We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #113 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This Fairfield reminded me why I am such a big fan of TripAdvisor. Normally, people tend to think of Fairfield as the inferior brand to Courtyard and had it not been for my use of TripAdvisor I would have stayed at the Courtyard. But the reviews for the Fairfield were right on, one of the best hotel experiences and outstanding value.
Upon check-in I was upgraded to a suite because of my Marriott status. It is without a doubt the nicest value-priced hotel suite I have ever stayed in. A separate living and sleeping area. An entertainment center complete with a stereo cd-player. Two televisions and a spacious work area.
Breakfast is comparable to what you get at a Courtyard for $10. Location is not bad at all, quick drive to the Riverwalk. My regret is that I only had 1 night to stay. No matter what the reason for my next trip to San Antonio, I will be here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FightOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2007

Originally booked the Courtyard Marriot and the Fairfield Inn because they were right next to each other. My wife and I wanted to compare both places. According to TripAdvisor, the Fairfield Inn was rated higher. TripAdvisor was right on the money. The Fairfield daily rate was slightly less than the Courtyard but the value far exceeded its neighbor. The Fairfield Inn's room was much larger. Based on intial contact, the staff at Fairfield was friendlier and more professional. The complimentary continental breakfast was great at the Fairfield. It included the standard fare with the addition of Texas shaped and regular shaped waffels and bacon, egg and cheese biscuits (best continental breakfast ever), cold juices, water and milk. Also, in the evening they offer free fresh baked cookies. And to top it off, the hotel has one of the best managers around - Daniel G. The location is great, not on the Riverwalk but great. The trolley stop right near the hotel provides cheap transportation around the city. If you are driving, the hotel has a multitude of printed directions to every conceivable place - mapquest not needed. There is also easy access to the highways and airport. I would stay here again and definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank energyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Made reservation via The Mariott/Fairfield Inn website after reading various positive reviews of this hotel. Hotel was exactly as described in other reviews. Nice clean hotel with nice indoor pool. Place was clean and staff was courteous and helpful. It was about a 20 mintute walk to The Mercado and about :30 to The River Walk. Breakfast was plentiful and as advertised, plenty of room to park. A nitpick was that the bathroom sink extended out in to the room and when light was put on there, it also lit up the area around the bed thus creating light in to the sleeping persons face, other than that it was very nice and we would stay here again. Shuttle about a 5 minute walk away and runs every 8 to 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank packersbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We stayed here in June with our 5 and 8 yr old. Loved it. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful with directions to SeaWorld.
Loved the free parking and location. Short walk to Trolley which takes you all over SanAntonio. Breakfast was well above average.
In the evening the manager would put out a cheese tray or they would have a popcorn machine. All in all a good hotel for a good price.

Stayed: June 2007
8  Thank kevlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

If you stay at Marriott hotels frequently, we suggest you enroll in the Marriott Rewards program asap. We are platinum members and the privileges are wonderful. We stayed in an expanded King Suite, which we were upgraded to free of charge (if available). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The most important thing to us is cleanliness. We never have to worry about that at this particular Marriott. Our room was immaculate. The indoor heated pool is great and not to mention the free breakfast in the morning and the free cheese and crackers, and beer and wine offered in the evenings in the lobby area for guests. The expanded King Suite is very spacious and it also has 2 TVs and the couch turns into a bed. Both of these amenities are very convenient for families with children. Although the upgrade of the room is for Marriott Rewards members, we stayed here prior to enrolling in the rewards program and received excellent service as well! We highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway for couples or for family trips!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Luv2TravelAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Very friendly staff. The beds are comfortable, the trolley stop is about one block away, plenty of free parking. Breakfast is good, all the normal stuff plus waffles and biscuit egg and bacon. This is a no frills hotel, the decor is plain. There is a nice indoor pool. A great business class hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank jimthestonemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Nice Room, great front desk service, Good location with short walk to trolley stop. Paid $45.00 a night on priceline.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AngieSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 620 South Santa Rosa, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#90 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $105 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown is located off I-10/35, making Sea World, Six Flags, the Alamo, and the metropolitan area easily accessible. Just a short walk from Market Square and the Alamo, our downtown hotel features a redesigned lobby equipped with free WiFi and 24-hour Market. Start your day off right with a free breakfast buffet each morning then take a dip in our indoor pool. Each guest room features Marriott signature bedding, ergonomic workspace, free WiFi and flat-screen TV with free HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield Inn Market Square
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing