We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations/Just okay food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Wylie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great accommodations/Just okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The stay was great but the restaurants were lacking on food prep. The salads were a terrible mix of dandelion instead of iceberg lettuce and was at room temp. Steaks were the toughest all round screaming cheapest cuts. Vegetable mix was under cooked and needed steaming longer. The bread appetizer was very stale. Had a better meal at the Saltgrass Steakhouse.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Please accept our apologies that your dining experience was not to your liking. We will share your feedback with the chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    629
    283
    152
    98
See reviews for
824
587
39
897
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Extended family of 6 came for weekend getaway during Thanksgiving. Overall, a good experience but the hotel seemed off with limited staff & those there could not answer a few basic questions about where to eat at 2:30 in the afternoon. We arrived late from a long drive and had to find a spot to eat ourselves. Once in the restaurant service & food were great! Sarah took great care of us later while we ate snacks and watched football.
Families take note- hotel advertises a heated pool. It may be slightly heated but definitely no swimming. No indoor pool either. We were disappointed.
On the plus side rooms are comfortable, workout facility (while hard to find) amazing and we loved the off road nature trail. It was nice to be outside the city but close enough to visit the Riverwalk without much driving.

Room Tip: We booked the family room- a large room with 2 doubles and a pullout. The pullout bed was awful as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bish330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that the pool wasn't warm enough for swimming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights for a legal conference. The conference facilities were very nice and the area is huge!
This is a huge hotel. I had a room overlooking the pool, with the golf course and Texas hill country in the background. Room was very nice, bathroom was big and it had a small walk out balcony which was nice. This resort would be awesome for a family get ww any time of year. Lots of restaurants and attractions close by, hotel has a free shuttle to Fiesta Texas.
I had room service for breakfast and the food was really good, which is not always the case with room service. I was very impressed by the guest services at this hotel.
Really enjoyed it here for business and I would def like to bring the family here! HIGHLY recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you do not want to be on the River Walk but would prefer a resort style vacation near by,
La Cantera is a great choice. You are in the hill country and right next door to 2 wonderful golf courses, an amazing theme-thrill ride park Fiesta 6 Flags and 2 BIG shopping Malls, and an attentive and fun Kid's Club. The nature trail and outside spaces were lovely.
My DH said the bed was the most comfortable of any place we have stayed, and he would know!
They have several lovely pools complete with water slide, and very nice scenery. They also have an extensive spa. The dining options include a pleasant bar, café, full service casual restaurant and the lovely Francesca's At Sunset which was likely the finest overall dining experience I have ever experienced in the US.
Seeing them decorate for the Holidays was an added bonus and made me want to stay longer.

Room Tip: Can ask for a nice view, or upper floor but the views seem to be all around as it is on top of a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacalyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We really appreciate the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

On holiday in Texas from Scotland, stayed here to play the golf course. Wonderful setting but had to wait 10 minutes to check in. We had driven from Houston so were tired and we could have done without the wait.
But the rooms were good as was the ambiance of the hotel was excellent.
Enjoyed the La Cantera golf course.

I found the staff of the hotel were by and large very good. Especially the bar staff in the main bar (very good range of Scotch whisky which made me feel at home) and the drivers of the shuttle buses. All were pleasant and very helpful.

All in all I think just by tightening up on a few things this could be one of the worlds great hotels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We apologize that you had to wait at check in and hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My family and I had a terrific stay at this resort. Our room was nice, the facility was spacious and clean, and the staff were prompt, courteous, and attentive. I'd highly recommend this location to anyone seeking a quiet, getaway-type vacation away from the hustle and bustle. Don't forget to try the hiking trail!

SPG Members be advised: This property is leaving the Starwood brand on December 11, 2013. Use your Starpoints here while you can!

Kudos to Alejandro at Brannon's Cafe for excellent customer service, and the entire catering team for a delicious thanksgiving meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so glad to know your stay was a success and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited the Westin over the Columbus Day weekend. Our trip was so relaxing. We went with another family who had been before. The kids were so excited to go to the Kid's Club! We did the Parents Night Out one night which included art and craft, smores, feeding the fish, dinner and movie. The kids didn't want to leave when we picked them up. They woke up the next morning at 7am wanting to go back down to the Kid's Club. The Kid's Club leader, Jenica, took very good care of our kids and made their time fun. She has a great personality which made the kids keep wanting to come back!

We also enjoyed the beautiful hotel and amenities!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We will be sure to let Jenica know how happy your kids were!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing