We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Nothing Special. Great Golf.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Nothing Special. Great Golf.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Meh. I planned for months for my husband's 50th birthday and our 14th anniversary getaway.The hotel was practically empty. I upgraded to a concierge floor room for $90+ more per night. I would never do this again. Breakfast was one hot item (either a southwest egg roll type thing or some really awful oatmeal "puck" and yogurt, bagel, pastries w coffee and juice. Nothing to write home about. And they start picking it all up at 945am so they can shut the door at 10am on the dot. We had a glass of wine each evening in there as well. The room is the same size on this floor as on any other so for the extra cost, I would not choose to do this again.Typical room. Nothing special. It was clean. Nice to have two closet spaces.
The hotel is a car ride from anywhere. If you don't rent a car, expect to pay BIG bucks for a taxi. A taxi to downtown cost $65 one way. We knew in advance and only went downtown once as we were at the hotel for my husband to enjoy the golf courses. He loved both of the courses. If you are a golfer you will love them! Stop by the Palmer Grille Club House for $2 beer specials in the afternoon. Anything other than a beer or wine request and the bartender will look at you like you have 3 heads. HOWEVER, all the employees were VERY cordial. I must say, cordial only goes so far when you are expecting something special.
The pool area was completely empty each day (September 30 - Oct 5). The supposedly heated pools were not heated at all. They were freezing. So while my husband played golf, there was absolutely nothing to do. I had already spent a day at the shopping mall. Yawn. I really wanted to enjoy a swim and perhaps a cocktail by the pool. The pool bar that was advertised as opening at 11:30am each day was never opened on any day. There was a sign directing guests to ask someone in the cafe for a drink.
I spent a great deal of money at this hotel for only four nights. Worse, I can't get any of those days back. There was nothing glaringly wrong with the stay at all - it just wasn't in any way special. Bottom line, there was no discernible value. I wouldn't return.
(I could write so many more details such as the garbage can outside our room collecting rain water from the ceiling, the numerous emails prior to our arrival to the concierge only to reserve the golf and restaurants myself...but it would take too long and I've already chalked it up to a very forgettable experience). On a bright note, the concierge had chocolate strawberries sent up the first night for our anniversary (after he asked what kind of wine we liked to drink). The strawberries came the second night too. I think that was a mistake. When I thanked the concierge, he had no idea and didn't know the champagne was not delivered at all. He did send it up the 3rd night). Everything felt disjointed.
OH and before I forget - we arrived the day the golf doubled in price. From $65 a round to $125 with NO discount for hotel guests. Great courses, poor value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Our goal is to help you get back to your best self so that you leave feeling recharged and well cared for. We clearly fell short during your stay. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy yourself as you should have. Please accept our apologies and know that your comments have been shared with the team to assist in improving the overall guest experience. Please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    644
    295
    154
    100
See reviews for
837
603
42
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Attended a 4-day conference at this resort with my wife. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The golf deals were fantastic. Good proximity to good restaurants at the La Cantera Shops. Francesca's is pricey but oh sooo good. One of the nicest stays of my life, anywhere.

Room Tip: We had a king room overlooking the pool. Faces west and was away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Our family had the most wonderful time at this resort for a long weekend. We took our 1 yr old and the resort was so great for kids! The zoomagination on Saturdays was so fun and great for all ages, even adults! Our daughter was given a gift bag upon arrival which had a rubber duckie, night light, band aids, and outlet covers to baby proof the room. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Every single employee went above and beyond. Gio was the best waiter! Thanks for a fantastic trip!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vikky1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at La Cantera, and although this was a wonderful resort, it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. We stayed in a private casita (a small bungalow located a short way from the main property) and enjoyed it, but there were lots of small problems that interfered with our enjoyment. One day housekeeping just didn't even show up. Our air conditioning was not working well and after two days, maintenance needed to add freon to get it working (wasn't this something they regularly checked?). The pools and hot tubs were filthy with leaves and natural debris and weren't skimmed regularly. The business center doesn't let you print out your boarding passes. The lobby doesn't have any power cords for laptop use. Lots of little things like that, none of which ruined or even sullied our trip, but when you add them all up, it made for something well short of a five-star experience. The grounds are lovely and many of the staff were friendly and accommodating, but this place needs to examine its overall experience if it wants to continue to be a high-end resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Please accept our apologies that you encountered anything less than an immaculate and well-maintained casita and pool while you were here. We have reviewed your feedback with the housekeeping and maintenance teams to be sure that this will not go unnoticed again. Please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

With great location but poor service and terrible consideration for the customer I would never stay here again. We waited for valet at least 20 minutes each time including check in.. For $20 a day they should have paid us.. Pools were dirty w leaves and no sign of staff anywhere. 3 hrs at the pool on a Saturday and no one came around at all to offer us a thing. Rooms seem old. Restaurant closed early cause it was quiet. Store had no milk for our kids. Discovery zone said waterslide which Ofcourse there was nine. Kid pool is for toddlers and big pool at 41/2 feet was too deep for our 4 and 6 year old to enjoy. Then to top it off my children love movies on the lawn.. Well on a Saturday night they were too lazy to move seats set up from a much earlier wedding causing our kids to not lay under the stars w their blankets.. Then they charge .. Yes charge $3.00 for a small bag of popcorn!!! Really?!! Every other hotel aka Hyatt or Marriott give it for free.
Cheesy hotel! Go to the Hyatt .. Your kids will think its Disney world compared to this!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Our goal is to help you get back to your best self so that you leave feeling recharged and well cared for. We clearly fell short during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the valet team, and we apologize for the lack of responsiveness. Please contact the General Manager at 210.558.6500 to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently had occasion to spend five wonderful nights at the Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort. It was a restful and relaxing stay. The beds, pillows and linens were fabulous. I slept like a baby. The service and staff were first rate. They were very courteous and frequently asked if there was anything they could do. This being my first visit, I had many occasions to seek their assistance. The grounds were well maintained and the rooms clean. I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a worldwide business meeting from my company and was excellent. Of course I did not take advantage of the all resort amenities (work, work and work) but service is 5stars, room is comfortable and silent, at the business area the Internet speed was excellent, nice installations. And, even for the large groups, meals were excellent tasty and not served cold as you normally expect. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Melo_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We hope you can make it back and enjoy the rest of the amenities of our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing