We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We needed a quick get away with no stress, and of course La Cantera delivered as always. I love this beauty of the hotel and the grounds, and hubby loves the golf courses. The staff is great and very few hotels compare, I’ve been to plenty, but always come back. Thank you Dena for the non hassle check in, we loved the room. It makes such a difference when the staff is so friendly and accommodating. They have made us your number one fan. Thank you to Vicki Kiang for the great service from the Gantry. Poolside food and drinks are the best. No need to get dressed and go out. Just sit and relax and Vicki has it all under control. No stress here. And huge thanks to Victor Hernandez for welcoming us back with that great smile , open arms, and making sure we are always stress free. Great Service and Great Staff = a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Txloyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    489
    226
    125
    83
See reviews for
688
444
31
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This review is way overdue. We are regulars at the Westin La Cantera every time we travel to San Antonio. This resort is beautiful and the staff is amazing! Chelsea from the front desk went way above and beyond when she assisted me with our room on our November stay in 2011. There was a situation, and she resolved it in one of the most professional and thoughtful of ways. She really listened and even contacted us later in our stay to make sure things worked out right. When we go here, beyond the lovely location, the fun activities for our children and the helpful staff, there are individuals like Chelsea-who make you feel like your stay here is as important to them as it is to you. Thanks again, Chelsea-you're the BEST!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkoaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

The service at this hotel is terrific! There is always something for kids to do also. We highly recommend this resort!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Illinitrav5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Westin La Cantera Resort is beautifully laid out with attractions for both families as well as couples. My hubby and I had a nice weekend escape. It was Spring Break and there were lots of families with children about, but once we got to the adults-only pool, we didn't even notice. The rooms are gorgeous and the bathroom is spacious with a separate water closet. We'll definitely add the Westin to our list of weekend escapes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thoughtvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay; please plan another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Westin La Cantera last summer. We chose the hotel because it had so many activities for the kids, yet wasn't as pricey as some other hill country resorts.

Our family loved the waterside!! All of us had a great time going down. The pools are in little coves, so it makes it a bit hard to keep an eye on the kids if they like to be in different areas. It wasn't a huge problem for us, though, as my kids mainly stayed by the slide and it wasn't that busy. There's also a blow up waterslide on the tennis courts. My kids other favorite activity was the kids' club. Children are allowed to go in with their parents. The kids loved making crafts and playing in there. The workers in there really inner acted with the kids and did a great job. My children also enjoyed the animal show and the dinosaur show. Early in the mornings we'd take a hike on their trails. There's some beautiful sites. At night we'd sit out on the lawn and watch the movies on the large outdoor screen. The hotel is close to many restaurants and of course, the mall. My daughter and I had a nice little shopping day there.

I would definitely return to La Cantera and was very pleased with our stay! It would also make for a great romantic getaway as they also have a quieter, a bit more secluded adults' pool. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txfamilybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at La Cantera. My husband informed the font desk about our celebration and throughout our stay all the staff members made sure to congratulate us. The service was extremely friendly and efficient. The hotel grounds, amenities, and our room were impeccable. The atmosphere is very relaxing. We ate a totally delicious meal Francesca at Sunset (we ordered their signature chilli rubbed beef and lobster enchiladas). We also had a great dinner at their other restaurant, we ordered the 7 layer farmer salad and grilled chicken sandwich; both very tasty. For breakfast we ordered their berry protein smoothies and cinnamon roll. Everything, from food to service, was well beyond our expectation. I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: City view is quite nice. Golf course view would be nice too. I think I would only avoid a view to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 409Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Happy anniversary! We appreciate the chance to help you celebrate and hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and really loved this place. We were traveling with 3 other couples and we all want to go back again and again. They had something for everyone. Going in March, we were a little worried we wouldn't get to enjoy the pools, but they had them heated and so we all spent some wonderful 'chillaxing' time by the pool with fabulous cocktails. They had a great kids programs that rival Disney. We'll come back and bring our grandchildren since we love watching them have fun!! All the staff were very attentive and accommodating. We usually stay on the Riverwalk, but this is our new 'go to' location!!

Room Tip: We used Priceline and got a really good rate on our rooms. Corner rooms are larger and have 2 small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_La_Cantera, General Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you were well cared for during your visit to The Westin La Cantera Hill Country Resort. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#14 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing