We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort, provides breathtaking views of the hill country and downtown. Our lavish hilltop retreat features 508 spacious guest rooms, including more than 25 suites and 38 uniquely appointed rooms in an exclusive Casita Village. The resort also features six pools, three hot tubs, 36 holes of golf, unique dining, the spacious WestinWORKOUT® Gym, luxurious spa services, tennis courts and a kids club.
This hotel locates at Texas Hill country with beautiful views. The staff are very friendly. It was a great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    629
    283
    152
    98
See reviews for
824
587
39
897
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautiful resort with excellent customer service. We have done a number of conferences here in 2013 and have been very impresssed. Lovely golf course, pools, and hiking trails on the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so glad to know that your events have been successful. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic location, beautiful property, great staff. The restaurants are good, the views are spectacular. Our (4) young children loved the kids club and activities, the staff was very good.

The pool and water activities disappoint, especially compared to central Texas Hyatt and JW properties. The well intentioned wet/inflatable area on the tennis court is an oven for parents. Westin needs to invest and add a new water park/lazy river to keep up.

Rooms were ok but smallish and have thin walls.

Will go again as I am SPG Gold, but prefer the other properties mentioned.

Helpful?
Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendations on the water park features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family and I have been getting into the habit of staying at Westin resorts and we love the luxury feel and reasonable costs of all the Westin resorts. The pool area at La Cantera is probably the most impressive of all the resorts I've visited. The nature trail is definitely a bonus. It's location in the hills above San Antonio is breathtaking! If I'm ever back in San Antonio I will definitely be back to stay at La Cantera.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room on one of the higher floors. The view is worth it. Avoid staying on the floor belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightSided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We love the Nature Trail too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was recently at LA CANTERA RESORT for two nights with my sister. The resort is very nice and projects to have great amenities to include security. After all to enter the resort , you must first check in with the security guard at the entrance of the resort and give your reservation last name and /or room number .
AS most women who support retail, we shopped until we dropped at La Cantera Mall and at the Rim and spent a great deal of money and time shopping.
Upon returning to the resort and self parking our vehicle down below to get to our room in the Casitas section of the resort, we were so tired that we decided to leaves our shopping bags in the car overnight. We felt confident that our things would be safe at the resort. Note: nothing was left in plain sight(no hanging bags , etc). I drive a suburban with an alarm and dark tinted windows.
We woke up and discovered that our car had been broken into some time in the evening while we slept. all of our belongings had been taken from the back end of the suburban only. it was a quick, sleek job , leaving no sign of any thing. no glass was broken; the hatchback glass compartment had been tampered with enough to pry open the car. Unbelievable!! i filed a police report and was told by La Cantera Security that at that point there was absolutely nothing they could do once the case was in the hands of law enforcement. It was all handled very poorly on the hotel's part.
Very disappointing for such a fine, upscale resort in north San Antonio. Shoppers BEWARE!!! Do not leave any personal effects behind in your automobiles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happyhoppytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family and my brother's family took my parents here for their 50th Wedding Anniversary. I called ahead and spoke with the concierge to give them advance notice. They arranged dinner in a private dining area for ten on a busy holiday weekend, had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in their room. Amazingly attentive. The rooms are absolutely beautiful with the best linens. 5 Stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Came here for the Labor Day weekend, prices are great, food is good and they do what they say that's what makes the difference. I haven't finished up my trip I have 2 days left and having a great time. If anything goes wrong I will follow up and right about it. All I can say about this hotel is it's great and affordable their room service menu is well priced not red oculus like the competition. And service is very prompt. So if coming to SA try it out I found great deals on cheapoair.com

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlcmna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing