We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not the quality or comfort I expected from Fairfield Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
Ranked #142 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the quality or comfort I expected from Fairfield Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at other Fairfield Inns in the the past and this hotel has really shown wear. Needs updates. The bed was lumpy, couch uncomfortable and only one can be in bathroom at a time...very small for a suite. Only one elevator for 5 floors which can be a problem when all checking out at same time. Not the quality or comfort i expected for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palomino60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have felt while at our hotel. We value each and every guest, and try to live the Marriott mission. We are ramping up for a renovation in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything that I can do for you. I do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    45
    25
    14
See reviews for
58
30
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

on the ceiling and jumping on the bed...these bugs...Not bed bugs but still.... told the management and they said they would return points...have not seen them yet!
parking lot was horrible to get into on Friday night...Leaving for the airport the next morning to return the rental car was easy. No shuttle service on Weekends...be aware...one ad for this hotel offers shuttle upon request and the other ad says only M-F...confusing?!?
Breakfast was good...but the room needs to be fumigated! this is the south and they have bugs...but I don't want to sleep with them.

Room Tip: Parking lot shared with restaurant and other Marriott Courtyard...very busy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the lady bugs in your room. We have had the hotel sprayed since your stay. Unfortunately, they have just hatched, and most of south Texas is overrun with them. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed one night (late flight arrival) on 02-11-2013 and found this location "tired" and needing a renovation. On the other hand, it is functional, close to the airport, and priced right. I arrived late, left early, and probably got what I expected. BTW, the Courtyard next door has an excellent restaurant for light meals and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a very short stay. We will be getting a renovation in the future and we hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Spring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My Ford F 250 was stolen from right outside the hotel, my truck was literally stolen while viewable from the front desk. They do have a video monitor of the parking lot but I was told it “froze" while my truck was being stolen. The theft happened after 6: 17 AM. I had locked the truck and set the alarm. My family was extremely shaken by this incident. The folks at Fairfield point out that the parking is at your own risk and they take no responsibility for what happens in the parking lot. Bottom line if you stay at Fairfield Inn you stay at your own risk they are not responsible for you parking in their parking lot. I shudder to think what would have happened if I were to go get my vehicle while it was in the process of being stolen. Needless to say my family will no longer stay at Fairfield Inn

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
At the hotel level, we take statements like this very seriously and are 100% committed to the safety and satisfaction of our guests. However, we do not have insurance coverage for automobile theft or vandalism. We recommend you file a claim with your own personal automobile insurance coverage, but if you’d like to discuss the issue in more detail, please contact the hotel’s general manager at 210-530-9899.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pros:
* Staff does good job of cleaning room, even if you leave late morning
* Free parking, wifi, breakfast w/variety, airport shuttle
* Convenient location near highway, but hard to find bc hidden behind a Courtyard Marriott
* Staff is super nice and helpful - but didn't like how the front desk receptionist was extremely sick and sneezing all over yet still working and handling check-ins

Cons:
* Building & common area visibly worn, hallways are narrow
* Our room had a broken toilet seat that kept falling
* Heat system & refrigerator very noisy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prodigiouswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all comments as we use them in an effort to improve our hotel. You spoke about the toilet seat in your bathroom, AC unit and refrigerator in your room. I will address that immediately with our housekeeping and engineering team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any other thoughts about our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights around New Year's Eve. The location is great, close to the airport (like 10min or less) and very close to North Star Mall. There is a Walgreens, Target and other stores around.
Service is good, nothing special. They give you bottled water but you have to ask for it at reception and is a small bottle, maybe like 250ml or something. Since you have to ask for it, it gets annoying. Why not putting it in the room?

Breakfast is included, but ends at 9.30 during weekdays, as if they don't really want you to get it. Selection is the same every single day, sugary cereals, yogurt, 2 types of bagels (regular and cinnamon), some suspicious egg sandwiches that I didn't try, waffles, milk, coffee, juice. To be free is ok I guess but I would have liked some healthier options in cereals and bread selection.

Rooms are clean and good size. There is really not much view so don't worry about that. I had a room on the 5th floor to be a bit away from the noise.

What really sucks in this hotel is the fact that there is only one elevator. It's a small scale hotel, 5 floors but still, every floor has aprox 25 rooms so it can get very busy. During the first 3 nights the elevator was always full, stopping at every floor and taking forever to use it. I don't understand why there is only one. I have never seen that in a hotel.

I stayed here because of the cost, it was one of the cheapest rates in that time of the year. It's an ok hotel, serves its purpose as we went to SA to be with family and shop around. If you are only few nights, you won't have much complains. I wouldn't stay there long term though, I was tired of the same crappy breakfast (although nobody tells you to eat there but since you are there, you take advantage of saving some $)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVDfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to take care of each guest every time they stay with us. We are currently getting ready to change our breakfast options, and will have more items available. This will include some additional healthy options. We ask that you give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everyone at this hotel was extremely friendly. It had a Hot, hot tub...1st hotel in the last 5 or so I have stayed in that was working correctly. The ice machine was conviently located in the middle of the hall. The set up for breakfast was nice and well stocked. I was on a single traveler trip and came in late at night. An employee was always at the door watching the parking lot-so it was very safe. It is a little older hotel, but the beds were clean with up to date linens and I did not see any dirt. My room was cleaned each day and hand towels were folded nicely. I would stay again here. It is located next to 3 nice resturants, across the highway are several more fast food, and the major mall is almost right next door with a Cheesecake Factory.

Room Tip: I like the 1st floor, but do not get room 117 or 119. These are right across from elevator and serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howdy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to take care of each guest every time they stay with us. I am gled to hear that we succeeded with you. We hope to have the pleasure of your company the next time you are in San Antonio. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
Address: 88 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216-5801
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall hotel features renovated rooms and lobby just a half mile from the terminal. Guests appreciate our free perks including airport shuttle, WiFi and hot breakfast. Rest peacefully in redesigned rooms with flat-screen TVs, blackout curtains and plush bedding. Take a dip in our pool or get in a workout at our 24-hour fitness center. Join us every morning for a complimentary breakfast buffet where we’re serving up hot and cold favorites. Why hassle with downtown options when you can choose the newly-renovated Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing