We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good value in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
Ranked #100 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weekend nights in Feburary. Our room was very clean and included a small refrigerator. The staff was friendly and helpful even on the 1st night when the hotel was completely sold out. There are many restaurants and stores within 1 mile of the hotel. It's only a 10-15 minute drive from the hotel to the Riverwalk and Downtown. We highly recommend this hotel if you are travelling to San Antonio on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwidetravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

I needed a hotel close to the airport with shuttle service and this fit the bill. Rooms are a little old but really they have everything you need. It was clean, has a refrigerator, microwave and a seating area separate from the bed. The service was friendly and prompt from check in to calling for the shuttle the next morning. They also came through with a corkscrew and free water when we needed it. Faced with the same situation, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMPWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We understand that our hotel is a little older, and we are looking forward to the renovation that is scheduled for early 2015. We are glad that we were able to satisfy your needs while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

...for both the weather & my stay.

It's an older property, so it shows its age here and there. There have been some upgrades, but there's only so much you can do within the existing walls.

A few misses: the north stairwell had an unpleasant odor. A high-pitch noise from inside the wall was annoying. Not sure if it was plumbing, pool, or HVAC related? The elevator was as slow as molasses.

Breakfast service attention unlike you'll experience even at full-service restaurants. Gets crowded easily in a small area.

Pricing is appropriate, and there are nearby restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank tradi_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank your for reviewing our hotel. We take all feedback seriously, and will work to investigate the issues that you encountered during your stay to ensure that they do not happen again. I am not sure what the odor was unless you were here during the painting of the stairwells. I will also have our maintenance person look into the noise you mentioned. I apologize about the elevator being slow. With the number of people in the hotel, that does sometimes happen. I hope that you will come back and give us another opportunity to WOW you if your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Good - I have stayed at dozens and dozens of Marriott properties. I have never come across great service like exhibited by Mary Helen at breakfast. Even though this was a Fairfield, her level of service was far above even what I encounter in the concierge lounges in full service Marriott's.
.
As a business traveler I eat breakfast quickly. During my 15 minutes I saw Mary Helen make a giant pot of coffee, provide every person napkins and plastic-ware, make three waffles for patrons while they waited, bring everyone a water. They should put in a glass window and have Marriott staff come and get trained by watching her. All that with a smile while asking if you need anything. No wonder I saw several guests hug her hello and good by... in 15 minutes.

The Bad - This hotel is weary and worn. The lobby furniture is stained and everything else is correspondingly dirty. Chair in my room had remnants of a pee stain. Love seat had one cushion backwards, was afraid to touch based on what I saw on the exposed side, who knows what was lurking on the other side. Towels had stains, pillow cushions stained. If I wasn't dog tired and only staying one night I would have went somewhere else.

Would not stay again unless it is refurbished.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Easy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

I have received the comments from your stay with us, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced of felt during your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know about your experience here as we will use it as feedback to improve our service.

I understand that our hotel is in need of some updating, and we are in the process of scheduling a renovation in the beginning of 2015. This does not however excuse any of the cleanliness issues that you mentioned in your review. I will be addressing these issues with our housekeeping staff. Please let me know if there is anything else that I can do to assist you. We hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I am a Marriott Elite member and I would not stay at any other Hotel in San Antonio Tx because it is so convenient to everything you need.They have a great staff at the front desk and Mary that prepares breakfast is so sweet.And your surroundings have great restaurants and of course the North Star Mall...I will always go back and stay at the Fairfield Inn!

Room Tip: Corner Suites are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and Mary our breakfast hostess. I will be sharing your comments with her. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great location and at a very good price. Nora at the front desk was exceptional and very accommodating. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Easy walking to a couple good restaurant's. Great value, I will go back for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveStehlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very excited that we were able to help you enjoy your stay in San Antonio. I will definitely be sharing your comments with the team including Nora. We hope that we will get a chance to serve you again the next time you are in San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you've read any of the reviews, you've already found out about Mary Helen. She is the main reason why I stay at this hotel each time I'm in San Antonio. She starts your day off right and gets you in a good mood. She is friendly and attentive when it comes to serving the guests. The rest of the staff is very friendly as well. It's hard to find a hotel with a staff as attentive as the staff here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxMalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for reviewing our hotel and your kind comments about our staff. We take taking care of our guests very seriously. I am glad that Mary Helen helps you start your day with a smile. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Far North Central
Courtyard San Antonio North/Stone Oak at Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Address: 88 NE Loop 410, Behind Pappadeaux, San Antonio, TX 78216-5801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $90 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall is located less than 2 miles from the airport behind Pappadeaux. We offer complimentary airport shuttle and any where within a 3 mile radius of the hotel Mon-Fri from 5a-11p and Sat-Sun 7a-11p. Save money with our free WiFi, parking, breakfast and shuttle service. Rest peacefully in redesigned rooms with flat-screen TVs, blackout curtains and plush bedding. Kids love to play in our indoor pool and adults can stay fit with our 24hr fitness center. With our central location in the city you will have easy to access to top attractions including Sea World, Six Flags, the Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Convention Center and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing