We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fun activities for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel with fun activities for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location near Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Shuttle to the park was convenient. Nice rooms in a clean hotel. Pool was clean and the kids enjoyed it. The resort had several activities for the kids (movie night, smores, etc) that were nice extras they enjoyed. Booked through Priceline. Definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are so glad that your stay exceeded your expectations! Our Kids' Club is always popular. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    645
    297
    155
    100
See reviews for
837
607
42
948
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a hotel that simply does things right. Nice physical plant, tremendous staff, reasonably good food (it does need a bit more diversity; I love Tex-Mex, but not all the time). I'd happily return. Rooms are well laid out. Meeting spaces are good. Grounds are very nice. Self-park is very far away though, and valet costs $22/day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
642 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I reviewed the property about a year ago and had a wonderful stay, I returned and it was awful. The service was horrendous. We stayed in the casitas and we had to beg to get any sort of service down there. The first night we had a sink that wouldn't drain, while we were out the maintenance person came to fix it and somehow spewed sewage all over my things. The hotel handled the incident property replacing my items but the damage was done. We were hosting a meeting there and the level of service was appalling, I will consider significantly before returning to a Westin again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are so sorry that your visit was less than perfect. Our goal is that you leave feeling recharged and well cared for, and we obviously missed the mark this time. Please accept our apologies and call the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Also returned from a conference and can't say enough about the service. Elise in the gift/ice cream shop was a dear. I make special thanks to the Chef of the bakery/Ice Cream parlor....Great job Chef. The oatmeal cookie ice cream made me walk an extra mile a day !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwpot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our ice cream! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is my first time at Westin La Cantera, and I will be back. I immediately relaxed when I got to my room and opened the door to a magnificent and expansive Texas Hill Country Vista. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and I loved walking around the pool. I'm not a golfer, but the course looked exquisite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, NM
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Small spa but lovely. Very talented people working there. Had the BEST PEDICURE I've ever had ... The Woodhouse Pedicure is an 80-minute affair that leaves you totally relaxed and happy. I also had a massage with David and it was one of the best massages I've had in any spa anywhere; as I was in so much pain in my neck, shoulder and back when I arrived, and those pains were entirely gone after my 80-minute massage. (I get regular massages and that does not usually happen.) The tranquility room was lovely and peaceful until some people from the gym that is actually in the spa came in and destroyed the stillness and repose of the room. It is unfortunate that the hotel gym is in the spa's space as it detracts from the calmness of the place. The facial I had was very effective and I got great results, but the facialist would not stop selling her products to me. The hard sell tactic was too much for me, I admit. Especially since I was trying to relax. The staff at the spa was very good and very efficient. This is a small spa, so only 2 showers and no hairbrushes - although I did finally find some flimsy combs inside a little chest of drawers by the door. I'd hate to have to blow dry my hair there and get ready to see anyone after a massage.
Our hotel room lacked robes and a corkscrew to open the wine that was in our minibar. The beds were a little soft and lumpy. Not the best beds. The view out to the pool was gorgeous, and Starbucks coffee was nice to have. There is no shower gel and the line of soaps, etc is too commercial - for a resort of this caliber, we expected better amenities in the room (like Molton Brown shampoo and shower gel for instance.)
The fine dining restaurant at the hotel is wonderful - Francesca's At Sunset. Highly recommend visiting that restaurant; had one of the best meals there that have ever had anywhere. And Francesca's showed sensitivity to vegans, which was lovely. The food was amazing; Stephen Gonzales is a phenomenally talented chef with a very diverse menu and excellent wine choices.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a long walk - immense number of rooms and one must walk a long way to get to many of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyrasweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed the spa and hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. The rooms are very nice with great views. The food is excellent and the people are very friendly. We had several blips during our stay which were a bit frustrating, but we still had a good time. I think for a 4-star Westin, they should have things running a bit smoother. The one person who really knows her stuff is Mary on the club floor. We did not stay on the club floor but are platinum Starwood members and used the club. I wish Mary had been the concierge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peaceful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. We apologize for the blips you experienced and would like to hear about them in more detail. Could you please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing