We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but the hotel needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #115 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, but the hotel needs some work”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Location:
Pros: The hotel is easy to get to by car through I-35, since it’s only a couple of blocks away from the highway. There is free parking, which can get really expensive in downtown. It is also a couple of blocks away from Mi Tierra, a must-visit restaurant that has some of the best Mexican food in town, and it’s always packed to the walls even though it’s open 24/7.

Cons: It’s about a 15-minute walk to the heart of the Riverwalk, which we didn’t mind, but can get rough during the hot summer months.

Parking:
Parking is free, but with a sold out hotel, you might have to park at the end of the lot which they share with the Residence Inn, and walk quite a bit by parking lot standards. However, they do have a few reserved spots right by the entrance which are reserved for Marriott Platinum members. Then again I probably wouldn’t stay at this hotel if I was Platinum and could get upgraded at a nicer hotel.

Check-in:
Check-in was very easy and friendly. We were given 2 adjoining rooms on the top floor (4th) right near the elevators, which at first was a concern to me because of foot traffic, but I was surprised not to have heard anything all night. The elevator is also an issue. There is only one elevator, and it is extremely slow. Be ready to invest a good 5 minutes at peak traffic time to go from the top floor to the lobby, so I would just take the stairs whenever possible.

Room:
The room was pretty spacious with a large common area with a sofa bed, TV, fridge and microwave, etc. The bathroom was pretty standard, although we had requested a room for 4 people, but somehow the bathroom only had 3 towels and a small bottle of shampoo, so we had to ask for more toiletries and towels.

The rooms have a pretty glaring design flaw (at least the two rooms we saw). When you open the sofa bed for someone to sleep in it, it completely blocks the bed area access, so if you have someone sleeping on the sofa bed, you can’t get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom or get some water from the fridge unless you climb over them.

Also, our family’s room next door had two mirrors in the room (besides the bathroom’s), but ours didn’t have any, and our closet door was completely missing. It’s almost as if our room was in the process of being finished. Go figure.

Amenities:
The hotel has a small indoors pool which we tried, but the water seemed dirty, had excess chlorine, or both. The floor around the pool was very slippery, so I would caution management to address that problem immediately. There is a small gym on premises, although we didn't visit. Internet and breakfast are free.

Breakfast:
Breakfast on Sunday morning was a complete disaster. They serve breakfast on Sunday mornings from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. We went downstairs at around 9:30 a.m. and basically walked into a zoo. There was a 20-person line, the area was completely crowded and had standing room only with barely any room to even walk around.

There was no place to sit and the line to reach the food was really long. The sitting area and lobby are very nice and they’re very nicely decorated, but it can’t handle a sold out hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive and were doing the best they could to manage the crowd, but they were in over their heads. The food itself was your standard free buffet food, but it was ok and had enough variety. It was free, so not much complaining here.

Conclusion:
The hotel was good for a bed spot. It isn’t in the best location and there is nothing earth-shattering about it, but given what we needed it for, the bonus points offered, the free parking and free crowded breakfast, it was just fine with us and it was definitely a lot less expensive than other hotels located in prime location by the Riverwalk. If you have access to a car, this is a good hotel to stay at if you want to check out downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeTravelGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to see you were able to enjoy the service you received during your stay. We appreaciate all the comments you provided, and plan on using them to help improve the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    88
    44
    17
    13
See reviews for
91
64
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We drove from Tempe, Az to San Antonio in one day and were so glad to arrive at the Fairfield Inn. The reception we received was typical of Marriott. Great job! Our room was perfect and very comfortable.

This time my husband left a very expensive camera in the room and when we contacted the hotel, housekeeping had just turned it in. Kudos to Josie and Niya for the great job.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad we were able to live up to the Marriott standard and provide you with great service! We hope to see you again next time you find yourself in the Alamo city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had drove in from Austin and arrived at the hotel (which was a breeze to find I assure you) at about 10:30am. We were aware of the check in time being 3pm, but thought we would check to see if we could check in early not really expecting it to happen. To our surprise, the front desk manager (I have forgotten his name, but I think it may have been Brandon...if it isn't, I sincerely apologize) was at the desk and was extremely friendly and even let us check in! We were very pleased, and he also took the time to explain to us about the continental breakfast and the amenities the hotel had to offer. The indoor pool was one of the many things that stole my heart. We went in January and It was an absolute pleasure to get to go swimming in a winter month (although Texas' winters are hardly existent lol). It smelled a little too high of chlorine, but all in all it was completely satisfactory. The room was cleaned with excellence, everything in the room looked to be up to date as well as in the bathroom. It was a pleasure being in the room and having the AC blowing out the air at our desired temperature. Another great thing about this place was that they do not charge for their parking! If you aren't already aware this place is absolutely conveniently located to all the good stuff in downtown San Antonio, which was our reasoning for going there to begin with. With our early check in, we were able to put our things in the room, and enjoy the rest of the day at the Riverwalk and Market Square and not have to worry about parking, since we just walked our way around. The breakfast was excellent as well with a great variety of different items, both hot and cold, to choose from. The staff was more than accommodating with everything, kudos to you all! I definitely recommend staying at this hotel if your desires are to be treated with respect and not looked at as just another customer walking through the door. Great job, guys! I will definitely be back to see yall again! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkPower2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your time with us, and hope to see you again next time you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First day at the hotel: checked in with one of their friendly staff, who gave me a map and information about the attractions around the downtown area. I stayed in one of their suites. The pictures on the Fairfield inn website about the rooms, is exactly how my room looked like! The bathroom, microwave, and mini refrigerator were very clean along with the bed. What I liked about the suite is that the room came with two televisions. A plus when you have children staying with you.

I would recommend expanding the lobby and breakfast area, too small and crowded. On my last day of staying at the hotel, at breakfast, the tables were full there was no where to sit . I had to take my children's and my breakfast to our room to eat. I would recommend keeping a staff member at the breakfast area, directing the people, making the waffles for the people, etc. Which would help move the breakfast line a bit faster and be less crowded in there. Overall I enjoyed staying at this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
100 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here on a weekend to show a friend downtown SA (drove in from Houston). I've also stayed at the Courtyard Marriott which is next door. The Fairfield was the same price but had breakfast included. It was a fine stay. The only thing that was a little strange was there is only one elevator. The hotel is only 3 stories high so you don't need it much but with luggage you do and getting on it on Sunday morning was quite a feat. :) Other than that, it was a quiet stay, the room was nice and comfortable and this location (for me) is super. You get a reasonably priced hotel and it is only 5 minutes to walk to Market Square and 15 to the River Walk/Alamo area. Since you aren't right on the River Walk the prices are much better. Would always stay in this area for SA.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the end of the hall where less people will walk by at night. SA is a great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanilaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our hotel and the city of San Antonio. We hope to see you again next time you visit the Alamo city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel was great overall...within walking distance of the Mexican market and the River walk (not around the corner close but a nice walk). I like to walk and see the scenery when I vacation, so I enjoyed walking around the downtown area. The hotel had comfortable beds and was clean. About average breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrangler_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy your time with us while in San Antonio. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 wonderful nights in the this Fairfield Inn and Suites. We were greeted by the staff as warmly as could be. We thought that we might have made a mistake in our booking as we had hoped to be very convenient to the River Walk. As it turned out, this hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the River and another easy 5 minute walk to Market Square.For anyone who doesn't like to walk, there is a trolley that runs all day long about 3 minutes from the hotel.
We were especially provided terrific hospitality by Andrew Curtis and Joe Garcia. The hotel was spotless and the suite that we stayed in was huge. We would gladly stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your time at our hotel. It was definately a pleasure having you. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Address: 620 South Santa Rosa, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#90 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown is located off I-10/35, making Sea World, Six Flags, the Alamo, and the metropolitan area easily accessible. Just a short walk from Market Square and the Alamo, our downtown hotel features a redesigned lobby equipped with free WiFi and 24-hour Market. Start your day off right with a free breakfast buffet each morning then take a dip in our indoor pool. Each guest room features Marriott signature bedding, ergonomic workspace, free WiFi and flat-screen TV with free HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield Inn Market Square
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing