms actually have a long, "shared" patio with 2 chaise lounges for each room.) Make sure you don't get a city view - you will overlook the parking lot or apartments!

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank 3_Kiddos_in_Tow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,386 - 3,392 of 3,501 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bryan, Texas
11
Reviewed July 17, 2006

My wife and I just spent three nights at the Westin La Cantera Resort and were very pleased with our stay. We arrived on a Wednesday about an hour before check-in time and our room was not ready but the clerk checked us in and asked for a cell phone number and promised to call as soon as the room was ready. We checked out the lobby and pool area and then decided to kill the time at the Shops at La Cantera which are just a short distance from the hotel. Long before we were finished shopping I got a call on my cell phone letting me know our room was ready as promised. We had left our bags with the bellman upon checking in and they arrived at our room within minutes after we got into the room. The room was a standard King room on the Hacienda Club floor which I got for being a Starwood Preferred Guest. The thing I like least about staying in most hotels is the cramped bathrooms. I was glad to find a roomy bathroom with a granite counter top and double sinks. The toilet was in a separate "water closet" and the tub had a double showerhead and a curved shower curtain which is nice and makes the tub/shower feel larger. There was also a separate vanity table and mirror outside the bathroom. Two bathrobes were provided, though we never used them. We had a nice view of the nearby golf course and access to the daily complimentary continental breakfast and evening reception provided for Starwood Preferred Guests. We spent most of Thursday and Friday at the adult pool which was somewhat secluded from the other pools and much quieter. The landscaping in the pool area is very nice with lots of flowing water in man-made rock creeks. The wait staff at the adult pool did a good job of making sure we had food and drinks when we wanted them. Large pool towels are provided by the hotel. On Friday night we made the twenty minute drive to downtown to eat on the Riverwalk which is a must for anyone visiting San Antonio. Checkout on Saturday morning was accomplished with no problems or billing errors. All in all we enjoyed the trip very much and will be back for another visit to the Westin La Cantera in San Antonio.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Just got back from a four night stay at the Westin La Cantera, and overall enjoyed our visit. Check- in was great, the staff was both friendly and competent, and our rooms were ready well before the 3:00pm check-in.
We booked two adjoining rooms, one for the kids and one for the parents, and we all had plenty of room. The breakfast buffet was very good, and we enjoyed walking around the grounds of the hotel, especially on the nature trail.
The pools were very crowded with lots of little kids, the joke became that they must give away a free night at the hotel whenever someone has a baby because there were so many newborns and really young children at the hotel. The adult pool was very nice, not crowded, and the pool staff worked really making sure everyone had enough to eat and drink.
The van shuttle made getting to both Fiesta Texas and the shops very easy, and although the drivers were very polite, I found it disappointing that so many of the guests ran to get on the van as soon as it arrived, totally disregarding me and the other guests who had been sitting on the benches and were already waiting for the van. Not the Texas hospitality I expected, nor a good lesson to teach all those kiddies...
Overall we enjoyed our stay, but after staying at the Westin Riverwalk in downtow San Antonio which was so nice, we expected more.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank everson420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My wife and daughters and I stayed at the Westin La Cantera hotel for three nights recently and although our stay was enjoyable I was less than impressed with the staff at the front desk and at the front door. When we pulled into the hotel the front entrance was jammed with cars waiting to be parked and the bell staff were confused and disorganized. After waiting several minutes we were able to pull the car in but then had to keep repeating our desire to use valet parking and our intent to check in before the staff responded. The front desk agents were not much better. It was about 4:30 PM and our room was not ready. I asked why the room was not ready and the agent seemed perplexed. I then asked when the room would be ready and he seemed even more perplexed. Finally one of his colleagues got involved and told us the room would be ready in half an hour. However, after an hour we were still waiting. When we finally got to our room we found our so-called hill view room actually looked out over a courtyard and the hills could only be viewed if one leaned over the railing of the small porch. The room itself was nice but could certainly use some renovation given the stains on the carpets. We went to the pools which were very nice and very kid friendly and then had dinner at one of the restaurants. The menu was somewhat limited and the food was average at best. The next day was better and the breakfast buffet was very nice. The only problem during the day was the valet parking service. We called down for our car 20 minutes before we left the room but it still took more than 30 minutes of waiting after we got downstairs to get it. I complained and was told that they were short staffed that day. Upon our return we encountered the same confusion and delays all without any apology. We went to the pool which was very enjoyable and the staff was wonderfully attentive. We had dinner at the poolside restaurant which was much better than the other more formal restaurants at the hotel. We ended up eating there for lunch and dinner the next day as well. The rest of our stay went well and the service within the hotel was wonderful. However, upon check out we encountered the same confusion at the front desk as we had when we had checked in. Fortunately I had called down for our car 45 minutes prior to our departure so our car was waiting for us. Overall, the hotel itself is very nice once you get by the parking staff at the entrance and the front desk.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank ToohothereinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Enid, Oklahoma
16
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My family of 4 recently stayed at the Westin La Cantera. The location and views are wonderful. The resort is a restfull place to spend some time. The hotel was only slightly above average and the cost including the hidden, undisclosed fees were well above average. The service was average at best. After spending several hours at Fiesta Texas you would expect to return to a cleaned room. Not so in our case. We had to call and request the room to be cleaned and fresh towels delivered. The hidden fee called a "resort fee" was disappointing. The fee is disclosed at check out. I was told the $10 per day was to cover coffee in room, USA Today and shuttle service. Even many of the budget hotels will provide coffee and a newspaper without additional charge or at least advising of the charge in advance. Tips were provided for the shuttle rides at the time of the service. Thus, you get to pay twice for the service. The options for coffee was limited. Either the small amount of coffee in the room{ that you pay for whether you use it or not} or a $3 cup of coffee in the lobby. The menu's at the various eating establishments were limited and somewhat overpriced for what was recieved. The stay had many good features, but could have been so much better if the resort would pay more attention to details and be up front and reasonable about cost.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed June 18, 2006

The hotel itself is nice, but I agree with many reviews about their terrible service. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a room with a better view, but it was not quite ready. We said fine, we are going to play golf anyways. The front desk person assured us our room would be ready upon return later that day. When we returned, the front desk person continously went to the back to check on things. We had to ask another person what was happening. She said they had given away that room and now they were trying to find us another one. The original person returned 45 minutes after the start of this and told us he had a room with a double. He then had to go back to the back room and try to find us a king room. We finally got to our room and saw we had a terrible view of the air condition on the roof! After complaining, they did provide us with a 50 dollar food credit and said they would move us the following day. They did follow through, but it took us constantly calling to see the status. They also "forgot" to put the credit on our bill. Housekeeping didn't come to clean room until 6 at night most of the days as well. Unfortunately, since we spent so much time at the front desk, we saw numerous people having similar problems with their reservations. They were giving out those $50 food credits like candy!! I am surprised that whatever probs they have had are not fixed by now. Beware of the service, and don't hesitate to complain to the manager--they're used to it.

Stayed: June 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My husband and I live in Austin and decided to drive the 90 miles to San Antonio for a long, relaxing weekend. The Westin turned out to be pefect.
Positives: Lovely hotel with great grounds for walking. Adult only pool was not crowded and the waiters come right to you. I never wanted for anything. Francesca's at Sunset, although pricey, was excellent. The best corn bread we've ever had. And try the sea bass...very good. The spa is excellent as well. We had great massages. Staff was friendly, helpful and abundant. The room was clean and large.

Negatives: We paid for the club level room, and although our view of the hill country was beautiful, I'm not sure the room was THAT much better than the regular priced rooms. We did have access to free cocktails from 5-7 pm, but the room was so crowded that we didn't have a place to sit down.
The kid pool seemed a bit small. We didn't bring our 4 year old, and I'm not sure I would. Honestly, if you have kids and are going to San Antonio, the Hyatt Hill Country is probably better.

However, if you're looking for a romantic, relaxing get away, the Westin is just great. The golf courses looked beautiful and we'll be bringing our clubs the next time we visit!

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank GAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,600 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,348 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#46 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $235 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing