We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodations at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #110 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October of 2012. Didn't want to pay the price to have a room looking at the canal. The location of the Fairfield was great. An easy walk to the Alamo, the Riverwalk and shopping.The rooms are basic and cleam for the most part. Breakfast was adequate and for the most part the hotel was quiet. The staff was friendly and accomodating (we stored our luggage after check out so that we could explore a little more). The staff was not, however, at all knowledgeable about the area and tourist attractions. Do your homework ahead of time or take the short walk to the visitor bureau. If you are looking for a reasonablely priced room within walking. distance of Riverwalk and the Alamo, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We always appreciate any comments both positive and negative. We have ongoing training with our staff, which includes expanding our knowledge of the downtown area. So, if you find yourself back in San Antonio, we would love to have you stay with us again and put us to the test!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 288 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had booked and prepaid for our 3 night stay.
I would not have stayed if I had known about the building works.The whole place was like a building site meets a second hand furniture sales room.
The staff were great and did their best to keep the guests happy but fro 8 in the morning right through the day banging and crashing was going on.On the second morning when we were heading out to go down town all of the old furniture including old mattresses were being stacked at the main entrance side for collection---not what I had hoped to see at my hotel.
I think they should have informed those of us who had booked and really closed the hotel while the main work was happening.
That said, it was in a good location, good breakfast , will be good parking when all of the builders vehicles have gone and again well done to the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by our renovation. It was a trying time for both our staff and our guests, and are very happy to have it completed. Next time you find yourself back in San Antonio, we would love to have you stay with us again and try the finished product for yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This Fairfield Inn is a gem of a hotel conveniently located 3 blocks away for the Market Square in San Antonio. The staff is one of the friendliest and cheerful we have come across in the Marriott hotel system. The hotel is going through a bit of a needed renovation but everyone there does their utmost to keep it from effecting your stay. We find this area to be a great starting point for your visit to SA. The city trolley and bus stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The public transport is the best way to see the city. It was nice visiting the Riverwalk however on the weekends it gets so crazy and noisy that the refuge of the Market Square area is much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daver49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is always nice to hear about our guests enjoying their stay with us. We have completed our renovation, and would love to have you stay with us again and try out the new rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was a good choice for us while in San Antonio for a visit. The place was being renovated while we were there, but the management did a wonderful job accommodating all the customers. Breakfast is served each day and we found the room clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. We were very close to all the attractions and the places we were visiting with easy access to all the highways. Best part - no charge for parking and close to the Market Square area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your time with us. As of mid February, we have completed our renovation. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future and try to the finished product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the first time we've stayed in this location, having stayed all around SA in the last 10 years, but we wanted to be close to my son who lives in Southtown and swore off the Courtyard until they rehabed their rooms. We were somewhat turned off by the small lobby and dim corridors, being accustomed to Springhill and Courtyard size and style, but the room(king suite with sitting area) was just fine for us. The bed was a comfortable as any Marriott property we've stayed in, and the breakfast was above par with hot sandwiches, 3 styles of waffles, oatmeal, and a great array of condiments to customize your meal. It comes down to "will we return?" I say yes, but Mrs. wants to see when the Courtyard is due a makeover. One suggestion, try to stay when Marriott offers reduced weekend rates, you have to sign up tp get them, but it will save you 20%.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank texmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your room as well as our breakfast. We just finished remodling the hotel in February, which included upgrading our corridor lights. We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in San Antonio, and try our newly renovated rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I wanted a weekend for our 5th wedding anniversary. We chose the Fairfield due to the proximity to downtown and other locations we planned to visit. Overall we were pleased with our little vacation here but there were a few minor situations.

Our room was the king bed with whirlpool tub. Upon check-in we met with Patty, who was EXTREMELY helpful and sweet. Staff here (although we didn't see many) were also pleasant and had smiles.

The room itself was fine. The whirlpool states on the website big enough for 4 adults. However we both found that it was just big enough for the 2 of us with some room to spare. We were disappointed though to find no refrigerator/microwave. You would think in this type of suite there would be.

Breakfast was free and standard. I am a stickler for dates and I found that the milk had expired 2 days before. My husband told the hostess who apologized profusely and immediately replaced the milk.

Parking is free. Actually one of the very few downtown hotels to provide free parking. Should you go out, we would HIGHLY suggest though not to come back to late in the evening. We had to park clear cross to the other hotel in the back. And then there wasn't many spaces. I think many people take advantage of the free parking and just hop on the bus to downtown.

All in all, our stay was nice. Is the hotel great? We have honestly stayed at better places. However it did fit our needs and we would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandH915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana V, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for the review! We appreciate hearing all feedback! We will investigate the dates on our breakfast items, thank you for bringing it to our attention. The free parking is one our highlights, and towards the end of the night the spots begin to fill. During city events we do monitor the parking. Thank you again for your response, and we hope to see you on your next trip to San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stay in Marriott family hotels often - and one of my biggest pet-peeves is the inconsistency of hotels being updated. This Fairfield is not updated and feels dirty.

What I always love about Fairfield is the free breakfast, free wi-fi, and limited snack offering.

I was updated to a suite - which includes a couch, 2nd TV, Microwave, and refrig - all of which I did not need. A more up to date environment would have been better.

This trip was for business at the convention center - I was less interested in the tourist aspect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana V, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for the review of our property. We take into consideration both positive and negative reviews. We are excited to be going through a renovation beginning November this year! We do hope once we have completed our full renovation you will give another chance. Thank you again, and we hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Best Western Alamo Suites
#93 of 357 in San Antonio
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 620 South Santa Rosa, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#90 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $83 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown is located off I-10/35, making Sea World, Six Flags, the Alamo, and the metropolitan area easily accessible. Just a short walk from Market Square and the Alamo, our downtown hotel features a redesigned lobby equipped with free WiFi and 24-hour Market. Start your day off right with a free breakfast buffet each morning then take a dip in our indoor pool. Each guest room features Marriott signature bedding, ergonomic workspace, free WiFi and flat-screen TV with free HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield Inn Market Square
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing