We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business meetings as well!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for business meetings as well!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a worldwide business meeting from my company and was excellent. Of course I did not take advantage of the all resort amenities (work, work and work) but service is 5stars, room is comfortable and silent, at the business area the Internet speed was excellent, nice installations. And, even for the large groups, meals were excellent tasty and not served cold as you normally expect. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Melo_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We hope you can make it back and enjoy the rest of the amenities of our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,769
    671
    314
    164
    104
See reviews for
863
635
45
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was here with my husband who was on a business trip. The hotel is in a fabulous location close to a mall with the hotel offering free shuttle service. The staff was friendly and helpful -food in the restaurant was very good. I decided to treat myself in Castle Rock Health Club and Spa, and was so glad I did. Donna gave a fabulous Swedish massage -one of the best I've ever had. Totally recommend it!

Room Tip: If you ask for a Hill Country view you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at the Westin La Cantera for a couple of nights. The service all around was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the shuttle drivers. I'd recommend this resort to anyone who was looking for a nearby getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chipholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our 3rd year here and you will not find a better person to coordinate your event than Mike Kutchesky. He is great even when slight changes have to be made, he works hard so that the event run flawlessly. His goal is to make the event wonderful and he achieves this wonderfully.

He has a way of making you feel welcome and invited.
The setting is beautiful and the perfect location for any free time. Shopping for all budgets within a 4 minute shuttle ride. The area is so beautiful that just walking the trails sitting near the pool makes for a great day.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a bad room here! They are all beautiful and super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shericoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are so glad your event was a success and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you back for year four!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this resort. My kids loved it and we loved all the options of activities. Hiking, pools, crafts, smores and movies on the lawn. Pool is good, lots of alcoves and a bit windy if you're trying to keep your eye on younger kids - can't really just sit in one spot and see everything. Make sure you ask for the activities schedule and Kids pack when you check in. And I would definitely recommend the kids club services. If you stay on site to eat, you get 50% off the kids care price. My kids didn't want to leave - ages 4 and 6. GO in SEPTEMBER - there was no one there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Level Contributor
226 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, decent pool (not very user-friendly, more for the aesthetics), nature path, friendly service. These are the pluses.

The downside was, I barely made it out of there alive because they recommended the pecan pie for dessert. Pecan pie isn't the healthiest stuff in the world to begin with, but the Westin's version makes the regular kind look like tofu. They packed a mass of chocolate chips stuck together with caramel and butter. (There might have been a few pecans in there too, but just a few.) As if that weren't enough, it is served with whipped cream and just in case that's not enough, their standard serving is two pieces.

Room Tip: overlook the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pecan pie - you did enjoy it, right? - and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just got back from a lovely ladies golf trip. The courses were fun, the resort property beautiful and the bads really are 'heavenly.' I'd definitely go back with kids and family. Its a great all around experience, not cheap but a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad your stay was a success and hope you will be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,645 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,129 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 355 in San Antonio
1,861 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing