We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for about four days. Service was excellent and food was very good ,from the breakfast buffet downstairs to the dinners meals out on the terrace. The rooms were spacious and clean. Played the Palmer course which was very challenging ,so bring extra golf balls

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Progolfer3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thanks for the great review (and sorry about the golf balls!). We hope you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,448 - 2,454 of 3,382 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I needed to be in San Antonio for a job interview and booked this hotel because of it's location on the northwest side of town and because there were things for my wife and 3-yr old to do the day I wasn't going to be with them. All I can say is it was truly a first class experience. The staff - to a person - was friendly from the moment we arrived until the day we left. I was always pleasantly greeted when passing any member of the staff...it was impressive to see that.

First, the location was perfect for what we needed. It's a drive to the river walk (we didn't go there), but we just wanted to relax. It was about a 30 min drive to Sea World and Six Flags is pretty much right across from the property. There is a large outdoor mall (The Shops at La Cantera) also nearby (the hotel offers a shuttle if you need it). I don't golf, but there are several golf courses in the area. If you're looking for a quite get-away in the hill country, look no further. There is a nature trail that loops the property that my son and I walked the first day we were there and I didn't see another person the whole time.

Second, being at the Westin was great if you have kids. Awesome kid pool with a nice slide and sort of a lazy river. My son is 3 and enjoyed it all. There's also an adult-only pool that's pretty secluded. But back to the kids...they have an Adventure area that had 3 large inflatables - bouncy castly, huge slide and one with water in it. My wife and I even enjoyed a dinner at one of the hotel restaurants while he was in their Kid's Zone program (very reasonably priced and discounted if you are dining at the hotel). While we were at dinner he made smores by the pool. When we picked him up they were watching a movie out on the lawn and eating popcorn - it was awesome! He didn't want to come back with us!

As far as the hotel itself and the rooms, there were what you would expect for this type of hotel. The only bed options are one king or two doubles, so we ended up booking their cheapest double room; however, we were upgraded to a room with a pool view once we checked in. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was nice. I used the gym one morning and it was very good for a hotel gym - and open 24 hrs, which is nice.

Overall, we had one of the best stays at a hotel that we've had in a very long time. Thanks to all the friendly staff! We will definatley be coming back!

Room Tip: If you're a Starwood member and it's not too busy, you can probably get an upgrade. We got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlf0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

It is great to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. Good luck on your job search, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The two golf courses here are great, and the hotel is spectacular. Very good customer service from check-in to the guys out front to the chef who called us twice after a less than fresh salad. Wow. Nice workout facilities, and they provide workout wear and tennis for $5 during your stay. Really a grand place, with a wine tasting going on in the lounge twice during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was here for a conference, so I did not have a lot of down time. When I did, I went on the hiking trail, which is about a mile long. The pools were beautiful, but there is no indoor pool (or hot tub) and the weather was not great so I did not get to use them. The food was great. The hotel is about a 1/2 from the Riverwalk and there's nothing much around it other than Six Flags and a mall, both of which are a short drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLFabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. For future reference, our shuttle can take you to the Shops at La Cantera and all the surrounding things to do; just ask, and we'll be happy to give you recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our company held our annual distributor conference at the Westin LaCantera in 2013 and our customers were very impressed with the property and staff. Several of our customers arrived prior to the meeting and really enjoyed the ammenities that the Westin provided. We will definitely request a quote for our 2014 meeting!

Room Tip: Ask for Hill Country views or in the summer ask for Six Flags views to see fireworks....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

It's great to hear that your conference was a success. We hope you'll be back again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice place but a 50 dollar taxi ride to the downtown area each way. Close to great adventure and a high end shopping plaza with several restaurants .... But a real hike from the river walk ..I was there for a conference so location wasn't my main concern but wished it was closer to the river walk and old historic town located downtown ..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sead0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on vacation. Overall, the experience was very good but with a few misses. In terms of the good, the gym is one of the best I've seen in a hotel (fitness center quality). There are a wide-variety of pools, although not all of them are heated so take that into consideration in the colder times of the year. There was also a tendency for a lot of dead bugs to accumulate in the pools by the end of the day. There is a nice hiking trail around the hotel you can follow, although we ended up getting lost and seeing mostly the golf course. The room was spacious and clean with a tiny balcony you could step out onto. It was very quiet in the room during the night.

The biggest negative was also the first impression of the hotel. We arrived at night to check-in and were told that the Deluxe (ie higher floor/better room) King room we had reserved was not available. Instead of a better room for this inconvenience, we were offered either a handicap-accessible King on the ground floor or a double bed room on a higher floor at the same price of a Deluxe King room. We checked out the double bed option but realized it wouldn't work (that room also strangely had a very loud dehumidifier running constantly) and went back to ask for the room we had reserved and were paying for (and that was still available to book online for that night). All of a sudden a Deluxe King room was "made available for us." That room was great, but it left a sour taste in our mouth that the hotel had a policy for whatever reason to try to first give an inferior room (without a discount) and then eventually assign the appropriate room.

Other negatives were that the self-parking is a bit of a hike, and given that it's already not free despite the huge resort acreage (it's part of the resort charge), paying even more for valet seems a bit excessive. On that note, there was a complimentary bottle of water in the room when we checked in but it never got replaced by housekeeping. That also seemed a bit cheap given the price point of the hotel.

All in all, I would stay at the property again for a good rate but I would be very insistent on getting the room one has reserved and paid for. And if the room has a loud dehumidifier (and the noise bothers you), ask for a different room as that is not a universal feature.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are so sorry that the room you requested was not available when you arrived. We do our best to honor all requests but are sometimes unable for a variety of reasons, but we definitely don't have a policy to try to give arriving guests different room types than those they request. We are so glad that you were able to get the room you wanted and apologize for what sounds like a lack of communication on our part.

For future reference, we are always happy to give you a cart or shuttle ride to your car. Feel free to ask any of our door attendants.

Thanks for your feedback; we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,276 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $180 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing