We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“talk about excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed with the in laws fri-sun in a Jr ste. Small but great view!! Then the in-laws left so I had 2nd reservation for smaller 1 bedroom. I went to front desk to ask them to hold our luggage and to ask where my husband and son could go until the the room was ready. because summer service representative first tried to get us in the room we were already in but she couldn't do that because someone else was checking into our room. She continued to look and completely surprised me when she suggested a casita suite. I ask her how much of an upgrade it would be. She checked her computer and surprised me by saying it was complimentary and that we wouldn't have to pay for it. she upgraded us to the handicap casita suite. we had a front door a few of the private pool and spa and even had our very own golf cart. We booked our stay using Starwood points but never did I imagine that we would receive customer service beyond our expectations. My only complaint about our stay there is that none of the rooms have a kitchen area. In that regard this is a true hotel. Hours casita did have a mini fridge.we golfed a few rounds and fell in love with the views. If you've been thinking about golfing or if you are already a golfer do not miss tee time.

Room Tip: Would hurt to ask for a room upgrade. Their customer service is so excellent that you just might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,450 - 2,456 of 3,501 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you make room requests known as this is a very large sprawling resort with rooms in two different sections. Joann, Concierge, was extremely helpful in turning around a disappointment into a delightful stay. It is very evident that the staff want your visit to be a positive memorable experience. If you are eligible, I recommend booking the SPG Club floor, very nice lounge with daily continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. Mary and Alejandra at Club lounge attentive, professional and helpful. The pool area is great, we spent the entire time with grandchidren around the pool. Pool staff frequently check with you for any requests food/drinks...Cody very attentive. Highly recommend Brennan's restaurant -on site, you can sit outside or inside and have an excellent meal without leaving the pool area as an option to poolside eats. We will return to this resort!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We really appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the La Cantera Resort for 4 nights in mid-August for a last getaway. We had very nice corner rooms on the Hacienda Club level. With 3 kids in tow, we always get them their own room. I have to say, the best thing about this property is the staff. Every request was met with a gracious smile.

The Hacienda Club was a step up from what I remember our room being the last visit a few years ago. However, the bathroom is still just a standard one with combined shower/tub. There are 2 sinks but the vanity is so small there should really only be one. I think the main difference is it is much quieter on this top floor. The furnishings were nice and everything was clean.

The club level offers a continental breakfast in the morning and snacks (cookies) in the afternoon. In the evening there was a hot appetizer and veggie & cheese tray. Note to those with tiny plates piled high: this is an appetizer, not a dinner presentation :) I don't think I have experienced a club level that charges for beer and wine, but Westin does. There are complimentary soft drinks and bottled water, but several times the water was empty and we had to call for refills. Two days there were no napkins or plates for the afternoon cookies, so we had to call about that also. There was a desk for a concierge, but we rarely saw anyone on this floor that could offer assistance.

The property is lovely, but the pool area is seriously undersized for a property this size. We ate lunch while kids 8 and 13 tried to swim. They came back in 20 minutes wanting to leave because it was so crowded all you could do was stand around in the water. There were absolutely no lounge chairs available on Saturday all day. Sunday afternoon was better after most of the guests had checked out.

We ate at Brannon’s Café for breakfast, lunch and dinner and enjoyed all our meals. The servers were efficient and friendly and made you want to go back.

I did visit the spa for a massage. It was not the best spa I have seen, it was pretty basic. The ladies’ locker room was sparse, at best. I prefer separate lounge areas for men and women, which the Westin does not have.

The location is great if you are going to Fiesta Texas or Sea World. There is shopping and dining at the nearby mall with a free shuttle from the hotel. Construction on area freeways makes travel at certain times of the day very slow.

Room Tip: We had 7222 and 7224 and they were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for the nice review and for taking the time to share your feedback. For future reference, the resort offers five pools, including one for adults only. We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful property with a beautiful view but staff needs some training. When we pulled up there was no valet visible to help with our bags. We started loading them on a cart by ourselves. A valet did show up and apologized for not being there, OK Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall though it just seemed like there was no management around. For instance there were used cocktail glasses in the chairs out around the fish pond when we arrived and I noticed them for the next two days still sitting there. I would think that with a property this nice that the GM or AGM would walk the property at least once a day to look for things like this. The concierge was in the lobby but was not walking around greeting/helping guests. I noticed her touching up her make up at the desk (not professional). The other thing that bothered me was that they were washing our glasses in the bathroom sink and putting them back. I know this because when I asked the housekeeper for some glasses she didn't have any and there didn't appear to be a place for them on her cart. When we came back to the room right after the cleaning there was still steam on the inside of the glasses. They should have been sent down to be run through the dishwasher at the proper heat. I believe this is a health code violation. If management would pay attention to training and correcting a few minor details this would be an exceptional resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ButtersFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you experienced anything less than an immaculate room. We will share your concerns with the housekeeping team immediately and make sure that they are addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a nice resort to stay and just play on the property for a couple of day. The staff and the facilities were all nice. I really enjoyed the Adult only pool. There are 5 other pools so the kids had plenty of room to play and spread out even on such a packed weekend as Labor Day weekend. The staff was very helpful and there are a lot of stores and restaurants in the area as well. I did not give the property 5 stars because I actually changed rooms a couple of times and each room I was in seemed like they had not been dusted properly in awhile. However, once I brought this to the managements attention they were quick at getting the problem resolved.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort, provides breathtaking views of the hill country and downtown. Our lavish hilltop retreat features 508 spacious guest rooms, including more than 25 suites and 38 uniquely appointed rooms in an exclusive Casita Village. The resort also features six pools, three hot tubs, 36 holes of golf, unique dining, the spacious WestinWORKOUT® Gym, luxurious spa services, tennis courts and a kids club.
This hotel locates at Texas Hill country with beautiful views. The staff are very friendly. It was a great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautiful resort with excellent customer service. We have done a number of conferences here in 2013 and have been very impresssed. Lovely golf course, pools, and hiking trails on the property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are so glad to know that your events have been successful. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,600 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,348 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#46 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $235 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing