We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at La Cantera. The hotel is very spread out and sits at the top of a hill giving you great views from the pool area. The adult pool was my favorite part of my stay. I enjoyed the peace and quiet around the pool without children. The service at the pool was awesome. For example, I was trying to open the pool umbrella to get some shade and had no idea how to get it up. Within seconds, a boy appeared to raise the umbrella. The room was spacious. Our view from the room was not the best, overlooking the roof. There is valet parking for overnight at $24 a night. If you want to save money you can park yourself, but be prepared to walk a ways to get to and from your car. We only had one problem but didn't notify the staff but the room next to us was smoking in a non-smoking property. The smoke was coming into our room. It wasn't horrible so we just went to bed. The shops at La Cantera are really close and was a great place to eat dinner. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the roof and has a view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanC0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent summer vacation experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with other tripadvisor travelers.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your guestroom, and I apologize for the “rooftop “view, our front desk would have happily helped you to move to another guestroom. As you mentioned we are a non-smoking property and do not allow smoking on our guestroom balconies either. I apologize that you had to endure the odor wafting into your guestroom. Our security team would have been more than happy to visit with your neighbor to end the smoking, so please do not hesitate to reach out to our management team if we can do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.

I’m glad you were able to enjoy the adult pool and that it was staffed to meet your needs. The pool has an amazing view of the Palmer Course

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,232)
There are newer reviews for La Cantera Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,053 - 2,059 of 3,237 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here one night while in San Antonio. The clerk at the front desk made us feel welcomed and got us to our room quickly. Our room at the Casitas and it was very nice. The bathroom was large and luxurious. There was a small table with chairs outside where we enjoyed a morning cup of coffee while looking at the trees. The two queen beds were quite comfortable and a ceiling fan in the room was a welcomed addition, I wish more hotels would put in ceiling fans. Some of the issues we had was the phone to call the front desk did not work so we used our own cell phones. As for the breakfast, we were surprised to pay almost $50 for two people to eat a buffet, the food was very good but for a buffet it seemed a little high and equivalent to what most hotels provide for free. The other issue was the self parking. I am not one to use valet parking so I used the self parking. It is quite a little trek from the parking lot to the lobby, not for the feeble. The signage is not the best so it is easy to get turned around trying to find the lobby especially when you arrive late at night like we did. Please do not let any of this put you off visiting this beautiful resort, It is very nice and we intend to visit again.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Casitas. Having a golf cart assigned to your room is a big plus to tr...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent summer vacation experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with other tripadvisor travelers.

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the entire resort for your experience with our breakfast buffet. The quality of our food is very important to us and I have shared your thoughts with our culinary team so they can address this area that fell short during your visit.

I appreciated you awarding 5 stars for our service we strive to provide warm and authentic hospitality to each guest and I am proud that our team delivered that to you.

The Casitas are one of our hidden jewels; they offer our guests the opportunity to have a “home like” experience, while enjoying the benefits of a full-service resort.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. It's spacious and the area is gorgeous. The pool area is nice and is a lot of fun for the kids. The rooms are very spacious which is very nice for families. You can stay in the main hotel or in a cabana located on the grounds but farther off by the golf course. We opted for a private cabana with a small pool that is shared amongst 5-10 other cabanas. You're given a private golf cart to get back as forth from the main hotel and parking lot. We enjoyed this privacy quite a bit but next time we will stay inside the hotel so we can be closer to the main pool and restaurants. Loved the location of this hotel. It's literally 5-10 minutes away from a huge mall that is awesome! And for the kids it's only 10 minutes from SeaWorld and 5 minutes from Fiesta Texas. Can't beat this hotel. It's wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mygoldenticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent La Cantera Hill Country Resort visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other tripadvisor travelers.

I was thrilled to read that you had a great experience staying in one of our Casitas. They are an incredible addition to the resort, close to all of the activity of the resort, but private and secluded. The added space is really perfect for families who need a little extra room and the golf cart is a great way to see and get around the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful location, kid friendly, and laid back guests in luxury surroundings. What more could you ask for?? I didn't even know about the kids' club or the junior golf lessons (he wants to go back for both). The poolside food service, ease of accessibility to our room, and the other guests with kids helped me relax much more, even as a solo parent. Room was fabulous (king). Plenty of room, great bathroom (separate toilet with door), and coffee available in room and also available at a small coffee shop on premises. Breakfast caters to kids, too, and was included with the AAA special I booked. btw, I think that $179 for the night is a great value!!

Room Tip: Ask for room access to the jacuzzi to save yourself lots of stairs if you want to get to and from th...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelseagirl77008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

I am thrilled and humbled with your 5 star review of your recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other tripadvisor travelers.

I was thrilled to read that your family had such a great visit! We’d love to have you back for our junior golf camps, our PGA team is highly skilled in working with “up and coming” golfers of all ages!

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I hesitate to give this resort only 3 stars, as not everything is the hotel's fault, but in the end I give our visit a grade of "B-/C+", so...

First, here's the good... the room was nice (we were on the concierge level, which was the 7th Floor Club level) and we had a nice view. The adult pool was fairly quiet and the attendants were around often and provided great service. We also found the front desk and valet attendants very attentive.

Here's the bad... kids. Lots of them and not very many well-behaved. Not the resort's fault, but as a guest, I would have wanted a warning that there would be little monsters everywhere during the summer. The real problem, in my opinion, were the parents. I guess the parents that could afford the concierge level probably had nannies that were on vacation and they simply had no idea how to parent their own kids, but I digress.... Just expect a lot of screaming and running down the halls at all hours, along with the little raccoons grabbing all of the food during breakfast and happy hour.

The other issues that we found were that out of 4 nights, we had to call for housekeeping after 5pm on 3 of the nights and that the concierge staff on the club level appeared to have very little training. We tried to use them to book both spa appointments and wine tours, but they really had no idea what they were doing or what to do.

I know, I know, a little snobby, but at $250/nt + resort fees & tax, I expected a little more on the items that the hotel could control.

Would I stay here again? Probably. Just not during the summer and during any typical school vacations.

Room Tip: Bring artillery to deal with the many children.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent summer vacation experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with other tripadvisor travelers.

No excuses, we failed to meet your expectations on several levels and we failed to deliver the excellent service and memorable getaway we are known for.

I have alerted our housekeeping and concierge supervisors with details from your review. Rest assured our staff will be given additional training to ensure that your experience is never repeated.

I apologize for the noise you experienced in the guestroom hallways. The resort is filled with families throughout the summer and sometimes our younger guests can be quite exuberant.
I have shared your comments with our security team, who regularly patrol the hallways and public areas for their thoughts on how we can reduce the noise and the number of unsupervised children running through the resort hallways.

For a more “adult” experience, you might consider visiting us over a weekend during the school year, when fewer families are traveling. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your guestroom and the view and that the adult pool was well staffed to meet your needs.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, charming ambience and a very convenient location, as it is a few blocs from La Cantera outdoor shopping mall, and about a mile from The Rim, which has shops and a movie theater as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pilivds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

I am thrilled and humbled with your generous 5 star review of your recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other tripadvisor travelers.

While the resort is somewhat secluded, it is minutes away from the area's high end shopping at the Shops at La Cantera, The Rim and of course the amazing IMAX 3D theater! Am glad you were able to enjoy the best of both worlds!

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The staff at this site is incredible-customer service at its best! Beautiful grounds, delicious food, and comfortable rooms made our stay the best! I would definitely stay here again. This was a fun "get-away" place to stay.

Room Tip: Great shuttle service to shops.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCR_PR_Director, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

I am thrilled and humbled with your amazing 5 star review of your recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other tripadvisor travelers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Melody Goeken, director of public relations
mgoeken@destinationhotels.com
210-558-2328

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,858 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
1,965 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,523 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $200 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing