We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”
Review of Mission Trail

Mission Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.93*
and up
San Antonio Trolley Tour
More Info
$140.44*
and up
Alamo and San Antonio Quarry Helicopter Tour
Ranked #10 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A pedestrian route that starts at the Alamo and winds nine miles along the San Antonio River passing four other historical missions.
Abilene, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Amazing tour that gives great insight into the history of Texas. It can be a tiring day but the trolley gives you a chance to cool off and take it all in. I love seeing all the old buildings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dabsgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    142
    30
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gives you real insight into the founding of Texas”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

See all the missions and you will have a better understanding of the origins of Texas and the US. It's a testament to the courage and stamina of the original settlers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapparral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting... But Only Once...”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Okay, we drove our own car, which was a good thing. Allergies bothered both me & my Hubby along the way- while overall it was a cool expidetion, I wouldn't want to do it again- at least not in July when the heat index is 108+... There were some cool aspects, but young kids would prob be bored. Adults enjoyed it all- but there were Fire Ants & a couple of snakes- Worth doing once for the history, but I have no desire to do it again...

Helpful?
Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More for the diehard researcher of Texas history”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It takes hours to do the tour. And if you do it in the summer and you are not used to south Texas heat, you'll swelter. If you are not that big on old buildings such as these very, very old churches, then don't bother. But if you are a big fan of history, the Mission Trail tour is a solid footprint about the history of the settling of Texas. Dress according to the weather.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gagrits”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My favorites were Mission Concepction, Mission San Jose, and the Alamo. These areas really helped you appreciate the history of the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mission Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing