We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Golf resort in San Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Golf resort in San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Large golf resort near Great Adventure amusement part. Great location for golf, family fun and a short drive to downtown. Service was very good at hotel except for my check in which took 20 minutes. Francesca's restaurant is outstanding. Palmer's golf course is one of the very best in the area. Nice breakfast buffet each day and worth the package. Disappointed that the spa was closed on President's day weekend. Seems like a bad time to close the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Please accept our apologies for the slow check-in and spa being closed. We hope you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    540
    245
    131
    89
See reviews for
744
487
34
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently was lucky enough to experience an AMAZING meal and heart-warming evening at Francesca's at The Westin La Cantera. My special dinner would not have been possible if it wasn't for the following staff: Stephanie Rideout for coordinating the evening, arranging to have a beautiful floral centerpiece & giving us a first-class smile; Shane Tiller for his warm greeting, attentive service and much appreciated suggestions for tourist day trips; Stephen Gonzalez for taking the time to welcome us, offer menu recommendations and share his culinary experience; and last but not least ... our Server, Jeremey, who was extremely professional, conscientious and made it all possible to have an enjoyable evening. Oh, and by the way, the cuisine was EXCELLENT and presentation truly stunning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Happy birthday! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was here for a conference; the facility is very nice. The public areas are large and pretty. I really enjoyed the 1-mile long nature trail and saw some interesting birds, including a pair of Road Runners.
The rooms are not well insulated. In 4 nights I was here, I was awakened twice by people in the hall, and again when an alarm went off in the next room.
The food is good here, and there a several places to eat, from a coffee shop to a fairly high end restaurant, and another in between. The mushroom empanadas were wonderful! The lobby bar is really nice, with two large fireplaces, and plenty of room to sit and enjoy the view of the lovely terrace behind the hotel.
As for the "hill country view" from my room: it is now marred by a denuded hillside where a housing development is going up!
The staff is helpful, and there is a free shuttle to a large shopping mall that has restaurants, but it is about a $50 taxi ride into town, and a $28 shuttle ride to and from the airport. I am glad I am staying over a few days downtown so I will get a chance to experience San Antonio, which you can't really do from here, if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: I would not pay anything extra for the "hill country view," it's not that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, and please accept our apologies for the noise you experienced in your room. We hope you will be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to say that las casitas at the westin la cantera hill country resort are amazing! My family and I had almost a perfect stay. Only thing is staying away from main hotel cause room service food to suffer a bit not on favor but cold food. But otherwise this property is a must go and pay the upgrade for las casitas so worth it. Great hotel, and the sunday bunch made up for the cold food. Thankyou la cantera

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our casitas. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent room and ambiance. Conference bathrooms required repeated request for refreshing soap and towals - - unacceptable. Views are formidable and the golf course was the home of the Valero Texas Open for a decade. The hotel is far enough from the highway to avoid the noise but close enough for ready access from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the slow response to replacing soap and towels in the restroom. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
325 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location near San Antonio and the Texas Hill Country in a peaceful setting with expansive views. Very kind, friendly, helpful staff, the nicest among the many the Westin I have been.
Unless you want to spend the whole time at the resort or at the shopping Malls nearby, it is good to have a rental car to explore the area. I was happy to be on the 7th floor with private lounge breakfast to start the day. The Market shop in the hotel has very good in house made ice cream.
Sara, the manager at the reception, is great.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pond, but you can also have pool view or city view. They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last weekend my boyfriend & I took a trip here for an overnight stay getaway from all the All Star madness in our home city of Houston,Tx. We just wanted to get out of the city & relax for a day. Upon arrival to check out everyone on staff was great! We had a hillside view & it was amazing to wake up to, as we had a huge picture window opposite our bed & all I can say is, Niiiiice! Though the furniture was a bit dated in the room, the comfy bed made up for that. It almost too comfy, but I don't think any bed good be too comfy, comfy is a very good thing. We were so fortunate to have obtained a late check out at 4pm, it was much appreciated & we didn't feel rushed as normal when having to be checked out by noon. We certainly enjoyed that comfy bed & the view for a few more hours. The breakfast was great, we chose the buffet, yummy belgian waffels & strawberries I must say, & they're made into the shape of the great state of Texas, mmmhmmm! ;-) We enjoyed a really nice evening for dinner in the hotel lounge, Steinheimers Lounge. Another plus, the food was great, the drinks were on point & our waiter was always at hand checking on us but not too overbearing. The only thing that I can say went wrong here is that we were to be given vouchers as part of our package for breakfast, & we didn't recieve them, but it was quickly taken care of by Hector at the check in desk in less than 2 min.,Thanks Hector! :-) We've already started planning to come back with the little ones possibly during spring break, but for sure during the summer months.

Room Tip: Take the time to enjoy The Steinheimer Lounge, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asimplysoutherngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so glad your visit exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,975 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing