We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem on the Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #54 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A real gem on the Riverwalk”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Lots of pluses with this one. Terrific staff, comfortable rooms, excellent bath. Also some minuses: the pool is small, its about a 20 minute walk to most of the downtown cultural sites; parking is expensive. If you have a car highly recommend tapping into the staff's knowledge about dining "off the Riverwalk" since most restaurants on it are overpriced and under-imagined. Try Josephine's Steaks and Wiskey -- the best steaks in Texas (saying a lot for afterall it is Texas) and the coolest vibe ever. Thanks Roy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamecock95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    313
    138
    57
    36
See reviews for
237
319
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Staff was very accommodating, pleasant and never difficult to find if you have questions. The rooms are very unique, large and beautiful and the shower is to die for! Did not have one negative experience during my stay. The room balcony was a plus and there is dining and a bar on-site. The location can't be beat either as it is directly on the Riverwalk. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecrayonbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This hotel is not your average smelly, small roomed hotel room. The decor was cool and fresh but the cleanliness was something else.
The service is really good as far as the politeness and immediate response to issues.

I stayed in a 3rd floor room with the Kind size bed. I entered the room and noticed the fan was on in the bathroom. The whole weekend their was a smell from the shower. I used flip flops.

The nice hardwood floor was not swept and as you can see from the pictures there was coffee grounds, hair and dirt. There were also some sugar ants. I found a dirty hand towel and a ladies bathing suit shield (when you buy a new bathing suit they have that to keep the swimsuit clean) in the closet on the floor. The white comforter on the bed had two stains (see pics) and the cow hide long bolt I took off because it had stains and did not want that near my head.

I did call down to the front desk and they sent a housekeeper to bring me a new comforter but why did she take the old one off and leave the new one on the chair?
They did also offer to change my room but I was already unpacked. They sent someone to sweep but they didn't get all of the dirt in the corners. A maintenance man came to spray around the base boards.

The room was nice and open and airy and their is adequate parking. The front desk told me upon check-in that there would be a $13.00 charge per overnight. I read the rolodex information of the hotel in my room and it said $10. I inquired of this with the front desk and they adjusted my rate. Read your information and it works in your favor.

Also the Aveda products they say they have were only two small bars of soap. The one bottle of shampoo was by Breck. Sad.

I would give this hotel another shot but I was disappointed with this stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupunzzl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoRiverwalk, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for posting this review. While we are grateful our staff responded quickly, the problems noted should never have happened. We certainly dropped the ball. This hotel will take steps to contact the guest to personally apologize and arrange for a return visit. We take this feedback seriously and will address these concerns. We hope to welcome back this guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. Especially Roy. Please note that while hotel is on the river, it is not wheelchair accessible to the river; however, staff was VERY helpful in finding and giving directions to wheelchair accessible location to river front. Parking is an issue at the hotel. While they charge $13 per night, it is not a secure lot. At least one car was broken into while we were there. This is apparently an ongoing issue. While the hotel does not own the lot, if they are going to charge to use it, seems that they should be able to hire security to address the safety issue. Over all, we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper77505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We were there midweek, so we thought there might not be the problems with parking that we had heard about. Not only did we have to pay $13 to park overnight, there were no spaces left when we returned after eating dinner at the mercado. We had to park on an adjacent unpaved lot. We were worried about security and wishing we had parked in the cheaper public lot at the end of the block. The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was attractively decorated. There was a fridge. The bathroom was small but adequate. We were disappointed that breakfast was not included. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is close to the action without being in a noisy spot. If you get a good enough price to offset the parking charge and lack of breakfast, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepmovin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This is the first time I walked into a hotel room and had my jaw drop. I'm not familiar with "boutique" hotels, but I absolutely loved the way the room was decorated. Gave me some ideas for how I want to redo my own at home. Everything about the room was comfortable.
The downside was breakfast in the hotel was horribly slow. They didn't have enough people working. Not good for the business traveler.
Happy hour specials in the bar in the evening were nice.
Overall, a nice hotel.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Traveler12Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Once you immediately drive up to the property you are taken into a different reality. Everything just goes right. No stress, no worries. Check-in was super fast and easy. Room had excelent view, and was very large, the hardwood floors are a really nice touch, only one negative for me was that there was no microwave in the room only a fridge, but above all it was a very enjoyable stay. Talked with the AGM in the morning and told her I would for sure be coming back. For it being a newly opened hotel, they are doing a great job

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,056 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
#25 of 356 in San Antonio
2,405 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 356 in San Antonio
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing