We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HUGE property, Beautiful pools, great for a family vacation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“HUGE property, Beautiful pools, great for a family vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here while attending a business conference that was being held at this hotel. This is a huge beautiful resort property. If you like that sort of thing, you will love this place. Everything was absolutely gorgeous. The lobby, the bars, the restaurants and especially the pools were pristine. They even had an adults-only pool, a spa, a nature trail, tennis courts, kids activities… it goes on and on and on. I could see my family vacationing here. There’s stuff for kids to do, shopping for mom and golf for dad.

I love SPG and this property was really nice but it wasn’t for me for a few reasons.

Reason #1 it is very expensive and I’m not sure you really get what you pay for. If I were paying so much for a room, it would be at a W because at a W the price reflects the level of service. Here, not so much. When I ordered room service I asked if the empanadas were vegan. They transferred me to the kitchen to ask the cook. He said “Do you want it vegan or vegetarian?” I very much so got the impression that he would tell me what I wanted to hear, regardless of whether it was true or not. They couldn’t give me a definitive answer so I decided to order something else. The kitchen staff couldn’t transfer my call back to whoever needed to take the order so I had to call back and start all over. I finally placed my order and asked for a side of mayo. They brought ketchup instead, and then reluctantly agreed to bring mayo which I got 20 minutes later once the food was cold. Not a vacation-ruiner, but not very good service given what you’re paying. Also, there was only one robe in the room, although there were two beds. When I called and asked for another robe they insisted it was in the closet which it was not.

Reason #2 that I disliked this place is because it is huge and I felt it was in the middle of no where. It’s essentially a man made destination. There are free hotel shuttles to local attractions (golf, outlet malls & six flags) which is nice, and some of the drivers will even be kind enough to take you to the nearby Chevron convenience store if need be. If these things don’t interest you, stay on the river walk instead as there is much more to do. The walk to my room was also exceptionally long. Like literally a ten minute walk from my room to the ballrooms where the conference was!

Reason #3 is that there is no nightlife at this Westin. I prefer to mingle with locals so although it’s a fantastic hotel, this was just not for me. Regardless, I had a nice time as I was there on business and knew what I was getting into.

Room Tip: Stay in 1 of the 11 casitas and you will be given a golf cart to get around. The place really is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseysl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind words about the resort. We apologize for the service issues you had when ordering in-room dining. We are sorry that the resort setting was not to your taste. When you treat yourself to a stay at The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort, you should experience relaxing comfort and delight in all of our amenities. From our championship golf courses to the spa, from Francesca’s at Sunset to our five swimming pools, as well as our array of complimentary resort activities, every feature of the property has been designed to offer the utmost relaxation and satisfaction for our guests. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t provide the kind of value you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    629
    283
    152
    98
See reviews for
824
587
39
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The retaurant attempts to be top notch but it is mediocre in quality and very overpriced. We had to listen to bad children acting up the whole meal and people in all manner of casual attire were there. Not worth the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dwinningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We apologize that your visit to our restaurant didn't provide the value you were looking for and are sorry that other guests were disruptive. We hope you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The property is beautiful with lovely grounds and pools. Enjoyed an evening stroll in the moonlight. The hilltop location provides nice views. The staff is warm and welcoming. Handy market for quick bites and misc. items. However I stayed in a room on the first level near the spa and elevator where loud groups would collect. A bit awkward to be in the bath and feel like people from the hall are right in the room. Also could easily hear my neighbor through the connecting door. Noises impacted sleep quality. Higher floor away from elevator should be better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FillMyPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We apologize that the noise from other guests disturbed you but are delighted to know that your stay was still a success. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yeah, you may find some nice hotels in San Antonio by the river in downtown, but if you want to combine your shopping with a place that has a Texan atmosphere with Mexican roots in a great fashion, The Westin La Cantera is the place to stay. Beautiful buildings surrounded by the golf course, a splendid view, trails to pleasently walk through, several pools and a gorgeous lobby to read the news, have some coffee or a lemonade. A well thought cousine for either breakfast, lunch or dinner. Corteous personnel. Only one caveat: be sure you will use all the services and facilities comprised by the "resort charges".

Room Tip: The Casitas Village for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gchjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have dined at this restaurant several times and it's very good. The view is nice, the entre offerings are always a bit unusual along with some of the more normal choices. The chef goes out of his way.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed Francesca's at Sunset and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great view of San Antonio (if your facing the city) and awesome hill country location. Be prepared for the kidos and chair hogs though (rise and shine early if you want a chair by the pool).
Overall a beautiful place. Will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel only 1 night and we wished we had stayed longer. Our room was extremely comfortable, the room service was very nice and the restaurant was very nice as well.

I had some business meetings to attend, but the shuttle allowed my wife to be able to go to the mall to shop at her leisure.

I also loved having the option of either valet parking for a fee or self parking for free since I generally travel with a laptop and other business related items that I generally like to leave in the vehicle if I park it myself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing