We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My girlfriends from college and I were looking for a great weekend getaway. One of the girls suggested La Cantera and this turned out to be a weekend that I will never forget. Front desk manager,Sarah, set up our entire trip for us. She was professional, helpful and it was very clear that she was respected by her employees. Andrew who delivered room service and Maria,the housekeeper at the casitas also stuck out as fantastic employees. Their customer service was excellent. My friends and I loved the private patio and the golf cart provided to us. We felt special all weekend long and it was the perfect getaway. The resort is beautiful but the above average customer service by Sarah, Andew and Maria was what truly made this resort stand out. We will definitely work with Sarah in the future and look forward to bringing our entire family back soon. Thank you, Westin La Cantera!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbyT427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,634 - 2,640 of 3,437 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent a few days at La Cantera with my husband and five year old daughter on a business trip. We took our daughter to Kids Club and she absolutely loved it! The did arts/crafts, smores, fed her dinner and had a movie too. Carami, Patricia and Tito were great!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank 282Connie282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed yourself. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and our stay there was absolutely wonderful!!! The staff is relentlessly accomodating and always with a smile on their face. I would like to say that Cody, Christina, Austin and Joe, Who were the bar and wait staff at the pool area, were amazing and extremely friendly and helpful. As were Danielle & Gabby at the upstairs bar, Steinheimer's, which was always a wonderful time and the view of the pools, golf course and hill country from the balcony there has imprinted a memory with me that i will not soon forget. The spa is great as well, very relaxing! Tina, who is one of the massage therapists, was great!! I can not say enought wonderful things about her, her skills & techniques as a massage therapists as well as her professionalism. The Golf course was beautiful & the staff there went above and beyond also. The view from the seventh hole at the resort course is definitely worth checking out! The room that we stayed in was very spacious and clean, and the views that we had were fantastic. We did not take our kids with us, but I did see the game room that they had for the kids there and it was any kids dream, and most men's too probably. There also had activities going on for the kids in a big activity room by the pool, with staff in the room. The pools were great too, and I heard people of all ages raving about how much fun the slide was, although I didnt try it. I just can not say enough good things about this place. All I could think about when we left is going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarinagage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

It is wonderful to know that your stay exceeded your expectations. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

my wife and i decided to try La Cantera again after a not so good visit the last time. The trip this time was much better. The resort is a beautiful resort and the staff was very friendly as they were the last time. The room was clean this time when we arrived and the front desk even called to wish my wife a happy birthday when we arrived which i thought was a nice touch. We ate breakfast at the resort one morning which was very good but expensive as is everything else at the resort which in my opinion is the only drawback. For the rest of our meals we left the resort to eat. The amenities for kids are very good and we will probably go back and bring them next time. Hopefully next time i will get to try the golf course because it is also beautiful and been wanting to play it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Happy birthday! We are so glad to know that your stay was a success and look forward to your return for golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the past weekend as a getaway with my wife. We stayed in one of the casitas. It was a nice stay but a few things were missing. First of all there are no on-demand movies. It is impossible to order them. There is also no DVD player in the room. They did offer to bring a portable one with a selection of some of their DVDs. We decided against this as this would take a lot of time. These are small issues but I think that you should expect these things at a hotel of the caliber of the Westin. We had an "ambassador" who assigns golf carts to the casita guest (the casitas are a little way away from the resort). Our ambassador assigned us the cart and seemed to be in a hurry. He was never seen again. Dont get me wrong. This is a good resort. I would however have to rank it third behind the JWMarriott and Hyatt Hill country. It could be much better especially given its location which is better than the other two hotels that I listed.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mille125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable for the most part and apologize that on-demand movies aren't available. We hope you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Close location to Fiesta Texas and shopping. The shuttle will take you to nearby places. We stayed over the Fourth of July holiday, and the resort had many activites planned. A place to watch fireworks with face painting, balloon animals, etc... The hotel also had Dive-In movies everynight. My kids also loved the water slide also. I would highly reccommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelorfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thanks for the nice review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was amazing.

Upon arrival and during our entire stay we had the pleasure of being helped by Terrick in the Valet. He made us feel like royalty every time we saw him.

The property is gorgeous. We had a lovely corner room with two balconies. The weather was so mild and pleasant that we had a chance to enjoy the fresh hillside air the whole time.

We ate at Brannon's and the Steinheimer's lounge. Both were great.

The staff is awesome! We came in one night to surprise anniversary gift of a Texas Shaped Chocolate box filled with truffles and fruit displayed on a plate that said "Happy Anniversary" and a lovely card thanks to Sarah. That was such a nice touch.

There are so many activities everyday. We enjoyed making smore's, live music, and wine tasting and that doesn't include half of what was going on.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an exceptional place to stay.
Everyone really made us feel special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brook S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Happy anniversary! We are delighted that your stay exceed your expectations and hope you will celebrate with us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,024 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,161 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#46 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $171 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing