We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mission Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mission Trail

Mission Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.93*
and up
San Antonio Trolley Tour
Ranked #10 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A pedestrian route that starts at the Alamo and winds nine miles along the San Antonio River passing four other historical missions.
Ovale ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mission Trail”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you want to see history and feel true love for ones state, this is for you. It's a must see while in San Antonio.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terriboddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    133
    29
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
414 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Bucket List Item -- Do This!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our schedule did not allow us to do the entire trail, but we did see the Alamo (Mission San Antonio de Valero) and Mission Concepcion. Fantastic! There is too much to describe in a short space, but I can say this: The mission trail is worthy of being a bucket list item. It alone is worth a trip to San Antonio. Advice: Research the missions first online, so you are steeped in the history before you experience it. Take lots of pictures; this is a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scribblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love the mission trail, traditional San Antonio attraction. A must if you are in town or Catholic. Great history of our country.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmcWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mission History Lesson”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Please do all 5 of the missions, which includes the Alamo of course and do stop and see the movie at Mission San Jose. Well worth the time to sit in the A/C for 30 minutes and learn more about them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Moving”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I toured all of the San Antonio missions (a task even with road closures that takes only a little over half of the day). Remarkably, given that they were all built around the same time period, the missions are all different. We were also surprised by the ornate architectural details on some of the buildings, something expected in European cities but not on the Texas frontier. The Alamo, itself part of the Mission Trail, is by far the most important historically, but is probably the least interesting from an architectural standpoint. So if you've seen the Alamo, don't assume you've seen the typical Spanish mission.

Whatever the reason, the heat (95 plus degrees) may have kept people away, we had most of the missions to ourselves. Each, with the exception of the Alamo, is a working Catholic Church.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBandCAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mission Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing