We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Don’t just visit the Alamo!

We love learning about history and visiting units of the National Park Service, so this was a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Jodi307
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
via mobile
4 Of The Oldest Churches In America

The Missions National Historical Park and the Spanish mission churches collectively form a UNESCO... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BnCrXplorerz
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 1,694 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Antonio
from $14.99
More Info
Reviews (1,694)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveler rating
1,205
368
35
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,205
368
35
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews active churches mission concepcion visitor center spanish missions world heritage site bike trail rent a bike mariachi mass love history south texas great history guided tour the river walk espada alamo aqueduct parishes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We love learning about history and visiting units of the National Park Service, so this was a must-do for us. One quick note — there’s so much talk of biking between the four missions (which does look really neat) that I almost missed the fact that you can easily drive from one to the other too. Given that we visited on a cool and rainy day, that was our choice.

I would suggest starting by going to the visitor center at Mission San Josè where they have a great film that explains the history of the missions and National Park rangers at the ready to answer questions or offer advice about how to visit. Then head out and wander the grounds.

This is not just a place for people who enjoy history. It’s also a wonderful place for photographers as each mission has its own beauty.

But my favorite part of this park is that all four missions are active Catholic parishes. What a beautiful legacy of the original missions.

Thank Jodi307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Missions National Historical Park and the Spanish mission churches collectively form a UNESCO World Heritage Site. These missions are old for the New World, begun in the early 1700's along the road that would become known as the El Camino Real. There are really 5 missions including the Alamo, but the Alamo was never finished. The other 4 missions are spaced out about 2.5 miles apart and can be visited by driving, walking or riding a rental bike along the trail that connects them or, as we did, by taking the special city bus VIVA #40 that stops at each mission. You just hop on and off at will for a cheap flat day-fee of $2.50. The churches are still active churches, each at different stages of preservation. They were all built as fortified settlements to protect the priests and their native converts against Apache raids. There is a large National Park Visitor's Center with gift shop at Mission San José, the largest of the mission churches, where there is also a museum and theater with a film on life in the missions. Mission Concepción is oldest unrestored stone church in the U.S. all 4 are unique in their construction and appearance. Mission San Juan is the most rustic and Mission San Francisco de la Espada is the smallest but most picturesque.

2  Thank BnCrXplorerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

When you think of San Antonio you usually think of the Alamo, but there are several more restored Spanish missions to explore there, some of which predate the Alamo by

Did you know that the Alamo in the center of San Antonio is just one of the historic Spanish missions located there, one of which predate the Alamo by centuries? One of them is still an active Catholic Church. Another has a beautifully landscaped and restored compound where converted Indians lived and where taught trades. All are accessible to the public by car, but why not walk, bike or scooter there via the Mission Trail, a new feature that skirts the San Antonio River with a paved path! You can rent scooters and be on your way.

1  Thank JillSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love going out on clear days and taking photos of the evening sunset. The Sunrise photos are the best.

Thank Sal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed how different the missions were, both in terms of buildings still standing and how they felt. On a warm and sunny afternoon the garden at San Espada was lovely and you really appreciated how far away from civilisation it was.

Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful history. Each Mission is beautiful and peaceful with it's own unique character. Tour at your own pace. Toured by car, short drive from Riverwalk area. Plenty of parking at each Mission. San Jose was my favorite. Be sure to check out the movie. Not to miss when visiting San Antonio.

Thank LoriM879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love history, but due to a knee injury not a fast walker. Not a problem here. View at your own pace, stay as long as you like. Was not crowded, bring water with you. Weather can get very warm.

Thank Dude_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great on and off bus tour for only $2.74 per person. The bus stops at each mission every 20 minutes. You can take as much time as you want at each stop. Start with the Alamo in downtown San Antonio. When you are done cross the street and catch the Viva tour bus.

Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best part of our visit to San Antonio, Texas. We came to see the Alamo, a part of the mission system, but the remainder of the missions made them the better part of the historical part of the trip. A must see (all of them)!

Thank wh0sallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stopped by this location not expecting to stay but a few minutes to take some photos. We ended up staying for an hour. Beautiful and peaceful grounds.

Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews