We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay with easy drive to River walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #123 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We could not get a room in the Riverwalk/Rivercenter area so we booked here. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. It is a bit far to walk to the Riverwalk in the heat, but we had no trouble finding parking in the Rivercenter mall. I would have preferred to stay in the Riverwalk area, but this is a nice option for the budget conscious (at least $50 cheaper than cheapest Riverwalk hotel) or last minute traveller. We drove to the missions from here as well and also restaurants outside of Riverwalk area, so the location was convenient if you want to do more than the Riverwalk.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the street and they were very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our location in downtown San Antonio and our close proximity to the Riverwalk and major tourist attractions is what makes us one of the most popular hotels in San Antonio. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nothing spectacular, but nothing atrocious either. I stayed here for about 5 months while working south of San Antonio, and felt very much welcomed by staff. It was my second home. My colleagues and I loved the happy hours where we could socialize and have free wine, beer and light eats. Again, nothing fancy, but it really helps to set it above other chains.

Compared to other hotel I have "lived" in, the really did a good job at keeping track of my reservations, and making sure to always have a room ready when I arrived, and usually I could get the same room each time. It is an older hotel, although they keep it up pretty nice, it can get a little musty.

I did have one incident where I went to my car one morning to find it was broken in to. The window was smashed. (Luckily I had nothing of value inside!) Management stayed with me while I waited for the police to arrive, do their report, and clean it up. They couldn't really do anything about it, but were really nice and apologetic for the situation. It's just a matter of the parking lot not being gates, and the proximity to downtown. Not really the safest city in the world, and you just have to take your chances I guess. (Found out later that "kids" often walk through the parking lot to cut through from neighborhood to downtown and back.)

All in all a nice motel, just be careful after dark.

Room Tip: Try to get off the main block of rooms where people pass by for the lobby, lounge and elevators. It...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlily2559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Home away from home! We like the sound of that. You felt like family to us as well and we miss seeing your smiling face. Thank you for the compliments; they are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

It was the perfect location with free parking and without the hassle of traffic. The location was waking distance to the Market Square and minutes away to the River Walk in the car. Plus, clean room and friendly staff. I would recommend to others.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Melissa365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

We are elated that your recent stay went so well! Our proximity to Market Square and the Riverwalk combined with our complimentary parking and wi-fi allows us to focus on taking care of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated close to the Riverwalk and in easy walking distance of the river walk restaurants.

The rooms were large and well kept and clear. Look out for the room the looks out over the pool - you could find yourself looking at bathers and pool dwellers all day.

Breakfast ok but expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that look out on the pool area - people sitting in the pool can look straight into y...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and noticed the pride our housekeeping staff takes in their responsibilities. I apologize that your pool view room was not to your liking. On your return visit, please contact me directly and I will be happy to ensure that your guest room one that views the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great hotel, great location, free parking. Even though this hotel is not ON the riverwalk. It is not far away at all....just a few blocks away. You can find reasonable parking close to the riverwalk. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff was excellent. Clean rooms & bathrooms. Room service was provided everyday.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 350....excellent location....close to elevator. We had a elevator close to us &...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiaW864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our complimentary parking is a big hit with our guests and most people love that we are a $5 cab ride away from the heart of the Riverwalk. That sure beats paying for parking anywhere else! Our will pass your gracious comments on to our experienced staff! They work hard for all of our guests! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night, Father's Day weekend. The staff was polite and helpful. The lady that checked us in was extremely nice, great customer service! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed everything and would definitely stay again and would reccomend this hotel to others. Great place, great price!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for spending a special weekend with us. We take great pride in keeping our guests comfortable and happy; your experience is important to us! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in June while our daughter worked Warp Tour. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, the only issue I had was with the air conditioning. It was cooling but the humidity was so high you never felt truly cooled off. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and friendly. Also great location just over a mile to walk downtown, but remember it is extremely humid there so drink lots of water

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cssct1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin S, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to hosting you when you travel to San Antonio in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 600 S Santa Rosa Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $111 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Hotel San Antonio
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown
San Antonio Marriott
San Antonio Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing