We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice friendly service...lot of activities offered tru the day. A fabulous Hiking trail. A comfortable room & wine tasting...shuttle service to either Six Flags or Shopping mall. The restaurant, ROom service & pool service offer only quality food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,847
    699
    327
    175
    109
See reviews for
914
686
48
1,057
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Palmer Grille is a hidden gem. While I know it was intended to be an "after golf" venue, you're missing a real treat if you don't put it on your list of regular stops. It has become a family favorite in my household on the weekends when everything else is crowded and rushed. Excellent food, great service, and amazing views...what else can you ask for? My daughters even have it on their birthday "short list". Another secret...tired of the Mother's Day/ Father's Day etc restraunt headaches....this is your place. Shhh...it's a secret!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed the Palmer Grille and hope you won't keep it a secret!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin La Cantera with my family and we had a wonderful stay. Brian on the front drive provided wonderful service and made our stay that much better. He was always remembering my name and took great care of us. I've stayed here several times and he has always been helpful. Our room was great and the service was excellent. I was really impressed by the service I received.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdazzle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Each event that I do at the Westin La Cantera, the staff always goes above and beyond to help! At the most recent event Dawn Moore, Executive Meeting Specialist, made sure that our staff and guests were comfortable and had everything they needed. The night before the event her staff brought us dinner while we were setting up. I have celiac disease and she made sure that each meal was gluten free and never made me feel like a burden when I asked questions for my dietary needs. It was so comforting knowing that she and her team truly cared about us and played a key role in the success of our event and my health!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eventsbykacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so glad your event was a success! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently spent a weekend at the La Cantera with my family while we were in San Antonio celebrating my son's 5th birthday. I informed the front desk that it was my son's birthday and upon our arrival all 3 of my children received a gift bag with crafts, and other fun stuff. Additionally while we were at dinner, the Express Service Staff left an array of delicious gourmet cupcakes in the room for us along with a thoughtful handwritten birthday card and a toy for my son. We have stayed at this property several times before and have always been impressed with the service we receive but this visit was exceptional. The employees went out of their way to make the weekend special for our entire family. Our experience with the Westin Kids Club was also wonderful. The Kids Club employees find fun activities for each child to enjoy and then stay with the kids and encourage them while they are there. Not only does the staff encourage the kids but actively participate in the activities. The Zooimagination show is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

OK so this is a beautiful hotel with wonderful gardens. It is very big, too big I would say, so much so that we would continually get lost. It was under renovation so the Starbucks wasn't open and there were not very many options to eat in the hotel. I was there for a conference and so didn't have the advantage of being able to go downtown, which is a bit far (at least a 40 dollar cab ride). The hotel does, however, have a shuttle bus that runs to a shopping center called Shops at La Cantera which is five minutes away and has every possible store you could need (except no drugstore). The shuttle is very accommodating and took us also to Best Buy and to Target which aren't far. The man (Bruno) was even nice enough to take packages back to the hotel for us so we didn't have to carry them around. Rooms are lovely and clean and check in fast and friendly. All the concierges were nice. The one restaurant we ate at was Brannon's cafe and they were very nice and the food was excellent. The mac and cheese on the children's menu can be ordered for adults and it is amazing. Crab cakes good too. If you are a golfer this is a great place to stay. I would, however, would like to stay closer to town on another occasion.

Room Tip: Just be prepared to be in an out of the way location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our first anniversary and we wanted to stay at a nice place for the occasion.
We were treated extremely well by all of the staff and were made to feel very special. The resort is beautiful and spacious and well maintained. We stayed in one of the Casitas and were provided a golf cart to drive around the resort during our stay. Our Casita Ambassador heard me mention that it was our anniversary and that evening after we returned from dinner we found a bottle of champaign, glasses and a nice anniversary card from him in our room.
The stay at this resort made a very special occasion one to remember and cherish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Happy anniversary! We hope you will celebrate with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,195 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,930 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing