We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Inspired”
Review of McNay Art Museum

McNay Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Evening Grand Historic Tour
Ranked #9 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A huge Mediterranean-style mansion that houses over 10,000 paintings, sculptures and prints.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel Inspired”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I like to stop by with my kids and good friend to take a walk around and look at art. Feel inspired to get creative. Air conditioned place to stop while riding bikes or to just get out of the heat. They sell great souvenirs too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    149
    26
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The art and the architecture are equally memorable. Well worth a visit for both aspects of this precious little jewel of an art museum!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnStahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely museum”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

What a nice find based on other trip advisor reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the McNay Art museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
612 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“San Antonio Must See”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Don't miss the McNay. This is a fine collection of European and American art, medieval to modern. It is housed in the old McNay mansion which in itself is a delight. They have added an impressive new addition since my last visit several years ago. Linger and explore the grounds: the fountains and sculpture gardens. It is just outside the downtown and worth the short ride.
Regrettably there is no cafe. There are only a couple of soda machines. They should rectify this since there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity but a number of options with 1/2 mile or so. It is a perfect setting for a memorable museum cafe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth a trip”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was in San Antonio for a meeting and my wife wanted to do something before we left town. Passed this museum and stopped for a visit. It was more than I expected with an eclectic collection. Worth a trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HJV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McNay Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to McNay Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing