We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We've stayed twice, both times in the Casita Village area of the resort, and both times over the Memorial day weekend (2011 & 2012). We absolutely love this place for the beauty, the activities, the pool, the grounds, the s'mores, the movies on the lawn, the restaurants. It's wholesome family fun. The resort was utterly packed both times we stayed but the service was always fast at check in and check out. If you stay in the Casita Village it's away from the fast paced area of the resort and down on a quiet golf course area. They provide a golf cart for your use during your stay and you get a bigger room that is very quiet and very private feeling, plus a smaller and much more private pool to use. This is good since the main pool is so crowded we never could find a chair to use. It is pricy, but staying in the Casitas is really the best of both worlds. My son loved the pools and especially loved the video game room at the main resort bldg. I like that there's a Starbucks on site and a shuttle over to the La Cantera Mall and to Six Flags. We highly recommend this resort for families.

Room Tip: If you like a bit of a quieter experience, try the Casita Village area. The rooms are bigger too an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,367 - 2,373 of 3,380 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin La Cantera for 6 days for. Conference. The hotel is very nice. The pool are is great and would be very good for kids. The adult pool is nice but the service for drinks was terrible. We waited an average of 30 min for our drinks after we ordered. We went to have dinner at Brannon's cafe and literally waited almost 2 hours for our food. We complained multiple time and even told them we were going to leave. The manager never even made an effort to make it right. She appolagized and that was it. There was one other table in the restaurant at the time! I was there for work and did not rent a car. I was so unhappy with the service I received at the bars and restaurants that I do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vrswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Please accept our apologies that the food and beverage service was slow during your stay. We would appreciate a chance to discuss your experience. Please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to talk about it further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Amazing service by the pool! Mackenzie our waitress was fantastic! She was great above excellence. I will definitely come back and visit this resort again. The view at the adult pool was incredible. All service was good and the rooms were clean

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybaby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful views. The staff were quick & friendly. The room was spotless. The hotel was very family friendly without being overrun by kids. I know sounds weird but easiest hotel TV to use & Showtime included. The beds were 'heavenly' as was the spa bathroom. The family friendly restaurant Brannon's had good food & a higher end kids menu not just fingers & fries. Location is center--- down the street from 6 flags & 20 minutes each way from Seaworld & Riverwalk. Worth few extra dollars you won't be sorry. Finally, they have a great service to rent sneakers & gym clothes for $5 so no need to schlep.

Room Tip: ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went for a day to celebrate granddaughter's 13th birthday with her friends. Pool loungers were dirty, "cup" of water was $3.75!!!! Not even a bottle!! I thought that was crappy. Pool sign stated no outside coolers. Dang, might as well drink water from the faucet! Stay thirsty my friends, stay thirsty! :)
Otherwise, everything was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t provide the kind of value you were looking for, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please contact the General Manager directly at 210.558.6500.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good: Most of the staff is awesome! Welcoming, helpful, courteous, and professional.
Bad: Front desk staff needs some work; young and inexperienced, easily flustered. Housekeeping staff? Wouldn't know. Didn't see them for THREE DAYS! Which leads me to...
Ugly: For a hotel of this caliber, there should not be peeling wallpaper in the bathroom or mold around the handrail in the tub, nor a champagne glass with a half-eaten strawberry or two-day old beer glass left around. And if the housekeeping carts are going to be on my floor ALL DAY, they need to clean my room...and that doesn't mean just make the bed.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Citadel, make sure you get a room away from the elevators. That's the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Please accept our apologies that your room was anything less than immaculate during your stay. We will work with the Housekeeping Team to improve the situation. In the meantime, please call the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Westin La Cantera is a great place for kids and adults. Great pool area, with a water slide for kids (and adults). Golf course looks good. The club floor was very nice and staffed by helpful hotel employees. Only drawback, restaurant food was average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,276 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $180 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing