We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth the view - just don't eat the buffet”

Tower of the Americas
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.99*
and up
San Antonio River Walk Cruise, Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Tower of the Americas...
Ranked #32 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 750-foot tower built for the 1968 HemisFair has unbeatable panoramic views, especially if you're in the tower's revolving restaurant.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's worth the view - just don't eat the buffet”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A friend of mine was violently ill after eating a buffet that had been out for awhile. Not sure about food off the menu. The experience of the view is what you should go for.

Helpful?
Thank peelbuhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    643
    327
    84
    45
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushnell, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The view from the top is spectacular!! The 4D movie was not particularly well done, but my daughter enjoyed it. This is probably not worth the $11 admission, but discounts are available through coupons and sites like Groupon. The location is easy to get to; it is right behind the Gonzalez Convention Center and in Hemisphere Park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ludwick2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great afternoon / evening sitting in the bar watching the sun go down than seeing the night lights come alive. Drinks were a little expensive but not ridiculously so. The price difference was made up for by getting to enjoy the view for free. No charge to get to the top if you are visiting the bar. Staff were friendly and looked after us well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great view, nice gardens”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I enjoyed visiting this attraction, there is a great view from the viewing area and the lift only takes seconds to get up there. The gardens outside are really nice with cool waterfalls/water features. My favourite part of this was the 4-D cinema and the "skies over texas" film. Theres not much to do other than that but i enjoyed what little there was.

This place is only a short stroll from the riverwalk too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great views of San Antonio”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A group of us went up in the tower to see the views, but enjoyed it more because we had lunch at the Chart House first. We had a window seat in the restaurant, which revolves around the tower. So, the view was ever-changing throughout lunch. After lunch we went up to the viewing platform. It was extremely windy outside, so we appreciated that we had been able to see everything while having a delicious meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Tower of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing