We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
Book In Advance
$41*
and up
San Antonio Highlights Tour
Ranked #6 of 248 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical area that stretches nine miles and contains four important 18th-century missions.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The historical park encompasses all of the San Antonio mission except for the Alamo. It is headquartered at Mission San Jose which is the most well preserved of all the missions. Definitely spend some time in the headquarters building and watch the movie. It gives a good overview and feel for the era.

Helpful?
2 Thank SARicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    303
    34
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love the missions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I were married in one of the California Missions, so we were anxious to see the Texas ones. We weren't disappointed. The style is a little different than those built in California, so we really enjoyed seeing them. Everyone should visit these wonderful gems of the past.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dwilcox000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a Day of Exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The four missions that make up the park provide a rich and fascinating history to any visit to San Antonio. Each one offers a different look at mission life. If you can only see one mission, be sure to see Mission San Jose.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well worth a visit. We used the "trolley" to reach the mission (2) from the Alamo. Excellet federal guides at the sites. Recommend worth several hours if you like history and we do

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank drwhowho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“San Jose Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I did my bridal portraits at the park in November. There are so many interesting and rustic objects to add to the setting. The portraits came out great! Very pleased. Because I used a photographer, we had to get a permit, but the process is very simple to get one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Missions National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing