We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Cantera Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256 (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Special 20% Off
Ranked #33 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Chris Smith did an outstanding job of correcting an error that the central reservation group made on our reservation. He was able to correct problem (when he really did not have to) and did so in a very professional and caring manner. It is this type of service that keeps me a Starwood member.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesjba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    484
    224
    124
    83
See reviews for
683
440
31
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We took advantage of the Hill Country Holidays open to the public. My 3-year-old daughter couldn't wait to ice skate. Having never done it before, David went above and beyond to help out, making sure she could skate like a princess even though mom couldn't. After that we enjoyed a cookie in the lobby and then did a few crafts at the North Pole. Everyone was super friendly even though we weren't staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have attended three beer-tasting dinners at the Grill in the Club House hosted by Neil Butler, lead food and beverage supervisor, and a staff of servers and chefs, plus reps from various beer distributors. All three have been real pleasures. And, the views out over the Hill Country are spectacular.

When my husband called to make reservations for the most recent dinner on Dec. 13, 2012, Mr. Butler immediately recalled that only one of us would be drinking, as the other had make the 60-mile drive home. A designated driver is highly recommended as they are most generous with the beer! The chefs always come out to greet the diners and the wait staff remains superlative.

They work hard to pair the beers with appropriate courses that are delicious as well as beautifully presented. And the beer just keeps getting poured. Each beer that is poured is accompanied by a short informative talk by the beer rep offering background on how the beer came about and where it originated.

Here is the latest five-course menu along with paired beer: 1.) Fig Glazed Pork Belly Confit with Beluga Lentils and quail egg (Chimay Premiere); 2) Green Lip Mussels with saffron Chimay soup and sage confetti (Chimay Cinq Cents); 3) Duck Confit Cassoulet alongside herb-crusted lamb loin (Chimay Grand Reserve); 4) Chimay Cheese Platter (Schneider Weisse); 5) Applie Ginger Bread (Schneider Aventinus).

Get on the email list for the dinners if you enjoy premium brews. Beer snobs welcome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
So glad you enjoyed the beer dinner! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We've been going to the Beer Dinners that Neil hosts for a while. Last night's was so fantastic, I wanted to leave a review. It was a Chimay/Schneider Weisse dinner, so the beer was great. But the food was also top notch. Pork belly w/ a quail egg, mussels, lamb, and the Chimay cheese platter, all were delicious. It was one of the best meals I've had in a while. Neil and his team always take good care of us. If you live in San Antonio or are coming to visit, you should call and see when the next one is. They'll put you on an email list so you can get invites if you like. It is a great date night and the people there are always fun. Thanks Neil, Haley, Kourtney, Jennifer, Justina, Dirk, Vince, Adrianna and Stephen. We are looking forward to the next one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rch_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are so glad you've been enjoying the beer dinners! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Francesca's is fabulous, we love it. The food was great, Texan with a twist, and service there was fantastic. The rest of the hotel, not so good. The service certainly does not match the cost. We had to ask repeatedly for an extra robe to go to the whirlpool ( which closes at dusk - why? Surely 6pm is not too late to go for a per-dinner soak?) . Turn down in the room consisted of dumping a plastic bag with two chocolates in it on the bed and nothing more! If this was a $49.95 per night motel we'd understand but it is supposed to be a classy up-market resort. Go for dinner but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
When you treat yourself to a stay at The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort, you should experience revitalizing comfort and delight in all of our amenities. From our championship golf courses to the spa, from Francesca’s at Sunset to our five swimming pools, as well as our array of complimentary resort activities, every feature of the property has been designed to offer the utmost relaxation and satisfaction for our guests. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t provide the kind of value you were looking for, and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please contact the General Manager directly at 210.558.6500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Concierge at the resort, John Ruiz really helped make our stay great. He arranged several outings/dinners for our group... great picks, also had great advice on other area excursions.
Overall, very friendly and attentive staff. Good margaritas in the lobby bar. Nothing really special about rooms, but clean and well kept. Starbucks coffee for self-brew in rooms was nice.

Room Tip: City View is best choice if you're only in your room at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmertins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Thank you for a relaxing weekend. We needed a break from like and LaCantera with its beauty was the cure. The hotel is decorated beautifully. Thanks to Vicki K , Bobby our fab bartender and Victor H for making the weekend a success.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Txloyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are delighted to know that your visit with us was a true escape. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,817 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing