We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Review of La Cantera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the La Cantera Resort February 3-6, 2013. It was possibly the most pleasant hotel stay I have experienced. First of all, the hotel itself is beautiful, clean, and has a really warm feel. But the thing that made the visit so enjoyable were the hotel staff members. From the doormen, to the check-in staff, to the restaurant staff, to the housekeeping staff - all acted as though they were happy to have you as a guest, and treated you as though they wanted you to be comfortable and to come back again. They smiled at you and spoke to you. In this day of "hurry, hurry, we've got to get on to the next peerson", it was so refreshing to have people treat you like you like your presence was apppreciated. One of the people who exemplified this was the Concierge named Phyllis. She went out of her way to help me with a problem. All in all, a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,500 - 2,506 of 3,381 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My girlfriends and I planned a weekend get together months in advance. These are friends I have had since high school and we rarely are able to spend quality time together as a group. We were so excited to get a room in such beautiful and tranquil resort. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate and it was rainy and foggy on the day we checked in. Our desk manager, Victor Hernandez, took care of us from the moment we walked in the doors! Victor made sure we had an amazing visit, despite the terrible weather! He upgraded our room at no charge, gave us a complementary cheese and wine tray, and sent vouchers for breakfast the next morning. Talk about service!!! We were thrilled beyond words and I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay.

I would recommend this hotel to any person looking for a peaceful environment, amazing food, beautiful rooms and a superior customer service experience. Two of us are moms and one friend works full time and goes to school at night - we rarely get to treat ourselves to such luxury. But after this trip, we would book another visit to the Westin in a heartbeat! Spend the extra money and be blown away by the top notch service you'll receive. It was truly just the thing we all needed to reboot! Thanks to Victor Hernandez, our ladies "retreat" was the most memorable and wonderful time we have had together in years! We will be planning to return yearly! Thank you again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theOGHartiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are so glad that your get-away weekend was a success! Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Was in the San Antonio area last week and wanted a special experience for my sister's birthday so worked with Stephanie Rideout, meeting concierge, to orchestrate a beautiful night at the resort's high-end restaurant, Francesca's - and boy, was it.
Stephanie arranged to have special flowers on the table when we arrived and brought out Stephen Gonzalez, sous chef, to speak about some 'game' specialties on the menu. As a result ordered the pheasant which was excellent!
This is THE place to go if you're seeking great views, quality dining and attentive staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 236mountainmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

So glad your experience was everything you hoped for! We hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got back from a sales meeting at the Westin La Cantera. Great place. Our group stayed in the casitas, motored back and forth with the carts, enjoyed the two great courses and a couple of the restaurants. Overall a terrific experience. The casitas were huge, clean, modern and I had a great sleep - something that does not always happen for me on business trips. Our gal Mackenzie on the golf course was terrific.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy777GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe your next trip can be for pleasure rather than business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this property to celebrate our anniversary and it was amazing! The views and the landscaping of this hotel are simply breathtaking... from the moment you pull up the winding driveway you begin to feel the relaxation set in. The staff was so gracious and helpful and everyone was willing to go that extra mile to make sure you were well taken care of. We loved the live music and drinks in the Lobby Lounge and when they opened up the doors leading out to the courtyard the view was gorgeous!! Especially when the sun was going down. The room was spotless and spacious and again had a wonderful view. The food at all venues was top notch and the breakfeast buffet was unbeatable! We loved the adult pool as it was nice to have a break from the kids and again the sweeping views of the valley took it to the next level. The service and the setting definitely put this property above all others and we can't wait until our next visit. If your planning a romantic getaway this is your place!

Room Tip: We loved the Junior Suite, gave you a bit more room to relax and made it feel just a tad more luxuri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are so glad your anniversary trip exceeded your expectations. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at La Cantera for a business meeting. What an excellent property and surroundings. Had a villa outside the main building which was very nice, upgrade to one if you need extra room and privacy. Hotel provides a golf cart that is assigned to your room for transport back to the main building if weather or time prohibits a nice walk. Did not golf, but course looked outstanding, taking advantage of the surrounding landscape. Service was top-notch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If your thinking of staying here be aware that we stayed last night and as a SPG Gold had requested a 4 pm late check out. Stayed up late eating and drinking as this was a special night for my girlfriend and I. The loud sound of someone drilling into concrete woke us up shortly after 9 am. Calls to the front desk and a request to talk to the GM ( was told he was in a meeting) provided no relief. This is their Facebook reply,The Westin La Cantera Resort wrote: "I am sorry the renovation of our newest space disturbed your rest, this is certainly not how we like our guests to start their day. We have shared your experience with the team, including our General Manager. We really appreciate your feedback and suggestion for a noon start time. Please Direct message us if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable." This was our fourth and our last trip here. I do expect to be able to enjoy quiet relaxation when I book a room, and sometimes other guestsmake that impossible. But to have the hotel themselves to be the source and the problem, that is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Don't expect management to care about your concerns. They will get to it apparently in their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronmiller997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We apologize that your experience was anything less than restful. Please call the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss it further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $180 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splitty, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing