We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Don't Have to be a History Buff to Enjoy”

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.01*
and up
San Antonio Highlights Tour
Ranked #6 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical area that stretches nine miles and contains four important 18th-century missions.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Don't Have to be a History Buff to Enjoy”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

All four missions are worth seeing, but San Jose and Concepcion more easily accessable and spectacular.
We caught a part of Sunday mass at San Jose... beautiful.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rvrrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    353
    36
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun way to learn about life in Spanish missions”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The string of old Spanish missions in San Antonio offers a unique experience. See them all or see just 2 or 3. The visitor center at Mission San Jose has a nice museum and free docent tour. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank dolooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent view of Spanish mission life”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We enjoyed the tour given by a volunteer guide. Much of the mission grounds were restored in the 1930's so it differs from other missions we have visited that were mostly ruins. Chapel is lovely, lots of great photo opportunities. Be sure to take water on a hot day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Alamo”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have visited the Alamo about thirty times. Each time that one visits is a new and unique experience. Take time to sit on a bench and meditate as to what actually happened here!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodland, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Center of Hispano-American culture”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went to two of the three missions as part of a tour. We were told that they were hard to find without local knowledge. They are beautiful. I wish the tour hadn't hurried us through them, as I felt that I didn't have enough time to truly appreciate the art and architecture. Mission San Jose was under restoration, so should be more beautiful once restoration is complete. These are active parishes, so their congregational activities do take precedence over tourism.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxie1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Missions National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing