We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Westin La Cantera for three nights beginning on Christmas day, Of the three hotels we stayed at in San Antonio (with the Hyatt Hill Country and Omni La Mansion Del Rio being the other two), this was the best. We stayed on the concierge level and loved the breakfasts, snacks, and appetizers. The views from our room were absolutely breathtaking.

We also enjoyed the facilities, especially the nature trail. The gift shop was great as well (with a big sale going on). It was too cold to enjoy the pools but they looked simply wonderful.

Most staff members were great (especially the guys at the valet area) but we did find the concierge staff to be lacking a little bit of warmth. They did their job and they did it well but we never felt especially welcomed.

Other than that, it was probably one of the best hotel stays we have ever had and we'll certainly consider Westin properties in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneyprofmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for spending your Christmas holiday with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,451 - 2,457 of 3,311 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband recently stayed at the Westin La Cantera for a long weekend in early October 2012. We have stayed at this hotel multiple times but this was our best experience so far.

Ruby at the front desk was the main reason for this stay being our best experience. My husband and I are SPG Platinum guests and she worked very hard to find an upgraded room for us. She found a room for us in the Casitas and the room was awesome. We were able to take the golf cart to and from the room as well as drive around the property. The private pool outside of the Casitas was very relaxing and quiet.

The hotel pool is awesome. The adult only pool is perfect for those who are not interested in being around kids. The pool staff was also very attentive with taking drink/food orders (Austin and Cody, in particular). We also liked the drink menu at the pool. The kid friendly pool was also fun and contained a great waterslide and waterfall.

The hotel restaurants are also very good. We really enjoyed our dinner at Francesca’s at Sunset.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel for your next San Antonio trip. It is by far one of the best Westin Resorts. In addition, the staff really tries hard to make sure you have the most enjoyable trip possible. Thanks again Ruby!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruefan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

We are delighted to know that your trip was excellent and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I took my family here for a few days after Christmas. As usual the service was good and the hotel was beautifully decorated. The only problem would have been if we wanted to sleep in last Friday morning. The hammering started after 8am and the drilling began at 9am. We had 3 rooms near each other and all were awakened.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

We are glad your stay was pleasant for the most part and apologize that you were awakened by construction noise. If you would like to discuss it further, please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful stay for a long weekend. Great shuttle service with always friendly drivers. They have certain drop off and pick up points at the Mall and Six Flags but will drop and pick up at other spots if able too and most of the time they do. They even will take you to the movies theater and other shops near there. All free and very well run! Extremely well run and always on time. Plus you may call them and ask for a special pick up if need be.

Room was fabulous and the grounds were beautiful. Every person there greeted you and made us feel at home. So nice. We will be staying here again. It's the perfect location to do it all in San Antonio! Both restaurants were well run and had something on the menus for even our pickey eaters. Best resort we've stayed at in a long time. Beats Gaylord Texan and puts them to shame.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonbirdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The service in this hotel exceeded our expectations, particularly the facility and the service. The amenities were pristine, comfortable, and definitely usable. The little touches here and there made it more personal/enjoyable, such as the treat package each room received. The staff was outstanding. The spa staff, particularly Tina and Adriana, went over and beyond my requests. The restaurant staff and the activities staff (Kids Club and ice skating) gave us the personal, VIP treatment. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel if you would like a nice, relaxing, quick getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family spent Christmas eve enjoying Hill Country Holiday activities. We did not stay but have booked a room for this weekend as well as spa services because of the fabulous treatment Monday. CJ, activities manager, made what seemed impossible with a toddler and newborn stress free and fun! From stroller help on the tour, to private activities before opening to the rest of the crowd, we were taken care of! Make sure to find him and his staff if you need anything!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Proffittfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thanks for sharing your holidays with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had our wedding there- it was awful- so unorganized, weeks later were still getting charges for things they "missed" - its been a nightmare. Very sad. Even our guest have had billing issue- pretty embarrassed that we subjected them to all of this- and no one will take responsibility for it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alishaherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We are so sorry that your experience was less than perfect. Our goal is that you leave feeling recharged and well cared for, and we obviously missed the mark. Please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,541 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,928 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,117 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $198 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing